We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Posada San Juan
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband John and I stayed at Posada San Juan for three nights. It was a delightful stay. Sara and her son Alex were warm and welcoming and it was conveniently located. Breakfast was provided and it was freshly cooked and a very homely breakfast. The outside sitting area was surrounded with a gorgeous garden and the high walls alllowed for peace and tranquility after a long day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
158
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Posada San Juan is one of my all time favorite accommodations. The grounds are stunning with mangos dropping from the trees as you laze about in the pool. Our room was very spacious and the entire b&b is decorated with gorgeous furniture and art. Sonia and Emilio took wonderful care of us and knew what we wanted before we did. Lovely breakfast and treats brought to the pool. Alejandro gave us lots of ideas on places to visit and was happy to just sit around and visit with us. He also invited us to tag along it a few outings with his girlfriend. The city is quant and beautiful, the cenotes are incredible, and we hope to return.

Room Tip: ask for one large bed to get the big room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This quaint and relaxing Bed and Breakfast Inn in Valladolid Mexico was the highlight of my weekend trip to a small town in the Yucatan Peninsula. The inn keepers were very accommodating and friendly. As stated in a previous review, this hacienda type home affords you the opportunity exit your room directly to the common outdoor area to relax in a hammock or by the pool or wander the grounds and eat fresh tamarind fruit, mango or papaya from the trees located on the property! My children ages 8 and 5 did not want to leave the property, what testimony is that for an Inn?!

If you have any desire to visit a terrific little town off the beaten path of the tourist cities of Cancun, Playa del Carmen or Tulum, visit this wonderful town and look nowhere else to stay other than Hotel Posada San Juan!

Room Tip: All rooms have air conditioning if you desire. Or you can open the windows and enjoy the fresh air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

this place was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Very cosy place in Valladolid which is a little town off the beaten track but definitely worth visiting. A perfect stop between Merida and the coast.

A great property with great room not far from the center of town. Nice, clean and safe and good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gkrauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a beautiful property, with a great traditional hacienda feeling with modern conveniences. Each room is so pretty, with a hammock for lounging and air conditioning. There are a lot of common/public areas for the guests, multiple dining tables, sofas outside and in. The hotel is very quiet, which makes for a very restful sleep!

And the breakfast (which I believe is included), is spectacular! Fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, bread, eggs, beans, tortillas....

A great hotel!

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanieahensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We recently spent 11 days in the Yucatan and on our last night decided to visit Valladolid. First off, the city is great and the people are so friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend that visitors come here as part of their "Cancun" vacation. There is a great deal to check out in teh city and environs.
Now, Posada San Juan was fantastic. Rooms are beautiful, quiet, air conditioned. The best bed we slept in the entire trip. There are only 4 rooms in the whole place and it was detailed, comfortable and serene. They make you breakfast in the AM which was outstanding. This place understands what a Western tourist wants on vacation. It is central in the city, about a 400M walk up the road to the central plaza but we grabbed cabs most times we wanted to get to and from places as they are about $2 USD to get anywhere. I drove into the city and found the place no problem. We also had no problem getting out of the city. it is a very easy place to get around.
We had two kids with us, age 5 and 9. They loved this Hotel as well. I will say that if you have noisy kids, you might feel kind of self conscience about them making a ruckus as the place is kind of a serene relaxing oasis but overall, the best find of the trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanElliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We recently spent 8 days across four locations on the peninsula. This was our FAVE hotel - bested the Hyatt Regency at Cancun by far! Lovely large room, much needed AC (we'd had five nights at two more expensive places without AC and it was tough to sleep due to the humidity), lovely hosts, yummy breakfast (included eggs cooked to order), beautiful gardens with pool and outdoor settings. Very kind hosts too (not much English spoken - but better than my non-existant spanish - and you can get a long way with smiles and sign language!) Also an easy walk to town square and other spots for food. Can't recommend highly enough, hope you stay and love it too.

Room Tip: There are three rooms that open onto garden - aim to get one of these if you like to step into a pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbGal1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.5 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Marlene
Casa Marlene
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada San Juan

Property: Hotel Posada San Juan
Address: Calle 40 x 49 | Parque de San Juan, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada San Juan is a small and charming hotel located in the historic downtown of Valladolid, Yucatan.Boasting eight comfortable and spacious en suite rooms, a terrace with beautiful tree-filled garden and a pool, all in a 19th century house, Posada San Juan's warm, personal atmosphere will ensure you a peaceful stay in a convenient location for your visit to the south-east of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Posada San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing