We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Destination in Itself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 20 Valladolid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Destination in Itself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at Casa Hamaca Guesthouse. The minute we arrived, Denis welcomed us and invited us to see the opening of a hive of stingless honey bees that he is raising on his property. How very interesting! That was the beginning of a lovely 2 days spent at Casa Hamaca. Denis is a genuine, kind and intelligent host. He truly cares about Valladolid and the Mayan community. This is made clear by his efforts to create a local library and by the kindness he shows to his wonderful staff. We were honored to meet and provide a despensa to 2 local Mayan families in need....something the was very moving and that I will never forget. I loved sitting on the front porch that overlooks his beautiful garden in his little slice of the jungle. We had many nice conversations with Denis there and shared 2 delicious breakfasts with him. The guesthouse is beautiful with so many interesting art pieces and artifacts that Denis has collected over the years. We stayed in the Chac Na (Red Suite) and it was clean and comfy. I only wish that we would have arranged our trip to include more time at Casa Hamaca. Thank you again, Denis for a memorable stay at your beautiful guesthouse. We hope to come back soon.
Stacie

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WldMdSwngz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    49
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
163
309
24
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I wanted to see the nearby ruins of Ek Balám before it became the new Chichen Itzá. We chose Valladolid as a great location and Casa Hamaca as our home away from home. It was a great choice. Loved it there for four days. Denis, our host, seems to know this area of México as well as he does his roots in the Midwest. His gardens at Casa Hamaca are so pretty. Feels like a small jungle. His rooms are well decorated in the Maya style and very comfortable. His staff is top notch.
Hello to Luis and Jenny especially. You can't go wrong with Casa Hamaca. Thanks, Denis! Sorry so slow to write this review.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The property is absolutely beautiful; it is conveniently located close to the center of town with a small park where local children play. Our room was large with a clean bathroom. The breakfasts were hardy and delicious.

We greatly appreciated the time Denis took to make us feel so at home and the wealth of information he shared. He took us to the Mercado to shop, and we had the honor of giving a dispensa to a Mayan family in need. These are experiences we will never forget which made Casa Hamaca and Valladolid places we want to visit again and again. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

I highly recommend Casa Hamaca Guesthouse.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damtaxmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Beautifully decorated house in a lush tropical garden close to the city centre (5 min walk to the main square). The rooms were clean and very comfortable! The staff were very attentive and we enjoyed the breakfast and lunches we had there. Denis was a great host and was incredibly helpful in giving us tips of where to go etc. would definitely come back here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nimski70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were only here for one night but loved the atmosphere and location, just a short walk from the main square. The gardens were beautiful and gave the hotel a secluded feel despite being so close to bustling parts of the town. Our room was large, bed was comfy and despite being off the main hall was very quiet. Breakfast was the best I've had since I arrived in Mexico - I opted for the omelette. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely recommend Casa Hamaca if you're planning a trip to Valladolid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrypje284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location - near to the centre of the pretty town and has on-site parking. Its really convenient for Chichen Itza and Ek Balam as well as a few cenotes. Our room was a good size, the bathroom was lovely and the air conditioning very efficient!

Our experience was more of a small hotel than a guesthouse. Denis wasn't there when we stayed, the staff were perfectly friendly but there was no one there to ask advice and it felt a little impersonal.

Our first night was difficult as we found 3 cockroaches in our room. We know this can be an issue everywhere but we stayed in 4 B&Bs/hotels in total in Mexico but only here did we have a big issue with it. The hotel seem to realise this as we discovered later they provide covers for the drains but would do well to warn guests to use them! It was horrible.

The breakfast was also not great. Fruit and pastries were left outside uncovered in the morning and the milk for my tea had gone off. The cooked food was a bit odd so we avoided after our first day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDshortbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisLarsen, Owner at Casa Hamaca Guesthouse, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. We always look for both positive and negative feedback from our guests and attempt to make changes where possible. I am sorry that I was not in Mexico during your visit. Usually I read glowing reviews regarding visits when I am traveling once a year and was surprised and concerned when I read your review.
We have noted your comments about sweet rolls, fruit and milk and have taken action to address that issue.
Regarding the insects, we are in the tropics and there are insects in the tropics. It is a delicate balance between spraying with pesticides (and killing the good with the bad) or protecting the good insects (butterflies and bees), the hummingbirds and the geckos. We generally do a thorough interior application of insecticide at least twice a year during slack periods. We use no pesticides exteriorly because the last time we did, with promises that only the bad insects will be harmed, it took over six months for all the birds,bees, butterflies and geckos to repopulate our garden. May is our hottest month and a lot of insects are on the move. The week after your visit, during our slack period, the house was fumigated.
Frankly, I am very surprised regarding your comments about the quality of our breakfast menu. I have personally tasted and approved every item on our menu and I eat from the same menu everyday. I understand you and your wife did not eat anything from the extensive breakfast menu except the “hot cakes” and you were unhappy with them. Perhaps you did not read the menu to see that the “hot cakes” are made with just two ingredients: ripe bananas and eggs. Gluten-free with no flour or wheat products. And served with home-made mango marmalade or local honey. It is one of my favorite breakfasts and one that I have never heard complaints about until yours.
From viewing your other travels in the Yucatan peninsula via your reviews on TripAdvisor, you might be more comfortable in larger cities and tourist areas. Best wishes.
Denis Larsen,
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

A nicely located b&b just a short walking distance away from the center of Valladolid. Rooms are quite basic but clean, spacious and nice overall and the shower had a decent water pressure. Only the mattress of the bed was too soft for someone like me who has back problems. So if you're planning to stay several nights, take that into consideration if you have to. And one downside in the rooms: they didn't have a safe! Which from my opinion is really a downside and I'd suggest they should gain them.

Also, all the rooms are located around a "central square" of the house (in two floors) where there's a big dining table at the center. So if you'd like more privacy and a more quiet room, request a room from the 2nd floor (like we did)! If there's people hanging around on the "square" the noise and talking can definitely be heard into the 1st floor rooms. They also sometimes serve the breakfast over there, if it's served indoors, so it can get a bit noisy in the morning. The breakfast was OK, but a bit modest (except on Sunday). Would have liked that there would've been a bit more choices from which to choose from. The owner was a nice, older guy who tried to be helpful but unfortunately wasn't that helpful. We tried to ask him about bus timetables, routes, taxis to Coba etc. and he seemed to have absolutely no idea. Just would've thought that someone keeping a b&b would know at least something about things like these.

The place itself has a nice atmosphere, the staff was friendly (mostly Spanish speaking), and the house was big. They also have a pool at the backyard which we didn't try but I it looked very nice and clean, too.

Overall this place has a good value for your money as it's moderately priced and it's basically very OK. Also the location is very good. And with some minor improvements it could be even better. Anyway this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Request for a room from the 2nd floor, if you want it to be more quiet and to have more privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizarreGlobeHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Marlene
Casa Marlene
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hamaca Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hamaca Guesthouse

Property: Casa Hamaca Guesthouse
Address: Col. San Juan | Calle 49 # 202 - A x 40, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Hamaca Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse: Bed, Breakfast & Healing Center...a unique Mayan experience. You are welcomed as an honored guest rather than just another number. From the food to the decor to the gardens to the healing sessions, your experience will have authenticity, harmony and balance. Explore the jungle-like gardens, lounge in a hammock, discover original murals, wait for an elusive alux to make an appearance. Discover the magic of Casa Hamaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Hamaca Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Hamaca Guesthouse Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing