We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sin Duda Villas
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Xcalak
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
K'ay Kook(Mahahual)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
346
13
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
13
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmargo ritashappy hourother guestsyogurtwonderful hostsshared kitchenfishocean roomleaky palapagreat conversationget awayget togetherevery eveningcoral headshappy placeeagle rayfood truck
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed the first time here for a week in March 2012 and had a wonderful relaxing time. We left and moved farther up the coast staying at three other places for two weeks. Then we realized that we were not going to find another place like Sin Duda, so cantacted Margo and asked what the chances were of us getting back in for a week in April. With less than a week's notice she gave us our old room back and we had an even better time than we did the first week.
This is the most relaxing friendly place I believe that my wife and I along with our dog have ever stayed. As for the dog, she has been very welcome here and gets along great with the three resident corgis who are very tplerant of her invading their space.
We have made friends with most of the other clientel who are looking for the same things as we are, namely quiet, swimming, snorkling, sunning and good conversations. There is also awesome fishing for those that enjoy it. Snorkle gear, kayaks and bicycles are provided for those who like to do those sports.
There are great get togethers most evenings in the owner's apartment with stimulating Margoritas and stimulating discussions on many varied topics sure to get everyone involved. Robert also does a illuminating star orientation lecture on the roof when the skies are clear.
We loved our two one week stays this year so much that we are booked in for a month in March 2013 (Mayan end of the calendar permitting). lol !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThunderBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed at Sin Duda for seven glorious days this past April and will definitely be back. Xcalak is an amazing little village and Sin Duda makes for the perfect landing pad. There are several loaded coral reefs directly in front of the hotel where you might spot a parrot fish, puffer fish (or was it a trunk fish?), octopus, barracuda, or sea turtle in amongst the butterfly fish, squirrel fish, fair basslets, sergent majors, angel fish, blue tang, and more. As written here in many previous posts, the Margoritas are great and POTENT, which I’m sure contributes to the lively conversation in the evenings. And, oh boy, did we all enjoy those!

The rooms are comfortable, breezy, and there is hot water and WiFi (be conservative with both). The shared kitchen is well-equipped and a great place to make new friends. The beach is lovely. The hosts are friendly and helpful (and a hoot). Xcalak offers great fly fishing, diving, snorkeling, and food (although the town’s best restaurant is only open seasonally and on weekends). While the 20 minute bumpy ride in from town may be a bit of a deterrent for some, those that are really looking to get away from it all know that a bumpy road is the first step to finding a great treasure that few others will ever experience!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I don't know what has taken me so long to write this review, but our visit to Sin Duda was one of the best holidays my husband and I ever went on. It is truly remote, relaxing, and away from it all. However, I must say it is not a place for everyone. It is eco-luxury, not 5-star luxury. You cook your own food, get your own beers, and you provide your own entertainment. They have kayaks and other games around, but this is a spot where you get away from it all in a true paradise. The drive is long but worth it and only adds to the experience. The rooms are great and have everything you need. The beach is breathtaking and the water is crystal clear. I would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saiyingpun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

You cant even begin to picture what a beautiful and relaxing time one is capable of at this out of the way( but not really) piece of paradise. The drive may seem long at 5 hours, but, having made the trip many times, that's half the fun. On the way, local vendors and small towns showcase the charm of the unseen piece of this turista corridor. Lizards/birds/butterflies and snakes come across your path at regular intervals , so be careful! You enter the small village wondering what you have got yourself into, but the smiles and waves from the people ensure you are a welcome addition. Upon arriving to your destination, an unexpectedly warm and authentic welcome is brought to you by the owners and caretakers of the property, Margo and Robert. Margo-ritas ease you into a sense of togetherness as the waves crash over the close by reef of life sustaining coral. It really is only 30 seconds out to an amazing array of undersea life! Sting rays, angelfish and too many others to count( Robert knows them all by a simple description) make for a wonderful daily snorkel. To be honest, there is not a lot expected of you as a guest and that's a good thing! Spend the time as you wish. In nature, with good company, and understanding why you are there in the first place. To unplug and listen to what is around you. I continue to visit ( 3 times in a year!) and have become smitten with the love and appreciation of the surroundings shared by the owners. You just have to take a chance and say why not?

Room Tip: Always see if you can get something on the beach side of the building. Because....heck it's a view of the Caribbean! And the cross breezes at night are so nice( good design Mr.Architect Schneider)
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filmguyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Sin Duda's location is fantastic ... if you like remote, peaceful and the fun of driving down an extremely bumpy dirt road. Luckily, we did. All part of the experience! We were given a choice of rooms, one on the ground floor which meant we could get up and walk straight out to the beach, or one on the first floor, with beautiful views of the sea. We opted for the latter, a pleasantly and quirkily decorated room, with plenty of books, ceiling fan, and small bathroom w/ shower. While we were promised hot water, in six nights we only had one warm shower ... admittedly we only raised this once and were told "it should be working". I suppose when you're undressed and under cold water, you can't be bothered to go and make a fuss. Not a massive deal, but a little trying. The fan in the room was on a timer, an hour a go, and we were sweltering during the evenings, and kept waking up to reset it ... It's an 'eco' place, and our first, so not too sure if this is normal or not. Felt a little harsh, but we opened the balcony door and room windows for a lovely sea breeze. Could be worse!

The shared kitchen was a nice room, well stocked with pots, pans, glasses, crockery etc, and again lots of books - it felt very homely. Robert mentioned they turned off the refrigerator in the evening to save electricity - fair enough, but what about the fresh food in there that goes off rather quickly? Fortunately for us, we only lost strawberries, which is all we had in there.

There is Wifi which comes on around 8am ish and off at 8pm ish, again not a huge deal and fairly refreshing to pull yourself away from a computer now and again. We were asked on a few occasions by their house sitter if we were downloading anything as "we're down to 30%" and that she was trying to "find out who's using all the wifi" which was a little odd ... we did feel quite guilty despite not downloading a thing all week!

Margo and Robert are very welcoming hosts, and they took their time walking us around the property and explaining how everything works, and giving us great tips about things to see and do locally. Margaritas when we arrived were greatly appreciated, as were the way they were very accommodating to our dog, Dolly, who was more or less free to roam around as long as she was well behaved. We really appreciated that.

All in all, a wonderful place, with great hosts, and a fantastic location. A couple of things to be improved, but no one, or nowhere is perfect. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews