We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“calm & cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 20 Valladolid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
“calm & cosy”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

this is the most beautiful and charming place we've stayd so far in yucatan. even better than the 5star hotel we had in cancun apart from there's no sea of course. denis, the owner and his staff are very friendly and helpful but not officious at all. denis answered all our questions and gave us real good tips. he took us to a mayan production in an amphitheatre somewhere in a little village next to valladolid. a place we would never have found without him. nice & authentic show about the mayan life. we've been here on a sunday. every sunday there's a live band playing in the center of valladolid. the center is pretty close. 10 minutes by feet or 2 minutes by taxi (20pesos). the city seems save. it was easy to walk back to casa hamaca at night as well. in the morning we got a delicious breakfast and hung out in the hammocks around the house before we left to chichen itza...

Room Tip: every room has a diffrent theme but they are all very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halbi8i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    49
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
163
310
24
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

In late December, while visiting the coast, we made a last minute trip to Vallalodid and the surrounding Mayan ruins. Our stay at Casa Hamaca was excellent from the time we began our booking until we departed. After booking on-line, we contacted Dennis via phone. He gave us easy to follow directions which helped quite a bit as we arrived at dusk.
We were greeted in the parking lot by a staff member who led us through the delightful garden. We felt our worries melt away as we walked through the banana trees and lush vegetation. Dennis immediately joined us, showing us the equally charming house and escorting us to our room. Our room was spacious with beautiful tile work in the en-suite bathroom. Equipped with both ceiling fans and A/C, the room was comfortable during the day and the evening. The room, linens, and bathroom were scrupulously clean.
Dennis made sure we felt welcome and enjoyed our stay. He recommended a family restaurant for dinner and told us about a local concert that evening, both of which we enjoyed. If you have more time to stay than we did, check out the main living room which Dennis has stocked with books about the area and its history.
Breakfast was delicious and served early enough for me (I am awake by 6 am on a slow day) but late enough for my spouse (who rarely sees 6am!).
If you plan to visit Coba, Ek Balam, and Chitzen Itza, Casa Hamaca will make an excellent base for your travels.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TryingoutTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just walking through the small lush garden to the house you know you are in a special place. Host Denis makes sure your needs are met by his staff and he is most helpful with recommendations and tips for day trips. Lovely breakfast. Make sure you find out about visiting the local house with all the folk art if that is of interest to you. Outstanding collection in an amazing house right in town! We'd like to visit here again.

Room Tip: West rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eglongrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Casa Hamaca is run by the delightful Denis Larson. He responded to my online booking request extremely promptly, and the entire process took minutes and was flawless. When we arrived in Valladolid, well after dark, we had a bit of trouble finding the place, because it is set well back off the street on which it is addressed. There is a public plaza there, and when you see it on your right (it's a one-way street), look in the back right-hand corner of the plaza, and you will see a sign for Casa Hamaca on a rather shabby-looking structure. that's not the place, only the building upon which the sign has been placed. The Casa is behind that. It is delightfully decorated, spotlessly clean, the staff is very helpful, and Denis is a delight. He is friendly and sociable without being intrusive. He knows plenty about the region and will be an invaluable source of information about what to see and do, pitfalls to avoid and so on. We spent a delightful hour conversing with him over a delicious breakfast of Mayan fare. We would not hesitate to return. I can't think of a single criticism of the place. Thanks, Denis.

Room Tip: The rooms are all pictured online, which makes it easy to chhose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Casa Hamaca is a beautiful, well cared for B & B. The rooms were large, comfortable and very clean. Throughout the home there are wonderful Mayan tributes. The casita, hammocks, front porch, library and gardens were all lovely and well kept. Denis and all his staff were warm and friendly. Each day his staff prepared amazing traditional breakfasts. The location was great, allowed easy access to get around Vallodolid. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Hamaca. We were amazed and impressed with all that Denis has done in helping and participating within the Mayan community.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winginit326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Only stayed 1 night as we wanted an early start for Chichen. Our room was beautiful (the red room), the whole place is fabulous and Denis is a top bloke and helpful with recommendations for restaurants etc. Valladolid's a lovely town for an overnight stay too and it was only about 30 mins drive to the ruins the next day which meant we got there at opening time and missed the busy period.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank have_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Denis has made his guesthouse very welcoming. The physical space and amenities are lovely but what really sets the place part is Denis' pride in this part of Mexico and what it has to offer. He patiently asked what we wanted to do and helped us with directions and suggestions. He can recommend restaurants in every price range and will tell you want portion of the Chichen Itza site you can skip. When he tells you not to miss the private house which opens for visitors to see its Mexican art collection follow his good advice. Be sure to try and stay more than one night so you have a chance to see more than just Chichen itza. We enjoyed having a drink in one of the restaurants on the side of the main square in town and listening the the band of drums and trumpets practice. We ate fruit ices from one of the several shops which dot the square and wished we had room to taste all of the varieties. We look forward to going back, Denis told us he has cooking classes and other suggestions of things to do that we missed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHF826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Marlene
Casa Marlene
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hamaca Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hamaca Guesthouse

Property: Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Address: Col. San Juan | Calle 49 # 202 - A x 40, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Hamaca Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse: Bed, Breakfast & Healing Center...a unique Mayan experience. You are welcomed as an honored guest rather than just another number. From the food to the decor to the gardens to the healing sessions, your experience will have authenticity, harmony and balance. Explore the jungle-like gardens, lounge in a hammock, discover original murals, wait for an elusive alux to make an appearance. Discover the magic of Casa Hamaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Hamaca Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing