We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not four stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda San Miguel
Ranked #14 of 20 Valladolid B&B and Inns
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not four stars”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

After a drive from Cancun airport we drove into Hacienda San Miguel and were met by the manager Ulysses as we parked. He took us into the only open door off the veranda of the hacienda. There was a full black bin bag on the floor and some supermarket carriers on a chair which were rather out of place. However the manager was charming, we signed in and he showed us where our bungalow was and explained that the place had work to be done on it but there was a walk around we could do. He mentioned it had been run as a retreat. We were rather puzzled as the website had shown a games room, a restaurant and a bar, even air conditioning was mentioned.. He asked us if we wanted a coffee in the morning but we declined as we wanted to have a breakfast somewhere. It was 11 km to Valladolid, so a 22 km round trip. In the accommodation it was, as described, basic. No drinking water, tv or hairdrier. No air conditioning, just a fan in the ceiling.We spent a very hot night but thought this was probably typical for Mexico, 4 stars rating was possibly different to our 4 stars.
After the next day sight seeing we returned and I had a swim. Ulysses asked how we were and I said we couldn’t want for more. He asked if we needed anything as he was going out for a while, we replied we were okay. We said we would check out about 10 the next day, but after another uncomfortable night we decided to leave at 8. However all was closed and we couldn’t find anyone to give the key to. At 9 we found a young lad round the pool and gave it to him.
It was not until we stayed in 4 other hotels that we realised how poor the service and facilities were , we stayed in another Hacienda in Uxmal, and the difference was shocking, a hotel in Campeche, one in Merida and one in Tulum, all far surpassing the facilities, or lack of them, at Hacienda San Miguel. At no time did we experience any part of the Hacienda, apart from signing in.The bungalow was the only facility. It certainly was no cheaper than the others either.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Borkijazmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulises_Rovirosa, Gerente at Hacienda San Miguel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Borkijazmo:

Thank you so much for your traveller review. In Hacienda San Miguel we are currently working in all the details you have mentioned in order to provide quality services and quality facilities. We have corrected the star rating in all online travel agencies showing us now as a LODGE with no star rating as we consider our property an original Hacienda that is family owned.
As per our services we have up dated the information in our web site, to match what we have published in the online travel agencies, to avoid confusion to our visitors. There was ambiguity in AC information as we do offer the service but only in the standard rooms and not in the bungalows. As for the games room, we do have this service and it was available by the time yuo were our guest. Regarding the food & beverage services, those services were removed from all the web pages were we are advertised as we are only serving breakfast upon reservation. There are plans to open a restaurant & a bar and once we have an oppening date we will publish it again in all the proper web sites.

Not having TV is part of our concept, as well as offering the bungalows only with ceiling fan. However, based on all of our past guests suggestions (including yours), we are working on to add more services as wifi in the hotel lobby, hairdrier, restaurant, bar, and maybe satellite TV in the bar. These services will be added to all advertising channels as soon as we have them ready.

We really appreciate your review as it has been such a great help to identify & improve all of our areas of oportunity.

Yours Sincerely,
Ulises Rovirosa
General Manager
Hacienda San Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    11
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Avoid the tourist coach crowds in Valladolid and stay at peaceful Hacienda San Miguel with its own private chapel. Sitting on the veranda of the hacienda sipping coffee, we felt like we had stepped back in time to the early 1900's when beautiful hacienda's were being built on the proceeds of henequen (sisal) production. The actual accommodation is in comfortable cottages in the grounds of the hacienda which are full of birdlife. It is an ideal location for nature lovers. Will not suit everyone as there is currently no restaurant, but Valladolid is only a short drive away. There is also a small swimming pool to relax around at the end of the day, and there are plans for a bar area /lounge in the actual hacienda.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valladolid
5.9 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,378 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
320 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
194 reviews
6.0 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
395 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Miguel

Property: Hacienda San Miguel
Address: Km 8 Carretera Valladolid-Uayma, Valladolid 97796, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda San Miguel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda San Miguel is an XVIII century colonial property that is surrounded by lush vegetation. This quiet hotel is located on the outskirts of Valladolid in Yucatan and is perfect for those who love ecotourism and outdoor activities. The property has a jogging trail, a swimming pool, a small wedding chapel and a thatched-roof palapa with hammocks. Within a 10-minute drive, you can visit the Magical town of Valladolid and the Dzitnup Cenote. Archaeological Sites like Ek-Balam & Chichen Itza are located within a 40-minute drive away.Each room and bungalow offers views of the gardens and all have tiled floors and a private bathroom with a shower and free toiletries. Hacienda San Miguel is a reflection of an era that today translates into history, comfort and respect for ecology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing