We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 21 Valladolid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely find”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. Denis makes sure everyone is included in the breakfast conversation which was informative and interesting. He knows so much about the area and is very generous with making suggestions for what to do.

The property is lovely and is a short walk from the plaza. We loved our short stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpliskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    51
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
171
313
24
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We only could spend one night but it was worth it. We enjoyed the relaxed and friendly atmosphere and would recommend this Guesthouse to anyone wishing to stay in this friendly place. The owner is friendly and helpful as is his staff. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The pool is an added bonus and after a long drive on a very hot day we enjoyed having a splash about in the pool. Quiet area but within walking distance to the centre.

Room Tip: All the rooms are big and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatH238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in Valladolid. The property is in a quiet square and set back from the road in a beautiful and peaceful setting. The owner knows the area very well and was a fantastic source of information and good conversation. Our room was large enough for my family of four to spread out a bit and everything was very clean. Breakfast is delicious and has great variety. There was something for everyone: fruit, granola and yogurt, pastries, and a daily egg dish. Valladolid is a great town to use as a central location for Ek Balam, Chichen Itza, and various cenotes, and Casa Hamaca is an excellent place to come "home" to after a day of exploring.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skootchover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My family (including 3 kids aged 7, 5 and 2) loved our stay at Casa Hamaca. Good sized room, beautiful garden for the kids to enjoy and a nice pool to dip into at the end of a hot day. There is also a playground in the square right outside the hotel so this place is perfect for a family on a trip. As others have mentioned Denis really makes the place - he knows everything about the area and will point you in the right direction be it tequila tours, offbeat ruins, visits to local markets and restaurants. It's not cheap, but the pound is very low at moment so suspect our exchange rate to blame for that!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank E_Lewis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at the Casa Hamaca on 27 July, having broken out of our all-inclusive hotel in Playacar to remind ourselves of the country we were visiting. I had visited the Yucatan, including Valladolid, some 30 years earlier, and in many respects I was sorry to return to an area that had been ravaged by package-tourism. However, the Casa Hamaca undoubtedly represented a positive addition to Valladolid's attractions.Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated, the grounds were a miniature paradise, and breakfast was excellent. But, as many reviewers have commented, perhaps the greatest asset of the place was its owner, Dennis Larsen, who was a mine of useful information as well as an excellent conversationalist (after one week in the degraded social environment of an all-inclusive I was almost in danger of losing the power of speech). My only gripes would be the size of the pool (good for dipping, but not for swimming) and the price, which verged (to a poor Brit) on the almost-expensive. Yet, to put those reservations in perspective, I would highly recommend the Casa Hamaca to the discerning and sentient traveller in need of a truly non-inclusive experience, in the best possible sense.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Where to begin? We just returned from staying at the Casa Hamaca, a small and intimate hotel with all the personal service one could ever expect. Some of the previously posted photos that show the Casa Hamaca from the street are not accurate because what is seen in these photos is actually a part of an English School. The Casa itself, where the guests stay, is behind a lush and varied garden that blocks any views or noise of the street. It is as if the Casa is hidden in a jungle, with a multitude of singing birds and butterflies, flying amongst the brightly colored flowers, towering green trees and banana trees. The veranda is wonderful: hammocks, cushioned chairs for reading and looking out onto the garden and also the wonderful and refreshing swimming pool, with its own shower and dressing room. I read for hours on this veranda.

Our room was VERY large and beautiful, with excellent Wi-Fi throughout the entire house! And then there was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The room had a hand-painted mural of Mayas. The door to our room was also painted with a mural. In fact, murals ,carefully executed and large, filling up entire walls are everywhere: in the main living room which serves as Dennis' office and also a living room for guests filled with lots of interesting reading materials and reference books. The A.C. was great!

Breakfast is served in the palapa. Those who rise early can partake of fruits , buns, granola and yoghurt, plus coffee. A bit later on, starting about 8 a.m. there is a wonderful hot breakfast of eggs etc, plus the previously mentioned items.

What makes this place special is the setting, the attention to details, the friendliness of Denis Larsen, BUT also the fact that Denis is a very special person. He is very interested in the community and its people. He is engaged in the community and deeply cares about its people. He not welcomes volunteers to the Casa Hamaca, but he sponsors summer school for children, English classes for those interested etc etc.and many other activities. He is a great source of information of what to do, where to go, but also about Vallodolid and its people. Given the depth and breadth of his experience, it is easy to talk to him about many things. He is kind, informed, and interesting.

This is a special place to stay ! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here in mid-July whilst celebrating our birthdays. We were also researching the idea of possibly moving to Valladolid in the near future and had a zillion questions; hence, our choice of the Casa Hamaca Guesthouse and its famous host, Denis. We weren't disappointed. As well as catering to our every need as guests, he was generous with his time, telling us just about everything that we wanted to know about Valladolid.

The highlight for me was getting up early in the morning and lying in a hammock on one of the outddoor decks. The bird sounds were divine!

We recommend the Casa Hamaca Guesthouse!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connieburk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ecotel Quinta Regia
Ecotel Quinta Regia
#9 of 15 in Valladolid
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hamaca Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hamaca Guesthouse

Property: Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Address: Col. San Juan | Calle 49 # 202 - A x 40, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Hamaca Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse: Bed, Breakfast & Healing Center...a unique Mayan experience. You are welcomed as an honored guest rather than just another number. From the food to the decor to the gardens to the healing sessions, your experience will have authenticity, harmony and balance. Explore the jungle-like gardens, lounge in a hammock, discover original murals, wait for an elusive alux to make an appearance. Discover the magic of Casa Hamaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Hamaca Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing