We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday highlight!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Quetzal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Quetzal
Ranked #2 of 19 Valladolid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Holiday highlight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Quetzal - very relaxing with a beautiful garden and pool area which is a peaceful oasis. We booked the Casa Maya Quetzal suite, which was beautiful, spacious and spotless with an enclosed en suite bedroom and a living room with kitchen. We enjoyed cooking here and the supermarket is within easy walking distance Would highly recommend it - the staff were really nice and helpful and the breakfast was good. Tthis was a highlight of our holiday and Valladolid is a great place to visit with proximity to Chichen Itza, Ek Balam and cenotes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hekado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    74
    20
    5
    6
See reviews for
54
138
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent two nights here--including Christmas Eve--and were absolutely charmed. The room was lovely, the gardens amazing--and the staff could not have been nicer. Breakfast was delicious…Wish we'd had more time there!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nobark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Valladolid is loud and busy, Casa Quetzal is a quiet little hidden world of peace. The employees were incredibly friendly. Judith, the owner, is a lovely woman. And Ido the house cat is the perfect greeter.

Room Tip: If you cannot find the hotel, ask a taxi to lead you there. The streets of Valladolid are very conf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TederFen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Valladolid

This hotel comes highly recommended. Everything about made for a pleasurable stay.

The staff were extremely happy and attentive. The room was immaculate and nicely decorated/ furnished even with a hammock.

The communal areas were once again very well presented and provided a tranquil natural setting, complete with mini pool.

Beds were comfortable, perfect for a restful nights sleep. There are local roosters which wake up at the crack of dawn so bring ear plugs if you want a lay-in. We used the hotel as a base for a visit to Chichen Itza and local cenotes so we were up early anyway.

Breakfast was also worth the money (100 peso from memory). The quality and quantity was exceptional me included fruit, bread, coffee, yogurt, granola and a hot egg based dish of choice.

Would happily return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenDiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
380 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

And we didn't as this was as perfect a stay - beautiful, spotlessly clean, with attentive and friendly service - as one could ask for. So we didn't need to (ask that is). We even took a refreshing dip in the pool - so some leaves were floating around? So what??? It's surrounded by lush gardens and why anyone would get upset about that is beyond me). If you ask me some people will find fault with just about anything.

We could not find fault with anything at this charming and inviting Casa Quetzal - we even had the pleasure of meeting the gracious and lovely (classy) owner - and would not hesitate recommending it to anyone!

We WILL be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel claims to be a boutique hotel, but it doesn't live up to that claim. First of all, the woman at the front desk claimed to have never received my reservation when I tried to check into the king bed Junior Suite I reserved. When I showed her the email that the hotel sent me confirming the reservation, she changed her story to one that the people that had been staying there previously had decided to extend their stay, so the room that I RESERVED would not be available and we would be put in a double bed Junior Suite (room #5) instead. Not cool. The room itself was pretty miserable, including a stuffy, mildewy smell, no real seating despite being a "Junior Suite", and a sign on the toilet telling us not to flush our toilet paper. Definitely NOT a boutique hotel quality room. The man at the front desk the next day was much friendlier and offered to move our things to the room we had originally reserved while we were out for the day, and gave us the key in advance so we could come straight back to it. The king bed Junior Suite (room #6) was significantly nicer - more in line with a boutique hotel. There were two rocking chairs, the room smelled fine, we had a nice private balcony off the room, and we could actually flush our toilet paper! Perhaps the most appalling thing about this hotel was that both rooms were the exact same price because "they're both Junior Suites." We were planning on leaving very early on our last morning to get to Chichen Itza when it opened, and so the night before I planned on talking to the front desk and getting all squared away so we could hand off the keys and go. Despite the fact that the previous night the desk had been staffed at least through 9PM, they were gone when we got back a little before 7PM, without any notice of when they would return. At 7AM the next morning, I ran into a cleaning lady on the sidewalk as we were packing up our car, and she started to help us with checkout until the front desk person meandered in. Twelve hours with an unstaffed desk is completely unacceptable, especially for a "boutique hotel." Also, the pool was a drawing point for this hotel when choosing where to stay in Valladolid, but it was too murky and dirty to swim in during our stay, so it might as well not have existed.

The takeaway: While our second room was quite nice, I cannot in good faith recommend this hotel to anyone else, as there seems to be no way of ensuring they would get what they reserved. I certainly wouldn't risk it to stay here again,

Room Tip: Room #5 is stuffy, has poor plumbing that prevents you from flushing toilet paper, and doesn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillon, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Starting with the good. Great rooms, clean, well appointed, love the hammock in the room. Beautiful courtyard and dining area. Location was a 10 minute walk to the square and Taverna de Los Frailes was right around the corner.
Bad. Second floor rooms you are blessed with roosters next door that crow all day and night, I mean they never stop. We had to sleep with earplugs it was that bad. Casa Quetzal is listed as a Bed and Breakfast. So they do serve breakfast, it is huge, more than I would normally eat. Simple, yogurt and granola, fruit, eggs, bread, beans, avocado. I did not read the fine print, and expected the breakfast to be included in a B&B, but they charge $10us per person for breakfast! It was nice to have an easy breakfast at the hotel, but $20 in Valladolid will buy you quite a meal. It was an unexpected charge after a 4 day stay.
I don't know what other lodging options are available in Valladolid at this price point, but I will be staying elsewhere next trip.

Room Tip: Do not, under any circumstances get a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MountainBikeColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.7 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 14 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 14 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 14 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 14 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 14 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Quetzal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Quetzal

Property: Casa Quetzal
Address: Calle 51 No. 218 x 50 y 52 col. Sisal, Valladolid, Yucatan, Mexico, Valladolid, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Quetzal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or pleasure, alone or with family, Hotel Boutique Casa Quetzal he looks great facilities in the historic center of the magical town of Valladolid, Yucatan. Since our opening in 2006 we have distinguished ourselves by providing an atmosphere of total tranquility in a Mexican colonial style building framed with large gardens and terraces. The spaces are decorated using Mexican folk art objects, which provides our hotel a regional touch. The undeniable charm of Casa Quetzal will always do their first choice in this colonial destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Quetzal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Quetzal Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing