We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sin Duda Villas
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Xcalak
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
K'ay Kook(Mahahual)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
339
13
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
13
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmargo ritashappy hourother guestsyogurtwonderful hostsshared kitchenfishocean roomleaky palapagreat conversationget awayget togetherevery eveningcoral headshappy placeeagle rayfood truck
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Sin Duda a few weeks ago. We enjoy getting away from the crowds and like to have a "unique" experience when we travel. Sin Duda fit the bill. After spending much time in Tulum over the years, though still beautiful, it has gotten "bigger." We wanted a change so we tried Xcalak. What a great change it was. Lesley and David are wonderful hosts at Sin Duda. The grounds are well kept, the rooms comfortable, and the margaritas are strong! What truly makes it wonderful though, is the ability to get to interact with the guests and hosts during the day and especially during margarita hour. The intimate feel of the whole experience is quite magical. Sin Duda is NOT for everyone. If you want big night life and the all inclusive atmosphere, please do not show up. If you love being in or on the water, enjoy some solitude and like a "funky, cool" vibe, then this may be the place for you. A very unique experience...we shall tell you about our trip there next year. Just don't take my reservation please.........

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeppiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My new wife and I had a fantastic time at Sin Duda on our honeymoon. Dave and Lesley ate great, and the Sin Duda property is unique and inspiring. The snorkeling right off the beach is amazing. We also when diving, flyfishing for bonefish, down to Belize on a boat...Tons to do, or nothing - your choice!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

That's the dilemma about Sin Duda. Tell people, and we may not get a booking next time. Don't tell people, and it's not fair on Lesley and David - the wonderful, laid-back, margherita-making hosts. So, after much deliberation, here goes.

If Cancun is a shock, don't worry, Sin Duda Villas is the absolute opposite of the loud, packaged monstrosities that line the beach. It's a long drive (DO follow Lesley's very detailed and completely accurate travel instructions!) but through some amazing places. Try and set off early if you want to make a detour to any of the ruins on the way. Do not think you can ignore the advice to drive after dark. The last stretch is a sandy road, battered by some heavy rains when we got there. Stock up on food and drink at the Chedraui supermarket in Tulum, and you never have to leave the villas!

But when you get to the villas in Xcalac, you are welcomed into a special place just as if you were being welcomed into someone's home. And indeed it is. Lesley and David have their flat on the ground floor, and they are always there to help, answer questions, and even lead impromptu snorkel tours of the pristine reef. Their two friendly dogs and a cat are there to greet you too.

The beach is there, yes, just there. You wade in through a path cleared in the sea grass (before the area was declared a nature reserve) then over a small ridge and you are in a glorious protected reef. Kayaks are available, as are rash suits, masks, fins and snorkels. There are big shoals of fish, and a large moray eel under coral around 100 feet from the beach. If you want to snorkel, fall out of your room, get your kit on and you're there!

The rooms are clean and well-designed. We packed a lot of people in our room (Bailando), which had its own kitchen and dining area and didn't fall over each other thanks to a cleverly designed bed that folds up into the wall. I was really impressed by the (real, not token) commitment to the environment. And the fresh granola (made with freshly grated coconut) that's provided for breakfast (with local yoghurt) is to die for (Lesley, can you start selling it in the UK? I would buy it!). There's a communal kitchen on the first floor, so you can eat there if you don't have a kitchen or just want to be sociable.

And then there are the "Margoritas", named after the original owner. At sundown, most nights, (and certainly on arrival), Lesley brings (lethal, but oh so delicious) cocktails. It's a time to chat, meet the other guests, watch the sunset, and just relish the peace and beauty of the place.

But if you want activity, there's scuba diving (XTC recommended), restaurants nearby (Costa de Cocos do great pizzas, the Leaky Palapa is a surprise - real gournet cooking in such a remote location - but book. There are not open early in the week.), and Captain Jose took us fly-fishing for bonefish. It's a long slog back to the main road, but you can also do a great trip to the beautiful Mayan ruins of Chacchoben and others. You can also head back to the lagoon and grab one of the kayaks there and set out on an explore.

So to sum up - if you love special places with special people and a special history (ask about the design of the villas, the rain collection system and the local staff who have been there since the beginning), then go, stay and enjoy. If you want plastic luxury, bars and excitement, forget everything I've said. Lesley and David - thank you. And we'll be back....

Room Tip: They are all wonderful. Bailando is good for a family or group. Upstairs rooms use the lovely communal kitchen.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manxman_Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We are newly weds and got married on the Pacific side of Mexico and decided to go "off the grid" and totally relax for part of our honeymoon to an area we had both never been before. Sin Duda offered the perfect place to relax, read, snorkel, kayak, and just take in the amazing view of the crystal clear ocean water from the palapas on the private beach. The rooms were clean and cozy and the yogurt and homemade granola were delicious every morning. Dave and Lesley were such generous and friendly hosts that made us feel very welcomed and special during our honeymoon stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I've been around, but Sin Duda is the most beautiful, peaceful get-away-from-it-all spot yet. Imaginative, architect-designed Mayan style self-contained apartments nestled under coconut palms and bougainvilia right in the beach. An almost constant gentle on-shore breeze and sun fill every day as one relaxes under the private Palapas. Very laid back: drinks at sundown on the beach, or do your own thing. Swim, snorkel, kayak, visit native restaurants, or take in Mayan ruins. Plus the friendliest, most thoughtful hosts, Dave and Leslie. If you've been looking for that special, no-pressure getaway, give them a call.

Room Tip: Units are all wonderfully different. Ask Dave or Lesley for the layout.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews