We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Spot for a Couple!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outermost Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aquinnah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Outermost Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Aquinnah B&B and Inns
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Spot for a Couple!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I have been going to Martha's Vineyard for a while now, but have always stayed with friends at their house, always up island (Menemsha-Gayhead-Chillmark area). This time I was with my fiancee and I decided to book a hotel room. After having been to the Outermost Inn for dinner once I decided to reserve it. I went on the first week of August 2011, no need to say that the ferry from Woodshole had to be reserved over 1 month in advance.

Staying at the hotel was like staying with friends! The family who owns the place is very very nice and makes you feel with ease as if you're at home. In the morning and late afternoon all the guests stay on the patio and it is very ease to get to know people.

B-fast is very good, and all is made on the moment with fresh ingredients. Also dinner is amazing, however it has to be reserved well in advance and comes with an 85$ prix fixe price.

I'm definitely going to stay here again!

Room Tip: Stayed at the "Lighthouse Suite" had my own entrance and private deck with terrace. Very N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greg_bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Islip, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

I make it a point to avoid Martha’s Vineyard. The ferry, with all its scheduling and waiting around, is just the sort of headache I don’t need. Martha’s Vineyard attracts the types of people who annoy me the most. People who sail. Sixty-somethings with permanent tans and PYT fourth wives. Swarms of daytrippers braying for lobster rolls in the foetid alleyways of fishing villages turned into tourist traps. Indolent monied youth yawning their summer holidays away.

Members of my family know well that, if they hold an event on Martha’s Vineyard, I will not attend. Apparently some members of My Dearest’s family did not get that memo. They scheduled an event on the wretched island and expressed surprise when I announced that I would be absent. Lively discussions followed and, ever the supportive wife, I agreed to accompany My Dearest to the event – under protest!

Determined to avoid the braying crowds, the reek of lobster rolls, and as many members of My Dearest’s family as possible, I booked us into the Outermost Inn on the very west end of the island. The location is superb with lots of privacy and many lovely views. There is a nice, although quite steep, path down to a stone beach with dramatic views across Vineyard Sound to Cuttyhunk Island.

The rooms are too barebones for my liking with rudimentary wooden furniture, kitsch art, and non-descript fabrics and furnishings. The bed was adequate but just barely so. Some would call this New England charm. I call it New England drab: rather like the stiff ladies in Boston who march around without makeup. Still our room was quite functional, and everything was immaculately clean. The fresh flowers were an isolated nice touch. Noise travels throughout the inn, so everyone hears every door slam and every raised voice.

Some rooms have excellent views of the sea, while others don’t. When booking, you should ask detailed questions about the view from your room, especially if you plan to spend much time in the room.

The bathroom was smallish with basic furnishings and fixtures. The soap and shampoo provided were of only average quality. The water pressure in the shower was good.

The innkeepers were first rate: well organized and constantly on the move making sure everything runs efficiently. They must take happy pills every hour, because they were always cheerful and always ready to help.

The restaurant was packed for dinner each night of our stay. It’s probably one of the few decent places to eat for miles around. So be sure to make dinner reservations when you book your room: otherwise you may be out of luck. The dinner menu was limited, but the dishes featured fresh local produce and were skillfully prepared. The wine list offered only a small selection of non-descript wines. Breakfast was, by the standards of New England inns, quite good with fresh eggs cooked to order, uber fresh local tomatoes, and homemade breads.

There is an honor bar on an outdoor porch. From the porch there are nice views across the lawn and towards the Sound. On a sunny afternoon sipping chilled white wine and enjoying this view is indeed a pleasure.

This place is not cheap, and the rooms are not worth the prices. But you are not paying for the room. You are paying for the location, the views, and the delicious peace and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tarrytown54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

As an island summer resident for 40 years I can attest that for sheer natural beauty of location there is no rival to the Outermost Inn, which is located on the meadows forming the backside of the gorgeous clay cliffs of Zacks Beach in Aquinnah (formerly Gay Head) Martha's Vineyard. Deer pranced in the lush greenery as we sipped cocktails on the porch waiting for dinner and watching a breathtaking sunset. The food at dinner was great (although the portions are a bit too small for an $85 price fix) and the winelist was well put together. For daytime activities, the Inn boasts private access to the beach (at check in you are provided a map for a beautiful walking tour) as well as passes to Philbin Beach (one of the nicest beaches on the island-- Philbin passes are otherwise only available to Aquinnah residents). Hugh Taylor (brother of James) and his wife are proprietors and quintessential islanders-- pleasant, warm and easy- going. Hugh himself prepared breakfast (included in the price of the room) which was a generous portion of pan poached eggs, salmon, hash browns, fresh fruits, english muffin and coffee. The entire place has such a relaxed feel. There is an honor system for cocktails (you can serve yourself at a nicely stocked beer and wine bar on the porch if need be), beach chairs and towels are provided,the wait staff are caring (but not overbearing) and all take great interest in your daytime activities.

If I had a complaint it would be the quality of the mattress in the Cherry room. It was a little small and quite saggy in the middle so a good night sleep was not in the cards. Otherwise it the room was quiet and comfortable but not particularly well appointed (other than the bathroom which was quite nice). It also lacked an ocean view-- none of those rooms were available when we called in June so better to act fast.

Room Tip: Avoid Cherry and look for those with the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtcunningham3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Not an auspicous beginning. Invited to arrive early and have a drink on the terrace, we arrive early and are invited to the terrace. But not invited to have a drink. No. the friendly and relaxed staff is enchanted with a stray golden retriever that has wandered on the property. Okay, the dog's cute; but no drink. Time for the dining room. Our vivacious waitress seems to have not stopped auditioning for the provincetown run of chorus line, and the mood is, at least (best?), quirky. The setting, and dining room, though, are just about perfect for elevated summer dining on the Massachusetts islands. And the food? A genuine, and genuinely good gazpacho, fresh and well dressed greens, a piece of broiled halibut on a creamy risotto, and so on. After dinner drinks, at last, on the lawn.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank soloboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2007

We recently spent two weeks on Martha's Vineyard, and stayed at three different high-end properties. The Outermost was by far our favorite. It's one of those places where, if you looked at it piece by piece, you might be tempted to dwell on its shortcomings. But the whole package is marvellous.

Yes, there is no air conditioning. We were there during a period of exceptional heat and humidity, so this was not ideal. Yes, the rooms are looking a bit past their prime and could benefit from renovation. Yes, our bed could have used a new mattress. Yes, the price was high -- we paid $350/night (which includes a sumptuous breakfast), and that was not the most expensive room at the Outermost.

All that being said, we loved it. What makes the Outermost special is the ambience. The place exudes friendliness and down-home relaxation. It all starts with the inn keepers, Hugh and Jeannie Taylor, and their two adult children, Alexandra and Isaac. They are warm and friendly and welcoming. And mingling with other guests comes naturally, given the spacious and comfortable public areas at the Inn. We felt not so much customers as we did guests in the Taylors' country home.

The ground of the Outtermost are lovely, and guests have easy access to the beautiful, and very long, Aquinnah Beach.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank markOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2007

I thought location, location, location when booking a surprise family birthday celebration here but found much more than that - everything exceeded my expectations. This beautiful, quiet Cape Cod style Inn, set atop the famous Aquinnah cliffs next to the Lighthouse with rolling lawns and flower beds was immediately welcoming. The charming rooms, the elegant and delicious dining, onobtrusive yet warm and attentive hospitality all created wonderful memories for us for our too short stay. The bedrooms (we booked 5) were each slightly differently decorated with top of the line comforts, airey and spotlessly clean. The multicourse cooked breakfasts were feasts we lingered over as we listened to Hugh wistling in the kitchen. The special dinner party celebration was superb ("as usual", we have since heard) and even accommodated a lobster special 'off menu' item specially requested by one in our party! Every bite created a wonderful memory. We just wished they served lunch too! We had to settle for a lobster roll from vendors located up the road at the tourist bus rest stop for Aquinnah (formerly Gay Head). BYOB Cocktails served by the fun bartender on the sun porch and deck area was the perfect setting from which we watched the nesting osprey on the property and relaxed during the day when we were not exploring the fabulour clay cliffs and the beaches. What a perfect spot for sunsets. We did not wander far only because we enjoyed the beauty and happy environment surrounding this magical place. We wanted to stay much longer and will definitely be back. Jeanne and Hugh are to be complimented for their wonderfully attentive staff who were so flexible and happy to attend to our every wish. A classy, elegant home away from home.

  • Liked — Elegant attention to detail
  • Disliked — Expensive and no facilities for lunch
  • Stayed June 2005, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dee+ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2005

Staying at the Outermost Inn definitely made our trip to Martha's Vineyard worthwhile. While we were somewhat disappointed in the island itself (every town has the same ice cream shop and the same fudge shop and the same Black Dog shop), we were completely pleased with the Outermost Inn. Hugh and Jeanne are warm, friendly hosts, who make you feel right at home. Our room was excellent and was impeccably cleaned every day. The most wonderful part about the Inn is -- in my mind -- its location. It is actually located outside of Chilmark in Aquinnah (old Gay Head). It is just down the hill from the lighthouse and has access to a private beach. You are really away from "civilization" at the Outermost Inn -- we enjoyed looking up at the stars in the evening ... you can see so many out there! And the restaurant at the Outermost is excellent; if you are staying there, definitely make reservations for dinner one night.

A few other good things we noted:
1. The MVTA goes right past the driveway, so you can pick the bus up if you'd like (we did that, although most people who stayed there had cars).
2. There is a fully stocked bar there which you can help yourself to anytime.
3. A full breakfast is served every morning; we loved breakfast there, and lingered over coffee and the newspapers in the dining room overlooking the yard sloping down to the water.

A couple of things to consider when staying there:
1. The walk down to the private beach gets a little steep at parts, so if you are tentative about the slope, know you can also go to the public beach which is just on the other side of the lighthouse from the Inn.
2. If you do walk to the private beach, we did notice some poison ivy on the side of the trail at one point (and only one point), so be careful.
3. Since the Inn has a restaurant that serves dinner each night of the week, there can be some noise from the guests. We didn't notice it every night, and on the nights we did, the noise normally subsided by 9:30 - 10 p.m. I would ask for a room away from the front entrance of the house and not above the dining room if you like to go to bed early.

We really did enjoy our stay, and if we ever decide to go back to Martha's Vineyard, we will stay at the Outermost again. Many thanks to Hugh, Jeanne, Larry and Alissa!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aquinnah
13.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
17.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
16.0 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Charles & Charles
Charles & Charles
#1 of 11 in Vineyard Haven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
16.0 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
10.8 mi away
Lambert's Cove Inn
Lambert's Cove Inn
#11 of 47 in Martha's Vineyard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outermost Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outermost Inn

Property: Outermost Inn
Address: 81 Lighthouse Rd, Aquinnah, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02535-1362
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Aquinnah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aquinnah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing