We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“WOW! What a View!!”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
14 reviews
Holiday Rental House 2 Bedrooms 1 Bathroom Sleeps 5 Ask about pets Save
Living room with glass window and oceanviews
Living room with glass window and oceanviews
Living room with ocean views.
Living/dining room
Bedroom #2
Green Roof Cliffhouse with our friendly horses in the pasture.
Living room
Lanai of Cliffhouse with mountain and ocean views. Ocean front.
Cliffhouse Front yard with tropical plants.
Bathroom
Bedroom#1.1
Fully equipped kitchen & our welcome basket of island fruits, chocolate & 100% Kona coffee.
Bedroom#1.2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
snowman3
USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
WOW! What a View!!
1
person found this review helpful

This was a wonderful place to get away from it all or to base your east central explorations. You are down and away from any neighbors as you pull into your carport. Walking up outside stairs accesses you to the lanai and main house areas. You have an 180 degree million dollar view of the ocean and Waipio Valley. Off the lanai are 2 doors, one to the main living area and one to the main bedroom. In the main living area there is a picture window that takes in the entire front wall towards the ocean. You have a living room- full kitchen with counter but I ate all my meals on the lanai mesmerized by the ocean and valley view. WiFi is provided as is washer/dryer. The main bedroom was spacious and comfortable with a front view towards the ocean. There is a second bedroom and one bath. Everything was clean and there was a nice welcome basket with coffee, chocolates, and fresh fruit. I immediately felt at ease and comfortable in this house. Then Richard called to see if I was all right and it was like having an old friend letting you stay at his house. If I didn't have an activity planned, I found that the house would just let me sit and relax and not worry about ANYTHING. The number one thing noted in the guestbook was no one wanted to leave. Count me in.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Quiet, privacy, and view
Liked least: That I missed whale season
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy W
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
An area / vacation that will NEVER be forgotten!

There are only positive things to say about the Cliff House, the love cation and owner..... This vacation was one that will go down in our "books" of fabulous vacations.... the pictures on the web site just don't do this property justice! It is VERY private, VERY quiet and VERY beautiful!!!!! The only sounds you hear are the birds, ocean, cows and an occasional chirp of a gecko (yes... They chirp). Richard M. Is "the bomb".... What a gracious host! He went over and above to make our visit unforgettable! We will DEFINITELY be coming back! thank you, Richard, for sharing your treasure with us!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwydion01
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
Privacy and a view!

We spent 4 nights at the Cliff House and our only regret is not staying longer. After 5 days of volcano-related activities on the east side of the island, this was the perfect "second-half" of our Big Island vacation. The view from the lanai of the Cliff House is every bit as good as others say, and pictures can't do proper justice to the feeling of waking up and having it be the first thing you see. The house itself is clean and well-appointed, full kitchen, carport, comfy beds, etc, but we found that we spent most of our time sitting outside and just taking it all in. The only other houses you can see (and that can see you) require binoculars to make out (with a nifty and high-powered pair of them left at the house for your use). If you want to get away from it all in a place that feels like it is at the end of the world, this is the house to rent.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view and the privacy
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
Amazing view in a really nice cosy quiet house

I wasn't sure what to expect from the cliff house only that the view would be spectacular and it was exactly that. Facing the sea and with the valley and coastline going off in the distance it is definitely a special place.

Richard was enthusiastic and friendly. We had a welcome basket awaiting us, he also called up to make sure we were OK when we arrived which was nice but was never intrusive and only called up again to ask if it was OK for the neighbour to do some gardening nearby.

The house itself was great little place and was as it looked like in the pictures, all things were catered for from kitchen utensils to towels etc.
and we had nothing bad to say about it except that the main bedroom let in a little too much light which meant my wife and I woke up at the crack of dawn each morning.
We also had to shut all windows and doors as we found gekko's and other crawlies entering the house despite the netting, be warned if you are not used to them! :)

Despite the above I would definitely come back and if we are ever back in Hawaii, the cliff house would be top on my list.

Mahalo Richard.

Matt.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view, The house
Liked least: Too much light in the bedroom, watch out for crawlies.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiggie123
Rowland Heights, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
Amazing place, great memory.

We spent one night on Oct 28th, the view on the Cliff house is absolutely amazing! We arrived around 2 pm on that day and don't wanna go out again. The owner Richard is a vey nice person and kindly offer us a basket of fruits and some Kona coffee. Just remember to bring your food to cook before you arrive there.
The only thing we think need to be improved is the kitchen need a dishwasher and a range hood. In addition, there is only one bathroom in the house.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view, of course.
Liked least: Only one bathroom
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012 for a stay in June 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
3 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
linzgray
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
Terrific spot
1
person found this review helpful

This place enjoys a terrific position and total privacy. It has a lovely feel and is well equipped. Richard is extremely helpful and actually arranged a friend to fly our lost luggage over from the airport the day after we arrived. I much preferred the east of the island for the people and landscape. We found Kona etc disappointing after this. The food on big island is fairly dire so you might as well cook for yourself and you won't get a better view from the dinner table than this place.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The tranquility and view
Liked least: Having to leave to go to grotty Kona
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$199
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.