We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexico how it should be.”
Review of Costa de Cocos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa de Cocos
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Xcalak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Awesome food, awesome fishing, in a great relaxing place. The accommodations are rustic but functional. Don't stay here if you are looking for a "canned" cancun resort experience with beach peddlers and techno music. Food at the reel inn bar was awesome and so was the service. Nicest people I've met in Mexico.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was my 5th trip to CDC and it didnt disappoint me. They have kept the place in good condition all these years. The food is still great and the flyfishing even better ! This is one of my favourite place to get away from it all. No it isnt 5 star, but it is very comfortable, simple and clean. The staff are awesome and friendly, and it is very good value for your money. I will be back again every year. Special thanks to my guide Joel, and the manager Chai. Well done !

Room Tip: I have stayed in palapas 1, 7, and 13. All very comfortable. #1 is goo as you are near the shoreline...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I stayed one night here in October 2013. We were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed Costa de Cocos!! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly from the minute we stepped out of the car. The food here was extremely good! We decided to go on a 1/2 day fishing trip and our guide Reuben was wonderful! I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinandmandyritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, but had lunch here every day during our stay in Xcalak. We stayed at Casa Carolina and did not bring any groceries with us to have lunch there. So Costa de Cocos really became our "saviour" one day when everything else was closed! We had the fish tacos many times and they where really great and at a good price as well. We tried other things but always came back to the fish tacos. We also had dinner here one night, which was some kind of set 3 or 4 course menu, also very enjoyable and nice! Just plain simple good food. To sit out on the terrace watching over the ocean and having lunch is really like sitting in paradise!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Brita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

just outstanding ambient with good food. Nice terrace to sit outside, very romantic. We had mainly Pizza which was really good. Friendly staff and good service. Heard from many people that they also prepare the fish you might have catched - even lion fish.
Only little downside - it is not cheap, for Mexican standards expensive - nevertheless worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ulcologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Had a couple good meals there. Fish dishes, pizzas. Nice view from the deck. Good Sirius music. Great, friendly service by the staff. Good cocktails, beer, wine. Ruben, our waiter was very friendly, with attentive service, spoke good English; good fishing guide.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ryannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Costa de Cocos is a mini-resort at the Southeastern end of the Yucutan Peninsula. You can get to Ambergris Cay, Belize [by boat] in about one hour. The resort has plenty of boats and captains to take you there or to go snorkeling, boating or fishing. Electric power [low voltage] is supplied by solar and wind power with generator backup. We spent three days here and it was breezy and sunny every day - so no noise from the generator was heard. Accommodations are basic but clean and comfortable. Food was very good. If you are looking to be pampered and love glitz and glitter - go elsewhere. If you prefer nature and chilling - come to Xcalak.

Room Tip: All cabins looked very good. There are only 12 cabins.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Walt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xcalak
16.6 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
235 reviews
18.1 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 53 in San Pedro
150 reviews
24.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
24.5 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
23.3 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa de Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa de Cocos

Address: Xcalak Peninsula | follow Hwy. 307 to sign for Mahuahual, turn right at road to Xcalak, Xcalak, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Xcalak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Xcalak
Price Range: £66 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa de Cocos 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa de Cocos is about immersing yourself in nature, while relaxing in a hammock suspended under palm trees, enjoying an ice cold beverage on our patio, fishing, scuba diving, snorkeling, traveling along the coast in a kayak, or touring the surrounding landscape on foot, observing our local flora and fauna. From our shore you will observe numerous juvenile fish in the shallows, while multiple species of shorebirds feed along the coast. All you hear is the gentle roar of waves breaking on the nearby reef, all you feel is the warm sun and a gentle breeze blowing across your skin. You are surrounded by turquoise waters and dense jungle and mangroves. No skyscrapers, crowds, or cell phones.Costa de Cocos offers a truly unique experience on the frontier of Mexico. Our environmentally friendly resort has much to offer those who seek to experience life off the beaten path. We are located within the Xcalak Reef National Marine Park (Parque Nacional Arrecifes de Xcalak). The closest gas station and ATM are 30 miles (50 km) away, and the closest sizable town, Chetumal, is a distant 130 miles (200 km). Power is provided by the sun, with a generator backup.No square concrete rooms here, you will stay in a private Mayan-style beach bungalow with attached bathroom and shower. You will dine in our shore-front restaurant and bar, with wood decor and thatched roof.During your stay you can go fishing, snorkeling, and scuba diving, experience guided bird tours, kayak along the coast, visit Mayan ruins, travel to nearby towns and museums, and visit Belize. We are located five hours south of Cancun and three hours north of Chetumal. Belize and Ambergris Caye are located only a few short miles to the south.We have a wireless Internet connection, but no cell or land-line phone service. The nearby village of Xcalak offers very little in the way of shopping and nightlife. If you are looking for sandy beaches, shopping, and an active night life, it it best not to choose us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Costa de Cocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa De Cocos Xcalak, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing