We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
11
4
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
4
4
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

If you are going to spend much of your time outside (and why not?? - this is in a middle of a beautiful outdoor area in every direction), it's a good spot for overnighting several nights. We visited in the fall & it was awe inspiring.

The resort could use a refurb, but it's clean and our unit had a fireplace. The staff was welcoming- though not onsite after 5pm. No shampoo here - bring your own.

We will probably return- not because of unit - but because of the natural beauty.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

The beauty of Powderhorn Lodge is its location -- right in Solitude Village and steps from the slopes. Other than that, the condo itself was relatively typical. Furnishings were dated as was the kitchen. Amenities were adequate. Would likely look around Solitude a little bit more before staying at this Lodge again. Having said that, we did have plenty of space and the skiing was fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

If you're looking for pampering, you're in the WRONG place ... go to Park City, UT!! Maybe this changes with Solitude's new owner: Deer Valley, but both Big and Little Cottonwood Canyons are solely for skiing!! They are both watersheds and thus, can host only so much commercial activity. It's about the copious snow in-bounds and the easy access to the backcountry.

I LOVE it here! No pretension, just ski. Drop your skis in the lockers, free parking if you're a guest there, walk to the lifts (only a few hundred feet away). The ticket office and rental office are there in the bldg. There are some adequate food/drink choices in the Village. But it's all about the skiing --on-piste, you can access Soli --Honeycomb Canyon and Brighton (next door). If you're educated about the backcountry, exit the gates or cross Big Cottonwood Canyon Rd, and the bounty is plentiful -- you can ski to PC off the ridge or Alta through Highway to Heaven. You can bootpack 300-ft. to get into Silver Fork Canyon and lap back in-bounds. It is quite awesome.

Bottom line: if you're a dedicated skier, you'll love it here. Otherwise, you're better off at Deer Valley, and they'll bring your heated ski boots to you on the lift. ;)

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

The Solitude Village is a beautiful area with great access to skiing and snowshoeing. We stayed at a 2 bedroom 2 bath condo - Powderhorn 220. The unit was very comfortable, cozy and well decorated. It felt as if we were in the Swiss alps! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Powderhorn 220 is great!
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Powderhorn Lodge has many benefits. Walk to the lifts. Easy ski storage. Great service when we needed the thermostat checked. Walk to St Bernard's and Honeycomb Grill, great views, good hot tub in the building as well as work our facilities nearby and most importantly superb skiing.

But off all the condo's and homes we have stayed at in ski resorts across the continent, this may be the most...average. The sheets on our bed were worn and had holes in them. There was no garbage disposal unit! Decorations were spartan - not even a picture in our bedroom. Electric range. Only one humidifier in the condo. Powderhorn was not the place one walks into and says "Wow!" (in a good way).

If Deer Valley, the new owners, have their say this should change. But until then, Powderhorn is just...average. More like a Days Inn than even a Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a condo where the owner cares, decorates and has added amenities to make your stay special.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John22308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews