We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excelent find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 20 Valladolid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“An excelent find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were looking for a comfortable spot to stay for a short stint in Valladolid and were very happy to spent time at Casa Hamaca.
The grounds are beautiful and the staff was wonderful. Dennis is a gracious host, made us feel at home and was a wonderful source of good advice on the local cuisine and attractions. Breakfast was great and they served a good cup of coffee.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    49
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
163
309
24
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in early January. We couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. Not only is "Casa" a beautifully designed and decorated hotel it has a very comfortable feel as well. Denis the owner is a great source for advice on things to do (Ek Balam) and local restaurants to visit (Conato's and Oasis). The location is very good as well. We walked everywhere. We especially enjoyed breakfast with great coffee available at 6:30am and breakfast conversations with fellow travelers was an added bonus. Thanks Denis
Dennis and Mary
Milwaukee

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dboomboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We only stayed here for one night in December, however we found the hotel to be very welcoming. We were greeted by the manager who went out of her way to settle us in our room and explain the ins and outs of the hotel. We were subsequently introduced to Denis the American hotel owner, who greeted us warmly and welcomed us to his home. The room was spacious and very clean. Beautifully decorated and with almost silent air conditioning. The hotel is a short walk from the main square and details of places to eat are detailed on an information sheet which was in the room for guests. The breakfast was leisurely and a great way to meet fellow travellers sitting around the communal table. The breakfast was tasty and very filling. An endless supply of coffee was available fro 6:30am. This is a lovely place to stay in Valladolid and a little green oasis. Thoroughly recommend

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Casa Hamaca is an absolute gem in the heart of Valladolid! Our room was spacious, clean and well-appointed-- complete with a Mayan hammock. The building is bright, airy, cheerful and beautifully decorated with Mexican crafts and Yucatecan motifs. You feel like you're in the jungle, surrounded by a variety of tropical fruit trees, even though Casa Hamaca is in walking distance to the main plaza, shops and restaurants.

What makes Casa Hamaca even more special are the host, Denis, and his friendly staff. Conversation around the breakfast table with Denis and the other guests was a lot of fun; we got helpful tips about the sights around town, and learned a bit about local culture. And I can't forget to mention the delicious breakfast spread; my family is still talking about how good the cooking was!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aesoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Casa Hamaca for 2 nights while we (husband and 2 sons ages 11 and 14) explored Ek Balam and Valladolid. We stayed in the Selva suite and were extremely happy. The boys loved having a hammock in the room, having a large area adjacent to the bathroom apart from the bedroom was very convenient for getting ready each day. The food at breakfast was excellent and the company of travelers from all over the world was incomparable for their words of advice and opinions. Casa Hamaca's location makes it easy to explore the city on foot. Valladolid is so charming, we look forward to our next visit and to staying with Denis at Casa Hamaca again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horseyib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent 5 nights at Casa Hamaca in late December--and could not have been more satisfied. Put it this way: we spent a week in Tulum after--and, every day, I longed to be back at Denis's. It was impeccable, gracious, fun--a real home away from home. Denis's staff are the best--and really act as a wonderful family, welcoming you and anticipating your every need. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red Suite, on the second floor--which was spacious, clean, airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisLarsen, Owner at Casa Hamaca Guesthouse, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank your for the great review. We all enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

When I drove into the small parking lot, I realized that I was in a different kind of hotel. There were two young staff members who immediately appeared to guide me into a parking place and then assisted myself and my family with the luggage to the lobby. I was never disappointed. I have this romanticized image of finding a hotel with interesting things in the lobby and interesting people coming and going and I found it at the Casa Hamaca. Denis Larsen is a gracious and knowledgeable host and even though I had originally booked this hotel in Valladolid for the express purpose of rising early to get to Chichen Itza before the Cancun tourist busses, we lingered over an exceptional breakfast and more conversation and finally got away mid-morning. It was reminiscent of some of the encounters of Stephens and Catherwood from their journeys through Yucatan and Guatemala in the 1840's. You should stay here just for the experience of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are unique and all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Marlene
Casa Marlene
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hamaca Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hamaca Guesthouse

Property: Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Address: Col. San Juan | Calle 49 # 202 - A x 40, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Hamaca Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse: Bed, Breakfast & Healing Center...a unique Mayan experience. You are welcomed as an honored guest rather than just another number. From the food to the decor to the gardens to the healing sessions, your experience will have authenticity, harmony and balance. Explore the jungle-like gardens, lounge in a hammock, discover original murals, wait for an elusive alux to make an appearance. Discover the magic of Casa Hamaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Hamaca Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing