We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Mayan sites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 24 Valladolid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location - near to the centre of the pretty town and has on-site parking. Its really convenient for Chichen Itza and Ek Balam as well as a few cenotes. Our room was a good size, the bathroom was lovely and the air conditioning very efficient!

Our experience was more of a small hotel than a guesthouse. Denis wasn't there when we stayed, the staff were perfectly friendly but there was no one there to ask advice and it felt a little impersonal.

Our first night was difficult as we found 3 cockroaches in our room. We know this can be an issue everywhere but we stayed in 4 B&Bs/hotels in total in Mexico but only here did we have a big issue with it. The hotel seem to realise this as we discovered later they provide covers for the drains but would do well to warn guests to use them! It was horrible.

The breakfast was also not great. Fruit and pastries were left outside uncovered in the morning and the milk for my tea had gone off. The cooked food was a bit odd so we avoided after our first day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDshortbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisLarsen, Owner at Casa Hamaca Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. We always look for both positive and negative feedback from our guests and attempt to make changes where possible. I am sorry that I was not in Mexico during your visit. Usually I read glowing reviews regarding visits when I am traveling once a year and was surprised and concerned when I read your review.
We have noted your comments about sweet rolls, fruit and milk and have taken action to address that issue.
Regarding the insects, we are in the tropics and there are insects in the tropics. It is a delicate balance between spraying with pesticides (and killing the good with the bad) or protecting the good insects (butterflies and bees), the hummingbirds and the geckos. We generally do a thorough interior application of insecticide at least twice a year during slack periods. We use no pesticides exteriorly because the last time we did, with promises that only the bad insects will be harmed, it took over six months for all the birds,bees, butterflies and geckos to repopulate our garden. May is our hottest month and a lot of insects are on the move. The week after your visit, during our slack period, the house was fumigated.
Frankly, I am very surprised regarding your comments about the quality of our breakfast menu. I have personally tasted and approved every item on our menu and I eat from the same menu everyday. I understand you and your wife did not eat anything from the extensive breakfast menu except the “hot cakes” and you were unhappy with them. Perhaps you did not read the menu to see that the “hot cakes” are made with just two ingredients: ripe bananas and eggs. Gluten-free with no flour or wheat products. And served with home-made mango marmalade or local honey. It is one of my favorite breakfasts and one that I have never heard complaints about until yours.
From viewing your other travels in the Yucatan peninsula via your reviews on TripAdvisor, you might be more comfortable in larger cities and tourist areas. Best wishes.
Denis Larsen,
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

A nicely located b&b just a short walking distance away from the center of Valladolid. Rooms are quite basic but clean, spacious and nice overall and the shower had a decent water pressure. Only the mattress of the bed was too soft for someone like me who has back problems. So if you're planning to stay several nights, take that into consideration if you have to. And one downside in the rooms: they didn't have a safe! Which from my opinion is really a downside and I'd suggest they should gain them.

Also, all the rooms are located around a "central square" of the house (in two floors) where there's a big dining table at the center. So if you'd like more privacy and a more quiet room, request a room from the 2nd floor (like we did)! If there's people hanging around on the "square" the noise and talking can definitely be heard into the 1st floor rooms. They also sometimes serve the breakfast over there, if it's served indoors, so it can get a bit noisy in the morning. The breakfast was OK, but a bit modest (except on Sunday). Would have liked that there would've been a bit more choices from which to choose from. The owner was a nice, older guy who tried to be helpful but unfortunately wasn't that helpful. We tried to ask him about bus timetables, routes, taxis to Coba etc. and he seemed to have absolutely no idea. Just would've thought that someone keeping a b&b would know at least something about things like these.

The place itself has a nice atmosphere, the staff was friendly (mostly Spanish speaking), and the house was big. They also have a pool at the backyard which we didn't try but I it looked very nice and clean, too.

Overall this place has a good value for your money as it's moderately priced and it's basically very OK. Also the location is very good. And with some minor improvements it could be even better. Anyway this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Request for a room from the 2nd floor, if you want it to be more quiet and to have more privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizarreGlobeHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We recently stayed for two nights at Casa Hamaca. We had already been to Merida for 10 days and were fairly familiar with the area and things to do. We wanted to stay in Valladolid in order to visit another colonial city and to have a quality visit to Ek Balam. The B&B is very easy to find in a pleasant and quiet area of town within easy walking distance to the central plaza and many restaurants. Our room was very nice and spotlessly clean as was the rest of the property. The staff was ready to help us in any way possible and we enjoyed each afternoon relaxing by the small pool in the lounge chairs.

Dennis is the best kind of host. Always ready with a restaurant, activity, and shop recommendation. He provided us with ideas of what to do in town and provided a discount card for one of the nicest shops in town. We were there in the slower season so there were no other guests and so we had Dennis to ourselves and he joined us for breakfast each morning. We had great conversations about the area and current events. The included breakfast was very good with fresh fruit and many entree choices. There is coffee available every day at 6:30!

I would highly recommend Casa Hamaca for it's great location within walking distance to the center of town, the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms and common areas, the yummy breakfast, and the host, Dennis. Much better than staying in a hotel! The place to stay while in Valladolid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Dennis is a very kind host; very informative and is pleasant to answer all our questions. He has done an extra mile to take us to the market and showed us around. I would mostly recommend the place to begin with one's travel, as it is a good starting point to acclimatize after a long flight. Hustle-free, great breakfast in a nice and cool terrace, a pool, a hammock and a garden! Very relaxing!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My family and I stayed here for two nights in late March and had a perfect experience at Casa Hamaca. Dennis is a great host, is very knowledgeable about the area, and will spend all the time you need to assure you have a great stay. Our room, the Colonial Suite, was perfect for our family of four - spacious, nice bathroom, and hammock. The included breakfasts are incredible and a great way to start your day. Dennis also was very helpful in lining up taxis as needed and for dinner recommendations. The grounds were beautiful. Would not consider any other accommodations in Valladolid the next visit there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3puttcutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a delightful place to stay. The owner, Dennis is very informative and looks after his guests very well. He is a true gentleman. At breakfast each day (and unfortunately we were only there for two nights) he makes a point of talking to guests and gives advice on what to see and is extremely knowledgeable. His staff are all very helpful and can't do enough for you. The grounds are beautiful and worth a visit in their own right. Our room was spacious and had both air conditioning and fans. Each room has its own hammock - hence the name. I can thoroughly recommend Casa Hamaca

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadicnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We only stayed one night on a quick trip to the area, but Dennis gave us great advice to maximize the sites that we were able to see. The grounds are beautiful and the inn is decorated uniquely. The breakfast was fantastic - I enjoyed the Juevos de Hamaca and my boyfriend loved the enchiladas suizas - very creamy sauce. Dennis and his staff found a taxi driver that was willing to drive us to Chichen Itza and Ek Balam, and wait for us while we toured around, for a reasonable fee. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,434 reviews
0.6 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
562 reviews
1 mi away
Ecotel Quinta Regia
Ecotel Quinta Regia
#9 of 15 in Valladolid
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hamaca Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hamaca Guesthouse

Address: Col. San Juan | Calle 49 # 202 - A x 40, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Valladolid
Price Range: £47 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Hamaca Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse: Bed, Breakfast & Healing Center...a unique Mayan experience. You are welcomed as an honored guest rather than just another number. From the food to the decor to the gardens to the healing sessions, your experience will have authenticity, harmony and balance. Explore the jungle-like gardens, lounge in a hammock, discover original murals, wait for an elusive alux to make an appearance. Discover the magic of Casa Hamaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Hamaca Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing