We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Costa de Cocos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Costa de Cocos
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Xcalak
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

just outstanding ambient with good food. Nice terrace to sit outside, very romantic. We had mainly Pizza which was really good. Friendly staff and good service. Heard from many people that they also prepare the fish you might have catched - even lion fish.
Only little downside - it is not cheap, for Mexican standards expensive - nevertheless worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulcologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    40
    5
    9
    4
See reviews for
21
44
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Had a couple good meals there. Fish dishes, pizzas. Nice view from the deck. Good Sirius music. Great, friendly service by the staff. Good cocktails, beer, wine. Ruben, our waiter was very friendly, with attentive service, spoke good English; good fishing guide.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
421 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Costa de Cocos is a mini-resort at the Southeastern end of the Yucutan Peninsula. You can get to Ambergris Cay, Belize [by boat] in about one hour. The resort has plenty of boats and captains to take you there or to go snorkeling, boating or fishing. Electric power [low voltage] is supplied by solar and wind power with generator backup. We spent three days here and it was breezy and sunny every day - so no noise from the generator was heard. Accommodations are basic but clean and comfortable. Food was very good. If you are looking to be pampered and love glitz and glitter - go elsewhere. If you prefer nature and chilling - come to Xcalak.

Room Tip: All cabins looked very good. There are only 12 cabins.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO., USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Outstanding local staff with exceptional service and attitude towards service. You will feel like a new part of their family. Homemade food is very good and varied. Fishing is the #1 activity with exceptional guides and a world class fishery. Other activities take advantage of the local Xcalak National Reef Park and Chetumal Bay. Accommodations are simple, but clean and comfortable. If you are expecting the Four Seasons or the Hyatt, you won't like it. If you are the sort that can "rough it" a bit, you'll love it. The biodiversity, staff, grounds and service are "5 Stars". While the big box resorts on the Mexican Riviera are only a few hours away, you will feel like they are on another planet. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

This place is a complete joke.
1. There was no hot water, and when we went to the reception they were like sorry, we can't leave the bar! After I made a big fuss, the manager reluctantly came over and it was a 5 mins job to fix it.
2. The hotel is in Mexico and the prices are in US$, it's catered for Americans.
3. They reduced the rate by 20% when we talking to ourself, I guess in the fear of losing a customer. It shows they easily negotiate.
4. They cancelled my dive, cause he could not get enough people.

Respect to those working there as they are hard working Mexican but caught in American money driven attitude.

Just avoid!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank B_adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad F, Public Relations Manager at Costa de Cocos, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
We are very sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your stay. As you mention, we employ local Mexican employees, for whom English is their second language. The person you spoke to was our manager, who was not successful in communicating to you that someone was already correcting the problem with your hot water heater. That is why it appeared as if the problem was corrected so quickly following your conversation with him. The majority of our guests are English speaking from the U.S. and Europe. The manager has indicated the reason our dive boat didn't go out was rough water, as it was very windy. Our dive master was here and ready to go out, but it wasn't safe to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We spent 1 day at the Costa Cocos. On arrival we were a bit disappointed by the fact that there is no beach as you would find most places along the Maya Riviera.

It's well signposted to find your way to the camp from the highway - finding your way back is another thing. The grounds are immaculately kept, a big sandy area. The beach could live with a tad more cleaning up - some debris washed up from the sea is kinda spoiling the vista.

The cottages are clean, functional.

The staff is happy to help and a cheerful bunch. The kitchen is good, prices are fair. Worth mentioning Tarpon Ale - a beer brewed by the owner - real cool stuff!

The big fun for me was snorkelling. The camp has kayaks. You can load your gear, paddle out to one of the buoys between the reef and the camp, tie down the kayak and go snorkel. Boy oh' boy - what a spectacular! 4' 'cudas, snappers, yellow tails - huge corall outcrops from the seabed almost to the surface. I spent 2h at a time and could have stayed longer! The outcrops also help climbing back into the kayak - some parts are 1' below the surface - so just step on it and into the kayak.

There's not much to do in town so unless you dive or fish all day every day it can become a boring affair.

A few suggestions to the owner - the grassy area in front of the restaurant could live with a pool and a little pool deck - that would make hanging around a lot more enjoyable. Renting of the numerous boats could be another option. While I realize that the coral reef poses potential of damage to the outboards, unless one knows his way around the reef, it would still be a nice addition to provide some freedom of venturing out for the guests.

Thanks to Alex (tour manager ;) and Chay (camp manager) for the hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesco_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad F, Public Relations Manager at Costa de Cocos, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you Francesco for sharing your comments, suggestions, and wonderful photos. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed snorkeling with us, and our friendly staff made your time with us most enjoyable.

We are located in a region of Mexico know as the Costa Maya, with the Maya Riviera being located to the north, and includes Cancun and Playa del Carmen. We may not have a sandy beach suitable for wading and swimming but we do offer a chance to get away from the crowds that are often found there.

An almost constant sea breeze helps keep us cool but also pushes in an endless supply of debris from the open ocean. Wading out into the shallows to retrieve this debris disturbs the natural environment that juvenile fish, jellyfish, and shorebirds thrive in. We remove what we can without doing harm to the wildlife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

I fished five full days in April. Fantastic fishery, excellent guides, wonderfullly attentive service and great homemade food.
The bar is great after a long day on the water. You will chill here without air conditioning. You will leave your creature comfort cares and woes behind. You will get into this non-scene whether fly fishing or diving.

You will not stay in a place like this in the states, but that is why you cone down here to get away from all that tourista crap.
The prices are more than fair.

The thatched roof cabanas could use more
storage space for gear. But our plumbing was sound and the room clean. The wifi is all you need to stay connected. But, how many gringos can really go native? My three fishing buddies and I, hard boiled New Yorkers, found this place a true escape.

My endorsement: after a year of reflection, I'm willing to go back. The staff is outstanding. The fishing was great. You are off the grid in one of the safest environments in Mexico and the meals are something to look forward to. My wife may not go for a lodge like this, but it is not that kind of spot. If you want to flycast to a lot of bonefish, and get that game on, this is a great destination. It's a journey, but one worth relishing. It is some of the most pristine coastline I have visited and the water is fantastic. When you return to the Cancun airport on the way back to the states ask yourself if the uber-developed Mexican Riviera is your cup of tea or if you prefer this glimpse into a bygone world.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TomConnorKatonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad F, Public Relations Manager at Costa de Cocos, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you Tom. The aspects you enjoyed most at Costa de Cocos and Xcalak are the very ones that motivated my return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xcalak
16.6 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
227 reviews
18.1 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
141 reviews
24.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
3.9 mi away
Acocote Eco Inn
Acocote Eco Inn
#3 of 4 in Xcalak
57 reviews
24.5 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa de Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa de Cocos

Property: Costa de Cocos
Address: Xcalak Peninsula | follow Hwy. 307 to sign for Mahuahual, turn right at road to Xcalak, Xcalak, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Xcalak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Xcalak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa de Cocos 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa de Cocos is about immersing yourself in nature, while relaxing in a hammock suspended under palm trees, enjoying an ice cold beverage on our patio, fishing, scuba diving, snorkeling, traveling along the coast in a kayak, or touring the surrounding landscape on foot, observing our local flora and fauna. From our shore you will observe numerous juvenile fish in the shallows, while multiple species of shorebirds feed along the coast. All you hear is the gentle roar of waves breaking on the nearby reef, all you feel is the warm sun and a gentle breeze blowing across your skin. You are surrounded by turquoise waters and dense jungle and mangroves. No skyscrapers, crowds, or cell phones.Costa de Cocos offers a truly unique experience on the frontier of Mexico. Our environmentally friendly resort has much to offer those who seek to experience life off the beaten path. We are located within the Xcalak Reef National Marine Park (Parque Nacional Arrecifes de Xcalak). The closest gas station and ATM are 30 miles (50 km) away, and the closest sizable town, Chetumal, is a distant 130 miles (200 km). Power is provided by the sun, with a generator backup.No square concrete rooms here, you will stay in a private Mayan-style beach bungalow with attached bathroom and shower. You will dine in our shore-front restaurant and bar, with wood decor and thatched roof.During your stay you can go fishing, snorkeling, and scuba diving, experience guided bird tours, kayak along the coast, visit Mayan ruins, travel to nearby towns and museums, and visit Belize. We are located five hours south of Cancun and three hours north of Chetumal. Belize and Ambergris Caye are located only a few short miles to the south.We have a wireless Internet connection, but no cell or land-line phone service. The nearby village of Xcalak offers very little in the way of shopping and nightlife. If you are looking for sandy beaches, shopping, and an active night life, it it best not to choose us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Costa de Cocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa De Cocos Xcalak, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing