We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil”
Review of Outermost Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aquinnah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Outermost Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Aquinnah B&B and Inns
Lake Como, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“tranquil”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very relaxing,well run B&B.What is great for some and maybe not for others is how out of the way this place is(40 minutes to oak bluffs or edgartown).We loved it! great restaurant here too. the Taylor's are wonderful,considerate hosts.Every Vineyard visitor must stay here at least once.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jerseyfriar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

First, this inn is not in Chilmark, it is in Aquinnah. Tripadvisor is in error.
My friends and I spent a night at the Outermost Inn in August. The three of us shared a room, Bash, which had a nice distant waterview, lovely view of the Gay Head Lighthouse and the rolling grounds of the inn. The room was large and easily accomodated a rollaway, for which we were charged $40 additional. The furnishings were spare but comfortable and very clean. When we arrived in midafternoon the room was insufferably hot and had clearly been closed up until our arrival. We dropped our bags, turned on the AC unit, and left, it was impossible to spend time in the room. On the first floor is a living/parlor area which leads out back to a lovely covered porch and outdoor seating area. There is an honor bar which is well stocked with a wide variety of wines, which can be purchased by the bottle or the glass, and beers. This is a most pleasant place to pass some time (especially when the room is uninhabitable). Also on the first foor is a dining room where we were served breakfast, which was lovely blueberry pancakes and fruits. There is a restaurant that serves dinner which was not open the night we were there. The gardens and grounds are really lovely and hte owners very friendly. The portable AC unit did cool the room down enough so that we could open the windows after going out to dinner. We enjoyed our stay here but the price was astronomical. I know it was high season, and we came to visit friends that could only be visited at that time, so there was little choice if we wanted to be up island. But wow, over $500. in all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cambridgtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We visited Martha's Vineyard at the end of our Cape Cod vacation and wanted some quiet relaxation. Outermost Inn FAR exceeded our expectations. We were greeted upon our arrival by Hugh and his wife Jeannie. They were the most gracious, kind and efficient hosts you could ask for.
The Inn is tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Our room (we stayed in B-ASH) had a lovely view of the ocean and the gardens.
The breakfast was fresh and so delicious. The on-sight restaurant is incredible, clearly run by a top notch chef.
We have NO regrets and fully recommend The Outermost Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

That's what you're made to feel like when visiting the Outermost and stepping into Hugh and Jeannie's lovely Inn. It was picture perfect - charming, intimate, with beautiful grounds, attentive service, and wonderful hosts. It is a small place - only 7 rooms - and it has a lively dinner crowd in season. We stayed in the lighthouse room, which has its own separate entrance, parking, and terrace - a very nice room. I would recommend the walk to a private beach - not far, but with a steep descent at the end - and eating dinner there at least one night, as the kitchen prepares fresh and imaginative cuisine. Hugh cooks a top notch breakfast for guests each morning as well. If you're there on a Wed or Sat check out the farmers market in West Tisbury, but get there early!
Thanks to the Taylors (and Celeste!) for making this such an enjoyable, memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Our introduction to the Outermost could NOT have been more picture-perfect in every respect. There for a wedding, the charm, hospitality, and overall quality was over-the-top excellent. Innkeepers Hugh & Jeannie are the perfect hosts, and the Inn reflects their sense of quality. The dinner was top-notch, as was Hugh's breakfast. If 4 stars is the best, they deserve 5. Thank you Taylors! -MOE A.

Room Tip: The SW corner has two lovely views and great cross-breeze. They call it the "Bash" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granville, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

I recently returned from a lovely visit at the Outermost Inn celebrating a family event. What a gorgeous location! The grounds are lovely and within a few minutes walk you can be looking at spectacular views from the lighthouse, having lunch at a deck overlooking the ocean or having a memorable beach walk at sunset.

Hugh, Jeannie, Celeste ( who patiently took 8,562 retakes of a family photo!), Alex and staff were welcoming, friendly and truly made you feel at home. Normally I don't hang out in public rooms or on the grounds but at the Inn I felt perfectly comfortable spending time reading on the comfy couch or outside on an adirondack chair.

The breakfasts were delicious and it was fun to hang out with family at the bar on the porch in the evening.

As mentioned in other reviews , it is pretty far to drive to anything but the scenery is enjoyable and stops at Chilmark chocolates, the Chilmark general store ( for fresh french bread and Cheese) and a visit to the artisans craft fair made the driving worthwhile.

This is a wonderful spot to step away from life for a few days made special by very gracious hosts and staff!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatCT202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I just got back from my 3rd stay at the Outermost Inn. We spent 3 nights there last week and also enjoyed a wonderful dinner there, too. Each morning began with a delicious, thoughtful breakfast. One day is eggs, next day is waffles, etc., plus a fruit cup with inventive sorbet flavors.
Every afternoon we would trek down to the beach and sit in the sun and read for a couple hours. I really had fun taking pictures of the expansive vegetable garden and the striking flowers around the inn. Our room had a pretty arrangement of pink and white lilies picked from their cutting garden. We also enjoyed sitting at the outside bar, watching the sunset while four deers grazed on the lawn. Celeste was so pleasant and friendly at the front desk, as was all of the staff. Jeanne and Hugh Taylor made us feel like we were old friends of theirs, just stopping by for a visit. I will treasure the memory of this quiet, beautiful place.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keniston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aquinnah
13.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
805 reviews
17.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
959 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
16.0 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
120 reviews
3.9 mi away
Menemsha Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outermost Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outermost Inn

Property: Outermost Inn
Address: 81 Lighthouse Rd, Aquinnah, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02535-1362
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Aquinnah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aquinnah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing