We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
14
14
13
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
14
13
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice poolchapelvillahaciendatown
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2009

I went to Mexico with my husband, 3-year-old son and my mother. We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Hacienda Sanchez. There weren't many other guests so it was very quiet and we felt like we had the place to ourselves. We rented a little guest house and everything was very clean and comfortable. The grounds of the hotel were perfect with a little one so we had some space outside to play and a porch to sit on.

The food was delicious and more authentic style mexican food so it was fun to try some new dishes.The staff (although only spanish speaking-one guy knew a little english and we had a fun time trying to communicate) was extremely accommodating and friendly. The town was very interesting and although after Cancun's over-development was a bit of a shock, we soon got to see what other parts of Mexico were really about. The Cenote in town was very beautiful and well worth the visit, especially to see the eyeless fish!!!

I don't think someone wanting the 5-star all-inclusive fantasy type of travel would be happy but as someone who has travelled extensively including camping and hostelling to five-star, this was a great mid-range, budget friendly stay!
We really enjoyed ourselves and wish we had a more time to spend here for the sheer relaxation value and a chance to see Mexico beyond the Florida-like Cancun.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlustOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

I don't think the hotel Hacienda Sanchez was ever a real hacienda, but it does a very good job of imitating one with three floor of rooms and single suites surrounding a traditional-looking garden/patio. If it weren't for the heat and the mosquitoes, it'd be a great place to hang out. The hotel also has a very nice pool, including a kiddie pool. When we were there, nobody else was using it.

The rooms were a bit on the plain side, but very clean. There was lots of water pressure and the necessary toiletries. A/C but not a fan or a fridge. My one complaint, however, would be that they don't use fitted sheets on the beds, so they come undone at night.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant (we were the only ones there), and the food was great and the service unparalleled.

I wish we would have had a reason to stay more than one night in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soyyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We planned on staying in a hotel near the center of town but due to the noise and dust of on-going road contruction around and in the Valladolid plaza we opted to search for a room a bit further from the center. I had done some research and had a couple of hotels in mind to begin our search.
Fortunately, we were able to get a room at Hacienda Sanchez. We met a friendly receptionist who gave us a clean, simple room with 2 double beds, a bottle of water, towels, soap.
We went out for dinner, and upon our return we discovered that the room next door was rented to people having a small social gathering, complete with wailing children, and loud music. The lovely receptionist moved us immediately into another room on the second floor where we were able to enjoy the quiet and sleep through the whole night. We were the only guests staying on the 2nd floor. It cost $40 to rent the room on site, but I noticed before I left that we could have rented it for $33 on line. We would have reserved on line if we had known how noisy and uninviting the construction upheaval had made the town center.
It is maybe 6 blocks to the center, but the convenience of a restaurant on site for dinner and breakfast was nice. We also enjoyed shopping in the huge Mega Supermarket right behind the hotel for pastries and fruit in the morning, before our road trip to Chitzen Itza. Another bonus of this hotel, is that it is right at the exit to get onto the Cuota Road that goes into Chitzen Itza, so we just got up, got some road snacks at the supermarket and were on the road in minutes. The very nice employees were also a plus for this place.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VegLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews