We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, all natural... EXCELENT!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Reviewed 24 January 2014

First things first... If you are looking for a BIG Hotel, full of activities and night life, this is probably not the place for you.

Went on the second week of January with my wife and my two little kids, aged 5 and 2... and we just LOVED the concept.

This is a big, big property which has an animal park...Among the animals that we managed to encounter Guacamayas, chimpazees, lions, tigers, pumas, jaguars, Cangoroos, deers, foxes, all sorts of monkeys, coyotes and many more, needless to say, my young kinds were ultra excited... the cangorros cage for example you actually get the be inside of it and feed this lovely creatures... feed the macaws and all.... really a breathtaking experience.

The beach... not really a beach... more of a panoramic one because it is on the rocky side... but fantastic if you want to just watch the ultra calm sea or go shell hunting... The pools are big and there are like 4 of them, the kids part with a water slides and all... it was a little cold, but usable. On the second day we discovered that they have a beach club for which the hotel takes you in a van... The Beach there is aboslutely awesome!!! white sand, incredible sea and food and beverage from the hotel.

Also, inside the property there is a lagoon (Estero), where you can Snorkel and do kayak, all included in what you already paid and... Suprise, while I was kayacking... three beatiful manatees appeared... they actually live there... I cannot explain how fantastic this creatures are... just WOW!!!

The rooms are well equipped... but the highlight of the rooms have to be the Terrace... spacious, with chairs, a table, two pool beds and an "Hamaca"... just the perfect place to relax and forget about everything.

The food at the restaurant was excelente the first day, and good the rest of the time.

All in all I absolutely LOVED this hotel, and my 5 year old daughter made me promise that we will go back later in the year... that all that needs to be said!!

Room Tip: The are a couple of rooms that are built above two cenotes... those are great!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank 1977Cativo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge R, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments on your family holiday with us, I am pleased that our Hotel was to your taste and that in general all of our concept and facilities were to your liking.
You have every right to say that we are a hotel with a unique concept in the Riviera Maya. Who knows definitely what we are and what we offer, they will be surprised at their stay. Much of the negative comments we receive are due to guests who came looking for a concept totally contrary to what we are: a beautiful natural place.
Also, let me share with you we are proud that the quality of our services have managed to turn their stay into a great experience.

And remember that the promises that parents do to their children must be met! Looking forward to your return soon!

Again all the staff at Bel Air Xpu Ha welcomes your comments.



Sincerely,

Jorge A. Rodriguez
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,843)
There are newer reviews for Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 2,843 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had a great time - quiet, relaxing, beautiful accommodations. Loved walking by the animals every day, counting crocodiles, looking at tigers. The jaguars seemed to be in a very small cage, though.
Aldo at the front desk was the best - fast, friendly, got things done. He was the most professional of the stuff that we encountered. Actually, everyone is friendly, but service in the restaurant was unbelievably slow. Some things you want to know: food - not great, service is bad. We were very happy not to have purchased all inclusive option.
Room: ours was fantastic, i think they all are pretty good. Cleaning sometimes ok, sometimes bad - twice they didn't put the top sheet on.
Beach - nonexistent at the hotel, if you have shoes, you can walk over some rocks for 5 minutes to the next hotel's beach. Or take the shuttle to their beach - xpuha, very nice.
All in all, if you expect 5 star- don't go. Lower your expectations and have a great time.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank izmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge R, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for having chosen Bel Air Xpu Ha. I am very pleased that our concept was to your great liking and that you found the magical atmosphere that surrounds us, superb.
I apologize if the service in the restaurant was not up to your liking. Thank you for bringing this area of opportunity to my attention. Be sure that I will personally check the service and quality in our department.

Sincerely,

Jorge A. Rodriguez
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Firstly we ended up in the Bel Air by mistake as our holiday booking agent went bust so ended up being located here for our Honeymoon.

Pro's

- Breakfast was generally good after 9am, we turned up early a few times and there was no chef cooking fresh omelettes (which were excellent)
- Cenote's are beautiful
- The local beach was beautiful
- If you venture to the right of the coral beach, the old deserted part of the hotel has an amazing secluded bay, it was amazing for snorkling. The old hotel has been left to the elements from 2005 and literally looks like something from Jurassic park (after the dinosaurs have gone on the rampage)
- canoeing was all free
- Loads of natural wildlife - Coate's, racoons, iguana's, pelicans, etc, this is what the hotel should focus on, not the caged varieties.
- Staff all really friendly, limited English but hey your in Mexico not England so learn the basic phrases!!
- Wi-Fi was good, no connection issues

Con's

-Zoo animals in cramped pens, monkeys were in a ridiculously small cage with no stimulation whatsoever. The leopard cubs were in an even worse pen of solid concrete with a wooden platform & a glass front. This got extremely slippy when it rained and one of the leopard cubs looked like it had damaged back hips (this may have been a birth defect) . The lions and tigers all looked depressed and again although the pens were bigger in comparison to the others but still really tiny.
- Animals (monkeys & a lion cub) were paraded around the park during the day in order that you could have your photo taken with them - $50 US dollars! Again, this was really sad.
- Random days of A La carte and buffet with no real explanation why (the hotel was dead over the new year so it may have been to reduce wastage. My wife ordered a Chicken Ceasar salad, which literally had a piece of chicken the size of a chicken nugget.
- You are in the middle of no where, a taxi ride into Playa was $250 mx each way
- The upgrade fee of $70 US per person is a complete rip off, the food is average, its not 5*, the beer is not great either!

Room Tip: We stayed in Flamingo (great for getting woken up early, but the Coates climbed on the cage (see pho...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BillericayBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I traveled with my girlfriend and stayed from Dec 27 to January 1st, the hotel is great. Staff is really friendly. We took a bus from the airport to Playa del Carmen and then a taxi to the hotel, much more cheaper. The hotel has a very nice zoo which we enjoyed a lot, specially petting a kangaroo!

There is no beach , you have to take a shuttle from the lobby or walk 10-15 min to get to a beautiful one. It is a quiet hotel so don't expect a big party at night, if you want to you can take a cab to Playa del Carmen in 15-20 min. The rooms are great, specially the Jacuzzi after a long day. The hotel is close to all the main attractions( Xcaret, Xplor )

There are still some " difficulties " experienced with management/reception but overall its a great value.

Room Tip: Choose a Palapa, and something close either to the lobby or the restaurant.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agustinqf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at Bel Air in December and we have to admit we were getting anxious and worried reading these reviews on the way to the hotel, even considering rebooking. I'm glad we didn't as this was one of the best holidays we've ever had.

We were after a small, quiet resort in nature where we could relax and spend some active time out and about. If you are looking for a busy big resort with loud music and constant animation whilst chugging daiquiris from a giant thermos keg, this place isn't for you. For us, this was paradise.

Upon arrival the staff were wonderful, big thanks to Aldo and Rosa for all their help! We opted for the deluxe room with a terrace and jacuzzi, it was simply divine and very clean. The wifi worked perfectly at all times and we received a little cake each afternoon which was nice. The whole resort is pretty much set in the jungle and a bit disconnected but again-this is what we were after.

The resort is also an animal park/zoo and we absolutely loved that. We really felt like we reconnected with nature, it was very special to be around animals at all times. They are looked after very well and a lot of them are rescued animals which is why they are in captivity. The Bel Air park is doing a good job looking after them all.

There are three cenotes in the resort one of them is huge and home to a wild manatee family. We kayaked on it many times (it's free) and seeing the manatees so closely was one of the most amazing experiences of our lives, magical! At the cenote you can get a free glass of bubbly every evening during the sunset which is not bad either!

There is a coral beach at the resort but it isn't swimmable. We walked over (few minutes) to the long white-sand Barcelo beach every day however the hotel provides shuttles to another private beach of theirs as well. We didn't find this a problem at all. The pools are nice and clean as well, quite basic but that was enough for us.

The food is good, the a la carte menu is decent as it's the breakfast and buffet dinner. Again-if you're looking to go crazy on all-inclusive food and drink this isn't for you. The sushi place is nice as well. We stayed on a bed&breakfast basis and our bill was pretty small at the end of our stay. Breakfast starts at 8 and goes til 12:30.
* I would advise the hotel management to offer a few more 'European' breakfast options and perhaps serve more of the Mexican food at dinner time-it was so delicious but perhaps a bit strange for those who aren't used to it :)

There's a bus stop for Playa del Carmen right outside the hotel if you fancy a trip out and the reception staff are very helpful should you want to organise an excursion. You can also hire bikes for free.

We will definitely be back to Xpu Ha, we loved the wild feel of this place, the gorgeous night skies, the odd wild racoon and coati sighting, parrots flying around...We felt at peace and totally rejuvenated on the way home.

ps: this vacation was also an absolute bargain

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Maya808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Great Staff very helpful in every way! Rose & Rickardo are truly a great asset to the Bel Air Collections. Food was very good and service was very good every where we went on the complex. Enjoyed the Jungle environment, Will return again QUIDOS for a job well done Bel Air.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the entire complex!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Pros:
The jacuzzi

Cons:
I had no idea they had a small zoo when I booked. They keep their animals in tiny concrete cages, sometimes directly under the sun! There so many other ways to see wild animals in their own habitat, no need to make them suffer in captivity!

Even if you don't care about animals you should still look for another place and here's why: the power generator was really loud and needed earplugs to sleep!
The food was really bad, why can't they offer real Mexican food is beyond me! Also the restaurant was always smelly and filled with smoke!
There's no beach, so you will need to take a painfully long bus ride or drive around all the time (remember you don't want to eat here).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Saratraverz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xpu-Ha
2.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,721 reviews
17.4 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
12,908 reviews
14.8 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#80 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
12,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#72 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,375 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,542 reviews
14.5 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#101 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 265, Xpu-Ha 77710, Mexico (Formerly Xpu-Ha Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#4 Spa Hotel in Xpu-Ha
Price Range: £53 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel Air Xpu-Ha is the newly open Resort of Bel Air Collection at Riviera Maya. Feel with your family the natural environment, the perfect place to rest and delight yourself. A unique place for a romance experience. Enjoy our facilities surrounded by natural beauty in an eco-paradise. A gourmet experience in each of our restaurants, from Mexican-Italian fusion cuisine to sushi & martini delightful Japanese style, all in a la carte menu selection. Premium brand drinks and appetizing snacks in our Bars at Lobby and pool area. A unique layout of a cozy and peaceful guestrooms in liberate getaway with all the luxury and comfort of a five stars resort, refurbished indoors with jacuzzi and branding amenities; a relaxed exterior and a spacious terrace with hammock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya Hotel Xpuha
Xpu Ha Palace Xpuha
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing