We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 20 Valladolid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We spent one night at Casa Hamaca during a three day road trip through part of the Yucatan. Casa Hamaca was the perfect place for the 3 of us; pristine rooms and bathroom, friendly and helpful staff, congenial host, beautiful garden and porches. We also enjoyed the artwork displayed in the public and private rooms. Denis invited us to the municipal market on Sunday morning when he drove there to buy food for breakfast, told us to visit the Casa de los Venados and eat at the Taberna de los Frailes. A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    51
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
166
312
24
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
McCormick, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The rooms were decorated nicely, comfortable, and clean. Dennis was an excellent host. He recommended restaurants and places to go, and he even went to the market Sunday morning to get part of our breakfast. Only negative was the street noise.

Room Tip: Since there are photos of each room on the website, it is easy to choose a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary_Mc638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My wife and I just returned from 2 weeks in Yucatan. Three days at Casa Hamaca was a great introduction to the country, the Mayan culture and getting around the country. Ex-pat Dennis Larsen knows everyone in Vallodid and is very willing to share his insights over a great breakfast, or in the afternoon when he is usually available to answer questions, recommend places to see, and suggest some good local restaurants in walking distance. While we were there we shared Hamaca and our breakfasts with couples from New Zealand and Great Britain as well as the states. We like friendly B&B's, and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerTimesTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We came during Carnival and had the best of both day and night time experiences. Ruins and Cenotes by day and taking in the local happenings by the town plaza by night. Dennis is an excellent host his knowledge and helpfulness is outstanding. He really made our trip! The casa is beautiful. Very peaceful and off the beaten path.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adzromero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Casa Hamaca for two nights in January. It was a great find. The room & bathroom were very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed including a very comfy hammock!

Denis and the team were lovely, friendly and helped us have a fantastic time in Valladolid!

Breakfast was truly lovely and it was nice to meet others around the table.

We wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HannahGoalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We loved our stay at Casa Hamaca. Such a personal touch! Everything was perfect.
We arrived Christmas day and were treated like family. Great breakfast on the porch.
Make sure you visit Denis's friend at Casa de los Venados. It was one of our top places to visit in all of the Yucatan.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusmorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We just spent a night at Casa Hamaca. It is a beautiful home- our room was gorgeous (I couldn't stop taking photos) with a marvelous, down to earth host who readily spent time talking with us and shared lots of interesting information about Vallodolid and his experiences over the years in Mexico. I just read all the reviews for December 2012 and January 2013 and I agree 100% with all of them. Casa Hamaca deserves its #1 rating on Trip Advisor. Be sure to make time to visit Casa Venados while you are there - it is a private home that houses an absolutely amazing, huge collection of Mexican folk art. One tour a day at 10:00.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.5 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
432 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ecotel Quinta Regia
Ecotel Quinta Regia
#9 of 15 in Valladolid
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hamaca Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hamaca Guesthouse

Property: Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Address: Col. San Juan | Calle 49 # 202 - A x 40, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Hamaca Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse: Bed, Breakfast & Healing Center...a unique Mayan experience. You are welcomed as an honored guest rather than just another number. From the food to the decor to the gardens to the healing sessions, your experience will have authenticity, harmony and balance. Explore the jungle-like gardens, lounge in a hammock, discover original murals, wait for an elusive alux to make an appearance. Discover the magic of Casa Hamaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Hamaca Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing