We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value! Beautiful and peaceful place!”
Review of Casa Quetzal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Quetzal
Ranked #2 of 24 Valladolid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed two times in Casa Quetzal, one time in March, by myself, and on time in June, with my husband. Both times I loved it very much! It is not 'like' staying with friends, it IS staying with friends! A wonderful atmosphere, a beautiful landscaped garden to relax in, a great breakfast and wonderful staff, all combined with the most gracious owner, Judith!

There is really nothing more to wish for on a trip and this is the perfect place to explore anything in town! Casa Quetzal is right across the Convent, it's quiet and peaceful, and the rooms are absolutley lovely!

Everything is neat and clean and tidy. I stayed in 3 different rooms during these stays and loved them all! The bathrooms are great, and I enjoyed my little balcony upstairs in March. Everything is lush and green with colourful flowers everywhere, and the pool is just what you need to cool off after exploring your surroundings!

I can only recommend this place to anyone, and the other guests I met there were as happy as I am :)

Can't go wrong here! Enjoy!

Room Tip: My favourite room is the one by the pool, upstairs! Love that one personally, but all are great! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beate64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

A wonderful quiet place with a nice garden and high standard of the room. I agree with GeoffW195 - for me it had the highest standard from all the hotels we stayed in Jucatan - we traveled 1 month. A little relaxing oasis. It is a 10 min walk from the city center but it is safe one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Family of 5 stayed 3 nights at Casa Quetzal, and we rated it highest of any hotel we visited in a city during a month of travel in Belize and Yucatan/Mexico. Large, well appointed rooms with huge, delicious breakfasts (not included in room price but very reasonably priced). AC and fans worked well in both rooms, staff was friendly and helpful. Looks from the street are deceiving - appears plain enough outside, but once you enter the courtyard you are in a different world. Prices for our stay were very reasonable considering we had 2 large rooms. And the location in Valladolid was great for walking to the village center and other attractions. We loved Valladolid itself, and it was also handy for short drive to Chitzen Itza. Beds were fantastic also...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffW195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This place is lovely quiet and relaxing, 10min walk from the center of town and across the road from the Convent. Great location, great service, super clean and comfortable.

A great place to stay if you want to visit the surrounding site 40mins away by bus, at a cost of only $2 USD if you take local transport.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bdmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had a great time, spacious and confortable room with tropical garden view. Snorkling in Cenotes is ony minutes away. Loved the quiet and delicious Breakfast. A few minutes away from the picturesque town center. Try the taberna de los Frailes, brilliant restaurant a few minutes away ;o)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CediM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We got room number 3 for two nights. The room was big, clean, comfortable and nice. I read before that the pool was not good for use in some other reviews, but my children used it. Of course there were some leafs in it, but how can´t it be if it is surrounded by beautiful big trees? I found the location convenient. Of course Valladolid is a great small town.

This is what I did not like: I made my reservation online and it was respected. But I overheard a conversation later that same day with some other guest that made a reservation only by telephone. His reservation was not respected. The staff told the guest that they tried to reach him to confirm, but the telephone that the guest gave the hotel was of his office, and of course there was nobody in it; so they decided to give away their room.

I do not know if this could have happened to me if I had not arrived early that day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOSEmonterrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is a really lovely little hotel built around a lovely pool and garden. It is about 10 minutes walk down to the main square and it is close to the beautiful old convent of San Bernando and an excellent restaurant (about two mins walk just on the other side of the convent). The room was really well decorated and clean and the outside seating area nice, although the mozzies come out in force so it doesn't make for a relaxing end of day beer! The staff were really friendly and helped us organise a driver for the day to take us to Rio Logartos, San Felipe and Chichen Itza. The taxi was good value and enabled us to do much more in the time we had than if we used buses. There is also a taxi rant about a minute from the hotel (on the sqaure) where you can pick up a ride to the Cenotes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheerynarration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.7 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Marlene
Casa Marlene
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Quetzal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Quetzal

Address: Calle 51 No. 218 x 50 y 52 col. Sisal, Valladolid, Yucatan, Mexico, Valladolid, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Valladolid
Price Range: £49 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Quetzal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or pleasure, alone or with family, Hotel Boutique Casa Quetzal he looks great facilities in the historic center of the magical town of Valladolid, Yucatan. Since our opening in 2006 we have distinguished ourselves by providing an atmosphere of total tranquility in a Mexican colonial style building framed with large gardens and terraces. The spaces are decorated using Mexican folk art objects, which provides our hotel a regional touch. The undeniable charm of Casa Quetzal will always do their first choice in this colonial destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Quetzal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Quetzal Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing