We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ski trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Solitude
Ranked #1 of 1 Solitude B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I went with three other buddies and we split two rooms. My room had a little kitchenette as well as two beds (queens or fulls?), a decent size sofa and a table with four chairs.

The proximity to the lifts was the reason to pick this hotel.

The mountain was great and the ability to ski two resorts from one hotel was excellent. Just be careful when skiing over to Brighton, as the gate wasn't that well marked. Easy to do though as long as you're careful to look for the gate.

The Inn is small and so is the hot tub. The size of the hot tub was a bit disappointing, but in reality it never stopped us. Why they built it so small is a mystery. I was told by one of the front desk people that they would be expanding the hotel where the "administrative offices" are, but I have no way to know if it is true.

The room rate included breakfast and that consisted of scrambled eggs, bacon (nice and crispy), potatoes, pastries/bagels, coffee etc. Also, some cereal, juice, yoghurt etc. Very nice.

The best part of the hotel is the St. Bernards restaurant. We ate there three nights in a row. Our group tried the trout, rack of lamb, duck, pork, steak and maybe one more thing and we loved each dish. It was a pleasure to walk to the first floor of the hotel after a day of skiing. We had no interest to go elsewhere.

The room could have a little updating to the furniture, but maybe it was just ugly?

Someone else said that they had to reuse towels for three days. I wonder if they got into a condo and I believe those rooms don't get towel service every day. Showers were more than adequate.

The only reason I don't rate this a 5* is because it's not the Four Seasons and the hot tub is a bit inadequate for a 5* hotel. The service was excellent from the front desk people.

I did check out the "Club at Solitude" and it was nice. Media room, video games, pool table, swimming pool with slide and two hot tubs. The problem was that the hot tubs were packed. We asked about the steam room (schvitz) but they told us about the sauna. A sauna and steam room are as different as milk and meat.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

"The Inn blends the cozy feel of a Bavarian lodge with the service & amenities you'd expect at a fine hotel." Well maybe not.. particularly if you enjoy making your own bed, reusing towels for 3 days and staring at full waste baskets. A "fine" experience indeed. Mind you this was not without making an attempt to get service after calling the front desk to send housekeeping up after 4:00 the afternoon. Away from that, would very much consider coming back as the location and proximity to the lifts etc cannot be surpassed. Breakfast, best overcooked scrambled eggs in the valley. Dinner at Bernard's though was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for room with Maid Service that shows up before you check out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over President's Day weekend.The staff was helpful and welcoming. The room was standard in size and furnishings and was comfortable and clean. Great location close to the slopes and restaurants with shuttle services available if needed. We had dinner at Bernard's and tried a few different drinks from the bar and both were pleasant experiences. The real burning over sized fireplace is a nice touch. A hot breakfast was serviced every morning. I enjoyed spa services during my stay the services were wonderful however the treatment rooms and spa is dated and in need of a remodel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were very surprised at the size and comfort of our room. It was an extra large room with 2 queens and a large couch. Plenty of room to spread out and unpack. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The whole facility is clean and well kept. Very close to restaurants , ski rentals and maybe 20 yards to the Apex Lift. Perfect place

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurboLax7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We first stayed here 3 years ago, and then returned December 2012, and were pleased to find that none of the standards we'd appreciated the first time have been relaxed.

The Inn has unusually nice rooms for a ski lodge-type of accommodation (i.e., I'm not comparing it to a Four Seasons at a see-and-be-seen ski resort). Higher quality materials went into the construction, and design and details go well beyond "keep the costs down" standards. There is an attended reception desk and they will respond reasonably quickly to any request; on the other hand, staffing levels are a notch below a full-service hotel. Again, not a problem for us, but did seem "quieter" as a result.

Bernards, the restaurant, is truly excellent - it would do just fine in Deer Valley, for example, and yet it is usually serenely quiet. And it has something very unusual in most lodges today - a real, wood-burning fireplace.

Solitude itself is a great mountain with notoriously non-existant lift-lines. All-in-all, this is a great choice of a "restorative" ski vacation.

Room Tip: Pick mountain-facing on top floor... but ask for one of the rooms with a vaulted ceiling if availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of April as part of a family ski vacation. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the inn is in a great location for the slopes (3 minute walk) And the ski locker easily accessible on way to/ from the slopes. The outside pool and jacuzzi at the Inn were a big hit, being nicely located by the slopes although a little tired looking. However we experienced poor service from a number of staff at the inn. The room was not made up until 5pm on a number of days and even then it wasn't vacuumed. The service at breakfast was terrible: the selection of food was very limited for a "buffet" breakfast (1 hot dish of eggs, two cereals, one fruit and a few pastries). All ran out often and were either refreshed too infrequently so that there was no food, or in some cases we were informed they had run out as it was close to the end of the season, even though this was still well over a week away. The breakfast attendant was especially grumpy and the vacated breakfast tables not cleared quickly enough. Reception staff were disinterested and unhelpful, although Philip the manager was a pleasant exception to the majority. Spa service was lovely however, but really only limited to treatment rooms: lovely massage/ facial.

At full price not sure we would stay at the Inn again because although we like to ski Solitude mountain (which is wonderful), the Inn is lacking some of the quality and service we'd expect for the price. Next time we might choose a condo instead....

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debandjimUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Solitude for 3 nights. We enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and nicely furnished - consistent with a 4-star hotel, but probably not a 5-star hotel. The hotel was reasonably quiet, although there was a family with children staying in the room above ours and there was some loud thumping on our ceiling when the kids were running around.
The continental breakfast buffet was decent, but nothing great. On one morning during a fairly busy weekend, the hotel ran out of milk, which is kind of a major error on somebody's part.
If you're a skier/snowboarder, you certainly can't beat the location.
My wife booked a massage in the spa one afternoon and she definitely enjoyed that too.
I think our only other minor gripe is that they over-heat the hotel in the winter to the point that it felt stuffy at times. Even with the thermostat turned all the way down in our room, it felt too warm. We needed to open the window at night to feel comfortable sleeping. On the other hand, it was really nice that there were humidifiers available in the rooms because the air in Solitude is severely dry.
Final piece of advice to skiers/snowboarders... don't go to Solitude if you're looking for lots of lively nightlife options in the resort village. You won't find it here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solitude
4.9 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
1.4 mi away
Silver Fork Lodge
Silver Fork Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brighton
86 reviews
4.2 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City/Cottonwood
5.4 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
628 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Solitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Solitude

Address: 12000 E Big Cottonwood Canyon Rd, Solitude, UT 84121-9710
Region: United States > Utah > Solitude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Solitude
Price Range: £187 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Solitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn blends the cozy feel of a Bavarian lodge with the service & amenities you'd expect at a fine hotel. Nestled in the heart of Solitude's pedestrian village guests will enjoy a true ski in/ ski out experience to world class terrain. Each of our 46 rooms are equipped with a refrigerator, free wi-fi and a flat-panel 37" LCD TV with DVD player. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn at Solitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Solitude Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing