We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always outstanding”
Review of Hideaway Cafe

Hideaway Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Grassy Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Marathon, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Always outstanding”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We like the quaint location - it's on the top steps of a resort in the Florida Keys. Most tables have a perfect view of the ocean. The ambiance is romantic, nice table settings, and professional/well trained staff. The food is always very good. Their wines are also very good and their recommendations even better. From their rack of lamb to the seafood wellington, everything we've had there is delicious. Highly recommend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jckeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    115
    32
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Creek, IL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Keys' Treasure”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Based on several recommendations we dined at this establishment. Most of the tables, including our own, had a view overlooking the ocean. We ordered the Hideaway Seafood Special and the Seafood Wellington prepared with the catch du jour, scallops and shrimp. The waitstaff was very attentive and our food was delicious! We knew coming in that the food and wine could be a bit pricey, but still had a very enjoyable experience for the money. Our next trip to the Keys will include a return visit to the Hideaway Cafe! Reservations are required so plan ahead.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clay and Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Anniversary”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Celebrated our 42nd anniversary last night with a great dinner and a bottle of wine. My wife had surf & turf with steak and sharp. Steak was perfect and melted in her mouth. Shrimp were slightly over cooked but delicious. My meal of shrimp and scallops was very good but the shrimp were also slightly over cooked. Bread and salads were excellent along with the service. As we were ordering desert to split, they brought another bottle of wine ... on the house. Another enjoyable night at the Hideaway.

Helpful?
Thank LaytonBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very unique place, unreal food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Located on the back side and 2nd floor of an independent "resort" (more like a motel), outdoor steps lead you up to the door. Upon walking inside, there is a very small bar (seats maybe two people). Count on sitting down at a table if you are usually a bar-eater like I am. The whole place is relatively small with most of the seating on the inside and some seating that wraps around the outside of the building, but it is still basically inside as it's covered and walled, but it does provide a good view. The place itself is old and not updated. But, it doesn't feel dirty to me. Just a bit antiquated. The service was very good. The owner walks around and generally talks and even takes the orders from most of the tables, while you will have other servers helping you also. Everything on the menu that has a butter base will have a lot of butter, i.e., very rich. We ordered soup and salad to start. Soup was rich but very tasty. She had the seafood special, which was also very rich but good - I wouldn't say great. I had the whole roasted duck - which is what this place is known for. It was unbelievable. And it was big - I couldn't finish it. We finished with the bananas a la hideaway, which the presentation was very cool - they light it on fire in front of your table and it was very good.

I will say that some of the people rave about the view from this place. The waters are serene and very nice looking. It is a good view. But that's it - just good. Definitely not great - it's partially obscured by trees, the beach is not pretty - I would even say ugly and you also won't get a view of the sunset because of the way it faces.

Anyway, if you're looking for a nice romantic dinner on Marathon, this is one of the two places and it's worth checking out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nice restaurant, overlooks the Atlantic Ocean... Food was good old fashion American breakfast and in the evening a first class dinner, good selection of wine. Host were very accommodating. Loved this place. Where else can you get a better view? Excellent

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hideaway Cafe also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
 

Been to Hideaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing