We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!”
Review of Casa Axis Mundi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Axis Mundi
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

What a magical time! The house is beautiful and has an amazing energy! Beate's food was amazing so flavorful and beautfully prepared. The pool has a nice deck to practice yoga and comfortable spots to chilll all over the property. Casa Mundi is in walking distance of the main square. I would definitly return Beate was the most wonderful host :) If you are in the area and need a place to stay this is definitly the place to be :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 526Steph_303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
32
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We ( my husband and I) found this wonderful place on trip advisor while I was planning our visit to Mexico. We knew that we really wanted to visit Valladolid on our trip and get out of the Maya Riviera tourist trap. Although, Valladolid situated very close to the Chichen Itza Ruins still has it's fair share of travellers.

Once you arrive to the door ( we will admit that it didn't immediately stick out - this would be my one and only criticism, however it also has to do with the street and sidewalk distance as they are very narrow, making signage very difficult) you step down into a colourful artist haven!
The property can be discribed as more of a guest house, but don't let this scare you there is plenty of privacy in your own guest house-style accommodation, each with their own theme. Each space is clean, colourful, giving you a peace of serenity in the middle of the city.
Each Cabana has modern amenities, bathrooms, electricity and each have a little patio. Perfect for laying in the hammock looking off to the pool and lush surroundings.

Beate and Paul are amazing hosts who are friendly, accommodating and interesting to chat to. They gave us wonderful recommendations as to places to see/eat in Valladolid. Our only regret was not being able to stay longer and chat with them more. Best spot in Mexico.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 and it was wonderful. Older travellers may want to request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegan555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trento, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

When knocking on the big wooden door at the given address, you find yourself in a regular street of Valladolid, where two rows of little houses run along both sides of the road. You wonder if you are in the right place, until the door opens and you enter into a quiet secret garden where a few different colorful "casitas" and a pool find place! Beate and Paul are very attentive hosts, who are willing to give you all the information you need about the accomodation and things to do in Valladolid. We were three peolple and occupied the second (and top) floor of the blue and the orange building. Both rooms where spacious, clean and with terrace. Each of them had private bathroom with organic toilet (we never saw or used that before, but it's ok and it seems just a clean different option). The included vegan breakfast is totally based on tastful fresh fruit and juices. If you think you can't wake up without your coffee, don't be scared by the fact they don't serve it ;-) Ask Beate to make you her special hot morning drink. We enjoyed it so much we asked for the recepy and are definetely going to prepare it at home back in Italy!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Miadelariva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Lovely, comfortable accomodations in an excellent location near the center of Valladolid. One of the best things was the directions Beate gave us---absolutely concise and direct and easy to find. Loved the physical place with our little bungalow, so colorful, attractive and comfortable. The composting toilets were a little weird, but not a problem at all and certainly funky! The vegan breakfast was delicious and Beate and Paul were just so interesting and easy to be with. Beate has also written a book, so we purchased a copy we are looking forward to sharing with our grandchildren. In addition, the whole place is decorated with Beate's paintings and she is darned good! Beate was so good with information and assistance and recommended a really good restaurant nearby which turned out to be interesting and special, at a convent. They were also very accomodating about all our comings and goings, storing our luggage on the morning we left so we could go look around Valladolid a bit more. Would definitely recommend the Casa Axis Mundi to others who delight in adventure travel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolinaylorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Wonderful, colorful, comfortable B and B hosted by Beate and Paul Epp, who were gracious, welcoming ,helpful, interesting hosts. The accommodations were excellent. The breakfasts, which were vegetarian, included freshly squeezed orange juice, wonderful smoothies, and fresh fruit. We certainly will visit Casa Axis Mundi and Paul and Beate when we are in Mexico next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobbithole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband, Infant son and I stayed there over the New Year and we wished we had not booked anywhere else! I raved about the beauty of the environment to all of our friends and the lovely raw vegan foods. It's a short walk away from downtown Valladolid and just being in that space was divine. Beate and Paul have really blessed the world with this space, and I hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Words just don't do justice when describing the one week retreat package at casa axis mundi...Beate and Paul are such amazing hosts and the programme of activities that Beate organises are a great, easy way to see the Yucatan. Whatsmore, its an enlightening introduction to raw food living whilst not beeing too strict (we weren't fround on for doing tequila tasting or ordering none raw dishes at restaurants occassionally) and we came away with some delicious recipes and lots of new knowledge. I cant thank Beate and Paul enough for my incredible experience with them and I can't wait to go back...!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManchesterF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maria Guadalupe
Hotel Maria Guadalupe
#10 of 15 in Valladolid
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
#1 of 21 in Valladolid
615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tunich Beh
Hotel Tunich Beh
#2 of 28 in Valladolid
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Axis Mundi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Axis Mundi

Property: Casa Axis Mundi
Address: Calle 41 #255 D Calle 56 54, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raw & Vegan Retreat Centre and Boutique Hotel in the heart of the Yucatan!Experience the personalized hospitality and intimate atmosphere of our historic, colonial place!All 6 rooms in the garden are adjacent to a lovely pool.Enjoy community on our expansive banquet table in our covered outdoor dining area.Open to host raw food, yoga, meditation, Buddhist retreats and more!Offering cleansing and raw food retreats, Reiki, Regression therapy, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Axis Mundi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing