We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel room we have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 20 Valladolid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best hotel room we have ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel, beautiful room with hammock inside, great pool and gardens. The owner made us feel at home, friendly staff and a great breakfast

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myaandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    49
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
163
309
24
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Fantastic location, friendly staff, great facilities, a highlight of our trip!
We stayed at Casa Hamaca for four nights and have no complaints!
We plan to return in the future!
Thank you again Denis for such a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katlyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
113 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We ended up in this town purely because of convenience between Myan ruins and desire to experience real Mexico. It is not the tiny little "town" I expected but rather a small city. At night, it looks a little daunting, but it feels perfectly comfortable during the day. For those gringo resort folks, be aware: noone will speak English here. However, that doesn't mean they aren't friendly and helpful! As far as sites, we blasted out Tulum & Coba (with driving) easily in one day and Chichen Itza in a morning. I looove this beach but this town beats resorts hands down.

Dennis' B&B is cute, clean, and safe. Dennis is a true gem for those non-Spanish speaking lost Americans. He was helpful, patient, and ever so kind to my entire family. His breakfasts are delicious, the rooms are clean and extremely large, and despite that the place is difficult to find, it was convenient. We cabbed it back late at night, but it is walkable from city square. There is AC in rooms (rare, I'm sure, for this area) but I'd recommend the ladies bring their favorite shampoo & conditioner. Remember this is Mexico: no drinking the water when you brush your teeth, etc, etc!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COhotelcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We learned about La Hamaca on Trip Advisor and couldn't have been more pleased. Denis is the best of hosts, spent a lot of relaxed time talking with us, introducing us to some of his friends who he thought we would enjoy and spent a couple of hours on Sunday taking us to market for a wonderful experience we wouldn't otherwise have had. He is fluent in both English and Spanish so that gave us the added opportunity to discuss many more things than we would have been able to if limited our Spanish only. My husband is quite fluent but I am not and I came to look into my family history. My great grandmother was Mayan, born in Valladolid. I brought many old photos with me and Denis introduced me to a friend who gave me some good suggestions about sharing them with others interested in the history of Valladolid. Casa Hamaca itself is stunning and inviting. The staff helped to make our stay very very comfortable. We hope to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NitaP80903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St-Ours, Quebec
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My girlfriend and i did not want to stay in Cancun on arrival, we do not like to much these tourist attractions, and we wanted something within a few hour drive from the airport. So we decided on Casa Hamaca, we were looking for something quiet and relaxing that would be our starting point of our vacation since we had not planned our second night stay because we wanted to discover as we went. Well we could not have gotten a better spot, right in the middle of the city, quiet, clean, decorated with taste in a Mexican decor. Denis directed us to a Mexican family restaurant 2 blocks from the guesthouse on our arrival and it was perfect then he gave us plenty of information's of the surrounding area to visit. Rooms are perfect and clean. It was a great start to our vacation and i would go back to Casa Hamaca anytime.....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel__Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Hamaca, a small B&B in Valladolid. We were in the Gold suite, 2nd floor of this two story 8 room guesthouse and since it was on the corner, we got a wonderful cross breeze between the two windows so we only used the A/C one night. Denis & his staff always had coffee, fresh fruit, and pastry out when we awoke. Breakfast, traditional Mexican or Yucatan style with fresh orange juice, was prepared for you when you were ready. They were very accommodating even when we had a 6:45 am tour departure, and they still had breakfast ready for us. On Sunday, Denis took us to the local market to partake in his traditional “Sunday breakfast out” including some of the local cuisine. It also allowed us to take in some of the local “color”. We enjoyed one of the lectures in a series that Denis organizes about local issues. Our stay at Casa Hamaca was comfortable & homey and Denis always had activities to recommend and directions to the best places to eat.

Room Tip: View the room on Casa Hamaca website and submit any question you might have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

How could I use the world quintessential? After you stay here you will understand.
The lighted bridge through the garden connects you from the parking lot to the beautiful house of this property. The proprietor, Denis Larsen, has combined features of the old and new to create a Yucatan style retreat with modern comforts. Old features include the large house with a wind around porch, a large collection of Yucatan art Denis freely shares with guests and the traditional hammocks ("hamaca") on the property. New aspects include the amenities you will appreciate as a guest seeking comfort: ceiling fans, air conditioners, excellent beds with quality linens, beautiful bathrooms and all things in perfect working order.
The grounds are just lovely, full of birds so that each morning I went down to hear and see them.
Denis takes very good care of his guests. He provides an early breakfast that includes coffee, juice, pastries, fresh fruit, granola and yogurt. And then later, a full cooked breakfast prepared by his excellent Mayan staff is served. Denis is also the quintessential host: saw that we ate at restaurants we'd enjoy; visited the best venues in the city; gave a personal tour of his art collection and extensive garden. One morning he took us shopping to the local market, and on another to eat breakfast at the market just as a local would.
While we were there we shared meals with other guests, and went sightseeing and shopping with them. The atmosphere was very congenial and inclusive. The friendly Mayan staff provided delicious breakfasts, snacks, drinks, beautifully clean rooms and even laundered our clothes. We knew them all by their Mayan names.
Casa Hamaca wasn't just a beautiful property; it was a wonderful experience and gave me a deeper feeling and understanding of the community of Valladolid and the Yucatan culture.
The host, Denis Larsen is a most unique humanitarian, someone you will remember fondly in the days after your departure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated around a theme and can be seen on Casa Hamaca website. Denis gave me a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alux_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Marlene
Casa Marlene
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hamaca Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hamaca Guesthouse

Property: Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Address: Col. San Juan | Calle 49 # 202 - A x 40, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Hamaca Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse: Bed, Breakfast & Healing Center...a unique Mayan experience. You are welcomed as an honored guest rather than just another number. From the food to the decor to the gardens to the healing sessions, your experience will have authenticity, harmony and balance. Explore the jungle-like gardens, lounge in a hammock, discover original murals, wait for an elusive alux to make an appearance. Discover the magic of Casa Hamaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Hamaca Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing