We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ghost Town”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The lack of people at this resort resounded in a deafening silence. When my family saw another person or more people, there was a small sense of relief as we felt we'd been bamboozled. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a cocktail. It was the only fresh mimosa we'd received the entire stay. We took the golf cart shuttle to the "main" restaurant while we waited for our room. We were the only people there. That was the case on most dining experiences. The food was extremely inconsistent in taste, temperature, and appearance. English is tolerated, however I had to rely on my limited 10th grade spanish class to get decent service. Service overall was not too bad. Everything on this resort requires transportation. Otherwise, you will walk at least 5 miles a day. Even the beach requires transportation to a corner of another beach with over priced jet skis. $60 for 30 min/$100 for an hour. Night life? What night life? There was an hour of music and movie trivia that engaged the other 8 people on the resort. Drinks were readily available but very weak even when asking for a double shot. Limited food hours further dampened the spirits of my party as the main restaurant and sushi bar closed at 10. The rooms are extremely outdated and all three rooms my family occupied had a foul smell. Killing cockroaches, ants and spiders became normal. The animals look depressed and hostile. The tiger constantly paces and bangs his head on the glass. No one enjoyed themselves and vowed to never return. The hour long ride to and from the airport didn't help.

Room Tip: 300/400 rooms were neutral for walking to restaurant or lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ahsimak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge R, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you very much for your feedback. As a representative of this hotel, I am concerned and worried to read that your stay wasn’t as you planned because as your hosts, our goal is to make your stay pleasant and warm.
However, it is important to say that we are not a hotel that offers party time. We are a family hotel and indeed all our activities we finish early because our concept is aimed at people who want to rest and relax in a natural environment.
It is for them that we also invite people to enjoy long walks around the nature and watching animals everywhere. Personally, I think that our distances are nothing long, about 10 minutes to everywhere. We even provide bicycles if they want to be transported by this means. We also have bell boy service if neither of these two options will suit you.
I understand that during your stay we probably have not had a high occupancy but never as a "ghost hotel". Most people decide to come in holiday season and we just finished Christmas vacation with a full occupation.
I appreciate your comments and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and change the erroneous image that was us.

Sincerely,

Jorge A. Rodriguez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,099
    708
    364
    221
    249
See reviews for
967
869
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Animals around the hotel were nice and the staff outside the front desk were great. Limited food choices, food is terrible, service very bad, food you get is not how it was described on menu. Rooms were unique but had a sewer like smell. Internet did not work for most part; moved us to another room finally after 3 days of saying it will be fixed in 20 minutes. Multiple items in room broke and had to call front desk for service. No activities or entertainment for the guests. Approx hour drive from the airport. Pool bar had the best food but was only available from 10-5. All-inclusive is very expensive for the quality of the food they provide. Will never go back or recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorettah60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge R, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Your comments mean a lot to us because they allow us to know what areas we need to improve. I appreciate your sincerity and have taken the time to describe each of the inconveniences you had during your stay as all the information that we share is our best tool to identify areas of opportunity that we must strengthen. Personally, I gave myself the task of reviewing each of the points shared kindly and measures to assure you that these incidents don’t happen again.
I’m so sorry that we haven’t met your expectations and hope to have the opportunity to change the bad image that we have caused.
If there is anything I can do please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

It will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Jorge A. Rodriguez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I thought I was getting a steal of a deal through LivingSocial on an all-inclusive resort in Mexico, but I should have known that if its too good to be true, its for a reason. First of all, expect at least a 45 minute drive from the airport. Then expect to wait a VERY long time to receive access to your room. (We waited almost 2 hours at the front lobby before we could get into our room.) The rooms are actually quite nice, cozy, and romantic. If you want a quite getaway to hide in your room for a trip, this is a nice place to do that. There is NO beach area. They have 2 restaurants on the entire resort with limited hours, and you either have to wait 20 minutes for the golf cart to pick you up and bring you to a restaurant or you can take the solid 10 minute walk on your own. The "zoo" on the resort is, in a word, heart-breaking. The look on the chimps face in that cage made me think he wanted a gun to end his misery. I would NOT recommend this resort to anyone. Oh, and if you do decide to go despite these words, I hope you can speak Spanish because the employees speak NO English. I know that statement seems asinine, but I've stayed in resorts that DEFINITELY cater to English speaking people and Bel Air Xpu Ha Riviera Maya is NOT one of them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here with friends in December of 2011. We really enjoyed it; quiet place to stay, wifi so we could stay connected back home, and a huge jacuzzi in the bungalow room. The food options weren't that great; honestly, the pool bar food was by far the tastiest option. The restaurant wasn't very good at all. I would still stay here again, though. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pool are much easier to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank felixmadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We actually expected more from this hotel since is part of the Bel Air Collections.

Room: Nice, comfortable, terrace with hamacas and have jacuzzis inside (good for romance).

All Inclusive: for an all inclusive experience go somewhere else. There´s no snack bar that is open 24 hrs. Your last chance to eat is 11pm. The bars are suppose to be open until 12 but from the 6 days we stayed only one they actually stayed open until 12. The service on the restaurant is really really really slow and food is not that good.

Installations: the hotel looks like it´s abandoned. like death. there´s no beach you have to take a van to go to a beach that is not that nice.

I suggest to stay on Barcelo, Iberostar or even on Palladium nice hotels with better amenities for the same price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with jacuzzi and close to the lobby bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheRealMaiMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Took a family trip Xpu-Ha Palace prior to the hurricane that devastated the area. What a wonderful place it was, the round bungalows were very spacious and comfortable. Cleaned daily and were a delight to see the towel animals on the beds. The grounds were outstanding with pathways through the estuary to get from place to place. Along the way you were lucky to see harmless wildlife. The lagoon was so much fun for the kids to snorkel in. The all-inclusive food and staff were good. I love how the décor was of the ancient culture. My favorite decoration was the center light piece that hung in the open lobby. Day trip to the ruins or cenote’s was a blast and the resort had on onsite car rental company for your convenience.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rkbzdsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed during six days, and we did not had enough time to be able to enjoy all the activities offered by this great place. We have visited several times the Riviera Maya , because we really love the beach, but this trip changed our perspective of fun in this wonderful place. The theme is "The Forest", and it is decorated with a great zoo, with a huge variety of animals, where you can "coexist" with beautiful birds in an aviary, and other amazing species , also you have chance to see exotic wildlife animals, which are easily living in their habitat. And we saw animals that we do not even knew, that they existed.
In addition there is a "cenote" where you can ride a kayak, the water is very cold, but the experience is incomparable. Also there is a pools area where you can prostrate in their confortable beds, and you can relax after a walk along the hotel. Bel Air has an excellent service, all employees are always aware of what you need, and they are very friendly. From the hotel take you to a visit to a virgin beach where you can enjoy a view of the most spectacular late afternoon, and meet one of the most beautiful beaches of the world.
No doubt, we can highly recommended this awesom Hotel , which also, can offer a very good prices.

Room Tip: The "Villas" are very confortable and with great space, you can see the nature of the tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xpu-Ha
8.9 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
1,938 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,553 reviews
18.7 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#79 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
12,411 reviews
17.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,917 reviews
2.5 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya

Property: Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 265, Xpu-Ha 77710, Mexico (Formerly Xpu-Ha Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Xpu-Ha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel Air Xpu-Ha is the newly open Resort of Bel Air Collection at Riviera Maya. Feel with your family the natural environment, the perfect place to rest and delight yourself. A unique place for a romance experience. Enjoy our facilities surrounded by natural beauty in an eco-paradise. A gourmet experience in each of our restaurants, from Mexican-Italian fusion cuisine to sushi & martini delightful Japanese style, all in a la carte menu selection. Premium brand drinks and appetizing snacks in our Bars at Lobby and pool area. A unique layout of a cozy and peaceful guestrooms in liberate getaway with all the luxury and comfort of a five stars resort, refurbished indoors with jacuzzi and branding amenities; a relaxed exterior and a spacious terrace with hammock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya Hotel Xpuha
Xpu Ha Palace Xpuha
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing