We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed an extra 3 days...”
Review of Sin Duda Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Xcalak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sin Duda Villas
Ranked #1 of 4 Xcalak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stayed an extra 3 days...”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We extended our stay at SinDuda by three days because Lesley and Dave have the unique ability to create a welcome that makes you feel right at home even though you might be on the other side of the world. From the first ‘hi there, can I help you with your bags’, to the ‘I’m so sorry but we’ve had to upgrade you to a suite’ which fits oh so nicely with the ‘anyone for Margeritas?’, there is a friendly unobtrusive charm about the place.

The beachfront offers a superb selection of palapas and sunbeds from which to view the blue blue horizon and forget whatever it was that you wanted to forget that caused you to go on holiday in the first place. In between arriving and departing there was fly fishing with Caption Jose (a must if you like that sort of thing), snorkeling the coral heads directly infront (with a personal introduction to the octopus and moray eel), margeritas, beach BBQ, margeritas, reading, trips to the village and purchasing delicious local food items from the trucks that ply their trade along the coast. I strongly suggest you check out and LIKE the SinDuda Facebook page before you come in order to catch the vibe. Most guests there were repeats – which only goes to show that if you find somewhere good, then you’ll go back time and time again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
165
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honesdale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We hated to leave this lovely and relaxing place! Sin Duda Villas was a very special place - Dave and Lesley friendly and helpful host/owners serving some killer Margaritas, too! The apartment we stayed in was clean, roomy, airy and beautifully decorated. Beds were comfortable and beachfront hammocks, chairs and palapa-shaded lounges offered great reading and lounging spots. The snorkeling right from the beach was excellent. Daily visits from locals selling fruits, vegetables, prepared meals, etc plus several very good restaurants in town. Nicely undeveloped and quiet area, worth the drive! Wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Others have raved about Sin Duda Villas, and they're right.

It's a beautiful small hotel right on the beach with lovely owners in Lesley and Dave. The rooms are extremely comfortable and well furnished with Mexican crafts. We were in the ground-floor Bailando guest apartment with kitchen, living room and bedroom, and everything was provided to make our stay easy. We loved doing our own cooking, and while we brought basics from the supermarket in Tulum, our supplies were amply replenished by the trucks bringing fresh produce up the road.

One note: Ignore the three-year-old reviews saying the beds are uncomfortable. They must have got new ones, because the beds were very comfortable both in our room and in the nearby Patio Guest Room where our son and his girlfriend were staying, as well as in the upstairs Ocean guestroom where a friend bunked in. Tastes differ, but they struck me as completely normal hotel beds, which does us fine.

We had a fabulous time, but rather than repeating what everyone else says, I'll make an individual note that may help some people. My husband is disabled, largely in a wheelchair, and it all worked brilliantly. It's a long drive from Cancun, and the last half hour on the potholed sand road to the hotel was, hmmm, interesting. Be prepared.

But once we were there, Lesley's margaritas in hand, my husband found he could manage very well. We'd inquired beforehand about accessibility, and Lesley had very kindly emailed a special series of photographs of entrances to the room, the bathroom etc. Seeing them, we thought it would work and it did. There's one small step from the road into the ground-floor rooms, but that just meant a half-second's help with the chair. Inside the room is level, and while there aren't grab bars in the bathroom, he could sit in his walker to shower. From the apartment to the patio is also pretty level, just some bumps over the sliding door apparatus, so he could be independent. And the sand is firm enough that we could get the wheelchair down to the palapas, which aren't far away.

I should add a caveat. If you're disabled and worried about traveling, you might want to stick to accessible all-inclusives. Well, if you're worried, period, that's probably true. But we've always done tons of traveling, much of it to challenging places, and it's been a drag with my husband's recent disability to have to step back. That made it lovely for us to find Sin Duda, a place with real atmosphere where he could have a relaxing time on the patio or the beach while the rest of snorkeled, kayaked, swam etc. And Lesley and Dave were always remarkably relaxed and helpful.

A final disability note: the Chacchoben pyramid site near Limones can be navigated happily in a wheelchair (going around some tree roots) and the birds and monkeys are lovely on the site. As well, The Leaky Palapa restaurant in Xcalak is fully accessible, and serves amazing food.

We'll go back, as will our friend. Can't wait!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I had the opportunity to spend eight days at Sin Duda Villas this year, which quickly became one of my most memorable vacation experiences. We arrived in the evening and was warmly greeted by Dave and Lesley with welcoming hospitality and "Margo-ritas." In addition to the warm environment and gracious hosts, there was so much to do and see. During our stay we past the time with kayaking in the lagoon located at the back of the property, bird watching, relaxing on the beach beneath a palapas, and snorkeling. We were even fortunate enough to have Lesley take us on a guided snorkeling tour, pointing out the amazing ocean life inhabiting the reefs metres from their hotel. Food trucks would arrive regularly and would provide authentic Mexican food and local meat and produce. The accommodations were very clean, comfortable, and made it easy to get settled. So, whether you are wanting a relaxing vacation or looking for an adventure, I highly suggest Sin Duda Villas for your next vacation destination.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I had the pleasure to stay with Dave and Lesley February of this year. This was the tail end of a 15 day vacation in which we spent the last 4 nights in Xcalack. We were immediately greeted by Dave and Leslie. They even came to our car, and helped us pack our luggage up! I don't even get this good of service at the Marriott! Local's stop by often selling anything from Shrimp, Dessert, Tamales, guiding services, ect. and they always let you know when they have arrived. Lesley took us out on the best snorkeling trips I have ever been on. We saw Octopus, Lobster, Lion Fish, Eel's, Rays, Barracuda, and much more! I have snorkeled all over Mexico and Costa Rica paying guides to take us out on boats and have never had the experience that is Sin Duda's front yard. We didn't even get to explore the Lagoon at the back of the property! Lesley and Dave have snacks and refreshments every night in which the guests come down and mingle. When we were visiting they had visitors from Germany, England, Pittsburg, Montana, and Seattle! The accomadations are very clean, comfortable, and up to date. We wish we would have spent more time in Xcalack at Sin Duda then in Akumal and Tulum!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The drive from Xcalak to Sin Duda villas is best done in the daylight but is fine at night, made even better by the Margo-Ritas that Lesley and Dave welcome you with. The place is relaxed and they provide yoghurt and home made granola for breakfast. The amenities allowed us to cook for 7 easily and ranged from chicken mole enchiladas to fresh shrimp purchased from one of the trucks which stop and sell a variety of things - but do your main shop in Tulum. They haves snorkels, fins and skins to use. Take the opportunity to go snorkeling with Lesley and let her introduce you to the moray eel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hay River, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We headed to Mexico after the Christmas rush and Sin Duda provided the perfect setting for a relaxing enjoyable break. We loved our second floor apartment, Querencia that gave us tons of room and a beautiful view of the beach. The homemade granola and yogurt were just the right breakfast to get up to each morning and we continued to enjoy the local food that we were able to purchase from the many local sellers that came by daily. Our hosts, Dave and Lesley were amazing and helped us all ring in the new year with a fabulous party that included all the hotel guests. We found that the days flew by whether we were taking in the wonderful snorkelling directly out from SinDuda or just enjoying our private time on the beach reading. Loved the unique features and can't wait to get back to Sin Duda next winter.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money to stay in the rooms with their own kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonG7155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xcalak
3.9 mi away
Costa de Cocos
Costa de Cocos
#1 of 2 in Xcalak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
20.5 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
28.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel Maya Luna
Hotel Maya Luna
#3 of 23 in Mahahual
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sin Duda Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sin Duda Villas

Property: Sin Duda Villas
Address: Km 8 Xcalak Beach Road, Xcalak, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Xcalak
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Xcalak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at the end of the road on our secluded beach - a respite from the noise and bright lights. Using ecologically responsible technologies and a cheerful perspective to conserve our unique environment, we live through seasons leaving only footprints in the white Caribbean sand. Presenting 8 remarkable spaces designed by the past architect-owner. Sin Duda Villas reflects an appreciation of Mayan simplicity, form and tropical colors. With a bit of whimsy tossed here and there. Peaceful, unique and decidedly rewarding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sin Duda Villas Hotel Xcalak
Sin Duda Villas Xcalak, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing