We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of Toby's Restaurant

Toby's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Xcalak
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
Restaurant details
North Captiva Island, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

One of the best meals ever...not exaggerating! Toby's (our chef) met us at the door tired, wet ,and weary from a boat trip from San Pedro. We were the only people there at 3:30 in the afternoon. He opened his kitchen, made us welcome, and brought cold beer and soda. Then we ordered the Day's Special which was Coconut Battered Lion Fish! Delicious! Just scrumptious! Gourmet Caribbean treat! He also prepared the whole snapper which was done to perfection served with fresh lime, avocado, fresh tomato, and butter lettuce. ( the choice was grilled in butter, grilled with garlic, or lightly pa fried which I had and which was "bone sucking good). The chef then personally invited us to a Saturday evening gathering for friends with appetizers and drinks gratis to celebrate his re opening for the season. The best dining experience in the lovely quaint and friendly Xcalak.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zeaglegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    34
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not enjoyable for us, unfortunately”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I very much respect that other people might have nice experiences here, but unfortunately we did not enjoy our dinner here so much. It's a very "simple" kind of restaurant of course, I understand that, so we have nothing to complain on the service and the location. I had the coconut shrimp which I did not enjoy at all - just deep fried shrimps with a lot of coconut flakes on them - way to sweet for my taste. My husband had also had grilled scampi, which were better than the coconut ones but just very plain. A plate with 6-8 fried shrimps and nothing else. Perhaps it would have been more enjoyable for us if we had chosen some other dishes, like meat or tacos or something.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Nice casual place to hang out for beers. Taco night seemed very popular, but nothing for the vegetarian crowd.

Fun customers and staff and great wi fi connection.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriascrimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Service & Food Xcalak”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

It is on the main street in this small town, and you can sit there and watch the locals (and expats) walk by.

When we got there, I asked our server, who's Toby? and he says "I'm Toby!" He proceeded to take our order, and didn't take too long to get our food. It is basically a casual, open air restaurant (to the front) with no real views except out to the street. The service is very friendly and the menu small and manageable. We had fried shrimp with coconut and chicken (a la plancha).

There is a lot of diving and scuba going on, my family and I were only there for the day, coming an hour up north from Majahual.

The street and cars going by are dusty, but drench the dust with some cold brews. Don't expect too much, and you will be fine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rcastrojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamosa, CO
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sloow”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Perfectly adequate fish tacos, but its right on main street (such as it is) with no real view, and took forever to get a couple fish tacos

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KangarooRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby's Restaurant also viewed

 
Xcalak, Costa Maya
 

Been to Toby's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing