We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Relaxation in a Jungle Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked this resort through a Groupon Getaway deal. We did not know exactly what to expect, but what we got far exceeded what we hoped for. Currently I would say that this is a "baby" resort. They recently purchased the property from Palace Resorts who owned it when it was destroyed by the 2006 or 2007 hurricane that devastated the area. They are slowly restoring it back to its former glory. The staff was wonderful. The pool was great, complete with Jose at the bar and Caesar providing hokey but fun entertainment. The one drawback was the beach. The best beach on the property is on the other side of the most destroyed (and therefore inaccessible) area. At this time they are providing a shuttle service to a nearby public beach where they have setup a bar and some nice thatch umbrellas. There are no solicitors on this beach, so it's a nice quiet place to relax. In addition to running a resort they also run an animal park where they care for and rehabilitate abandoned and abused wild animals that were kept as pets.

Overall the quality of the food in the main restaurant was quite good. It was a mix of Mexican and Italian fare. The breakfasts and lunches had my favorite dishes, but the dinners were pretty good too. The desserts could have been better. The sushi in the Japanese restaurant, however, left a lot to be desired.

This was the best vacation that my wife and I have ever had. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and they made this experience even better. Will we be back? You better believe it!!! We can't wait to see the improvements that they make as they continue rebuild.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank errhead73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 2,985 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

If you're reading the reviews you get a pretty good picture of this resort. If you're looking for a 5 star "four seasons" resort, this isn't the place for you. And yes, the beach connected to the resort is unswimmAble. But if you can roll with a few irregularities, this is a place trying to recreate itself, and the staff has heart and tries really hard. The food is good, not great, but plenty good enough. The place is awesome. If you like animals, this is the place for you. A daily animal show augments the zoo-like amenities. Mammals from Africa and Sourh America are there for you to touch. The beach and grounds are beautiful. A georgious beach is a short walk or shuttle ride away. Tulum and Playa de Carmen Are a short distance away. And I'll say again, the staff fell over themselves to make our trip enjoyable. DO THE ROMANCE PACKAGE. A shoulder massage and aroma therapy upon arrival in THE way to start a vacation. Follow that with an additional 2 hours in their spa, and I have been spoiled to a new level. On site cenotes and a romantic dinner in the wild round out the experience. We couldn't be happier and will be going back again next year. The perfect resort for the snooty? Nope. But for regular people looking for a slice of pAradise, this is an excellent option. Thanks Gilberto for arranging our stay!

Room Tip: The top floor villas seem like a better choice, but the bottom floor units are exactly the same and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDBLeola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We found the staff very friendly and helpful and the resort itself was great as we were on our honeymoon and looking for a cozy non-commercialized resort that still had the amenities and extra that we were looking for. The resort helped to make our honeymoon extra special and gave us a lifetime of great memories to share with all our friends and relatives!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Recently stayed at Bel Air Collection Xpuha Rivera Maya is a resort and spa. I really enjoyed my stay here there are lots of to see and do at the hotel has its own zoo which you can wonder around and also has an animal show at 3pm daily which is round the side.also has cenotes which sink holes you can only swim/kayak or canoe in one of them which has manatees. They also have a traditional mexican tribal dance which you will see being performed around the hotel. All the staff are really nice although i would advise to learn alittle spanish before you go as some dont speak very good english. The room was really nice,clean and spacious had its own hot tub and massive balcony with a hammock which is really cool. The pool is massive and was never over crowded.the hotel had three restaurants because of the time of year two where open one italain/mexican and a really nice sushi bar over looking the beach. Not so gud if ur a veggie but they made me friend veggie sushi which was nice of them.Only one disadvantage is if your room only if you purchase anything from the restaurant it goes on a tab rather then pay as you go. The concierge was very help the young man was telling us the best places to go as we didnt go with a package holiday. If your up early enough you can a free breakfast cakes and fruit tea/coffee in the lobby bar between 6am and 8am but it does go quick there so get there early to avoid disappointment. the hotel as a timetable of activities which happen throughout the day.The hotel beach to beautiful but you cant swim in it as its protected because of the coral however there is a beach bus which goes from reception to the next beach 9.30 every hour till 11.30 and then takes you back from 1.30 every hour till 4pm. Although the hotel is rather far from playa del carmen and cancun its nice and peaceful but is set along a busy highway so u cant really go for a walk there is however a bus stop right outside the hotel which will take you to playa del carmen takes about 15mins or if you cross over it will take u to tulum (one of the ancient sites) for 30 pesos pp one way the last stop in playa is where go to get the bus back (last bus is at 10pm) isnt to far from the main centre. There is also a massive supermarket up the road before the bus goes to playa del carmen. Playa del carmen is really nice has an amazing beach,has all the main tourist shops and food places mcdonalds/subway. Went to a nice restaurant there 100% natural has a variety of traditional Mexican meals also veggie friendly and not to expensive. It comes alive has the famous clubs Senor frogs and Coco Bongo. One thing you should miss if you go is a trip to Chichen itza ruins best to go with a guide as it takes a while to get there and entrance will be more.we went with our transfer company Yellow transfer who where very good they picked us up and drop us back at out hotel. Our guide was very entertaining and knowledgeable about the history of the Mayans. Costs around 1000peso about £40 which includes transport entrance to chichen itsu, entrance in to a cenote massive underground cavern with a natural pool which you can swim in can also sample different types of tequila at the tequila factory. This also includes a buffet lunch. You get about and 1hr free time for this then you head to the amazing chichen itsa. This tour include lots of drinks on the coach. Overall really enjoyed Mexico sun sea amazing beaches food what more can you ask for!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Louise_P_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We went to Bel Air - Xpu-Ha the first week of March. This is our second trip! I cannot say enough good things about this place! I LOVE it!! I want to live on this resort for the rest of my life!
This resort is not a place to go if you need to be entertained and you dont like walking. But, believe me.....after stuffing yourself on the absolutely delicious food there, you will NEED to walk of the calories!
This is what you would think of if you think of a tropical paradise. It is a wonderful jungle experience with wild life galore. Oscar and Jesselin (hope I spelled that right) were so great with the animals. It is not every day you see a spotted leopard kitten walking around your resort...or get to help dry one off when it gets wet!
The staff is wonderful. They cant do enough for you. They make you feel like you are a treasured family member. I am friends with quite a few of them on Facebook now! Livia and Hector, the activities directors are just spectacular! If you are bored at this resort, it is your own fault! I felt like I was at a spa! Aqua Arobics and Aqua Stretching in the pool every morning, water volleyball, water polo (OMG! So much fun!) fun, fun, fun! The Casino night was an absolute blast (fllled with much cheating, much camaraderie and many laughs and fun had by all!).
The bartenders at the pool bar were great! They all learn your name and what you like to drink very quickly! Eloy, Manuel....I miss you all!
I can see how kids would get bored here, I am absolutely thrilled that they discourage spring breakers. Xpu-Ha is a little bit of a ride from the airport, but, so worth it for the privacy and jungle experience! Playa Del Carmen is a short 30 minute bus ride and there are many, many attractions within 30 minutes of this resort. We used public transportation (bus) and not once did I feel unsafe off the resort. (Well maybe in the Apple transportation bus from the resort to the airport.....they drive crazy in Mexico!).
I could go on and on and on about this resort! Already planning next year's vacation there!
OMG! Looking for pics to post, I realize all the things I didnt even talk about....it's just too amazing!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room on this resort. Each 'villa' has an upstairs room and a downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This place has a great potential with amazing Jungle atmosphere, cozy beach couch and even free internet but this kind of hotel that you don't go there again

You have to know that the food wasn't tasty, service in the restaurants was awful
This is a spread out Hotel - don't go there if you don't like walking
No real beach
One day without hot water was a bit awkward

With new management this place could be nice escape

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hitchhiker-Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anwar S, Manager at Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Dear traveler:
Thank you so much for your review.

I´m very sorry to read your experience was not 100% what you expected.

Be sure we´ll attend the food service problem inmediately.

We sincerly hope you give us some day a second chance to show you we can be the place for you.

Best Regards

Anwar Sanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My wife and I just returned from this resort. We stayed here a total of 5 days and loved every minute of it! I chose this resort for our honeymoon through Apple Vacations and I am glad we did. After having a few hectic weeks leading up to the wedding and also dealing with the stresses of the wedding weekend, this was the perfect stay for us.

When we arrived Monday morning, we were greeted with Mimosas by the Bellboy Moises who during the trip gave us numerous rides to the restaurants. Our flight arrived early so when we arrived our room was not ready. That was not a problem for us at all. Moises gave us a tour of the resort and asked us if we were hungry from traveling and took us to the restaurant. Unfortunately they were switching from breakfast to lunch. Again, that did not bother us and we went and sat on the beautiful beach. Not even 10 minutes passed and Moises returned and informed us that he believed our room was ready and he would return with our luggage. When we arrived at our room, we were surprised with the kissing swan towel art. All the rooms have spacious balcony with hammock, table and chairs. The Jacuzzi was wonderful and the shower was fantastic. Each day we had a surprise in our room. We had towel art daily and one day we had silk robes on the bed and fresh chocolate macaroons.

We ate lunch and was served by Urial. He served us numerous times with exceptional service each and every time. The food was always presented perfectly and our glasses were never empty. We ate all 3 of the restaurants and all were excellent. The sushi at the sushi bar was great and the setting is very intimate.

On Tuesday, I wanted to surprise my new wife with a romantic dinner. Umberto and Rosa made it happen. Originally the dinner was supposed to be at the Green Cenote but it rained that day. Rosa promptly contacted me Tuesday morning with another option. Though I was disappointed that we were not able to have it at the Cenote. They organized a beautiful romantic dinner on our room balcony. They had nice music playing and candles all around. Jose was our personal server that night and he help make the night special.

The resort itself is a jungle paradise with many beautiful animals. We did not feel the need to leave the resort for anything. We did go to Coba on Wednesday and spent the rest of our time at the resort.

If you are looking for a place to bring your spouse or significant other and not looking to party but relax, then this is the place for you.

They treat you like you are their #1 priority!

PLEASE VISIT THIS BEAUTIFUL RESORT!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newlifebmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xpu-Ha
0.8 mi away
Serenity Eco Luxury Tented Camp
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
11.3 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
13,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Esencia
Hotel Esencia
#1 of 4 in Xpu-Ha
285 reviews
2 mi away
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Reso...
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
589 reviews
20.5 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#99 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
9,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 265, Xpu-Ha 77710, Mexico (Formerly Xpu-Ha Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#4 Spa Hotel in Xpu-Ha
Price Range: £56 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel Air Xpu-Ha is the newly open Resort of Bel Air Collection at Riviera Maya. Feel with your family the natural environment, the perfect place to rest and delight yourself. A unique place for a romance experience. Enjoy our facilities surrounded by natural beauty in an eco-paradise. A gourmet experience in each of our restaurants, from Mexican-Italian fusion cuisine to sushi & martini delightful Japanese style, all in a la carte menu selection. Premium brand drinks and appetizing snacks in our Bars at Lobby and pool area. A unique layout of a cozy and peaceful guestrooms in liberate getaway with all the luxury and comfort of a five stars resort, refurbished indoors with jacuzzi and branding amenities; a relaxed exterior and a spacious terrace with hammock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya Hotel Xpuha
Xpu Ha Palace Xpuha
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing