We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for beginners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Village at Solitude
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We went snowboarding and had a wonderful time. I had taken lessons two other times, but never got as much out of them as I did this session. It is a very scenic area, and they really seem to want you to have a great visit so you will come back. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

We are Vermont skiers who ventured out west for the first time and had a great experience staying at Solitude Ski Resort in the middle of February. The Village is very nice and laid back even as the week got a bit busier with President's week right around the corner. We prefer less crowds and chaos so this suited us well.

The Honeycomb Grill was a pleasant experience for dinner. We are vegans and had a wonderful pasta dinner with very good wine and friendly service. The Thirsty Squirrel Bar was another place in the village where we enjoyed beer but only went in one evening. With a fully equipped kitchen in our condo it was nice to make dinner most nights and sip wine while enjoying a good book. And with several Wholefoods stores in SLC within 30-45 minutes of Solitude, (even one at the bottom on the canyon) we made healthy delicious food. Another nice aspect of the village was that Starbucks coffee was served in the village pizza place and we enjoyed nice soy lattes on our last day. Wish we had discovered that sooner! We heard that St Bernards restaurant was supposed to be very upscale with great wine so we'll try it the next time. Another aspect I enjoyed was the evening ambiance when walking around at night. Some of the trees are lit up at night and there is an ice skating rink right in the center of the village. Overall we felt at home in the village and will definitely return again soon! It's a very welcoming and friendly place.

We rented a very nice one bedroom condo in Eagle Springs West (unit 309) for the week. The only complaint we had was that we could hear the people above us. The first night there was a family packing loudly at 11pm!! We actually knocked on the door and asked that they keep the noise down. The 3rd family that arrived on Thursday was also a bit noisy with a very energetic child running all over the condo. This is not the fault of the owners or mangement. The floors/ceilings are just not sound proof. ***Next time we will stay on the forth floor!!!**** If you don't mind the noise of people above you then I would recommend 309.

Other than the noise it's a lovely condo. The owners pay attention to the details and provide you with almost everything you would need. The kitchen was great and even had a blender for my green smoothies. We had almost everything we needed to cook nice meals at night. The gas fireplace was very warm and cozy and the sofas were very comfortable for reading at night. While the bedroom was small, the king sized bed was comfy and we slept fine when we weren't awake from the people above us. The shower head needs to be replaced but it got the job done. The bathroom was spacious and there were plenty of towels and bathroom supplies. We also enjoyed the views of the mountain. We could see 3 chairlifts running in the morning at 7am while sipping our coffee.

The large hot tub was right below our window was also very nice. It felt great after skiing. We would go in early after the day's adventure to avoid other people as I like my privacy. There is also a very pretty outdoor pool in the village. I was hoping I could swim laps but it wasn't quite big enough. There is a gym and club (Club Solitude) with activities, games, computers, media room etc. We only ventured in once just to check it out. A nice place for families.

Skiing Solitude was special and we enjoyed it so much. They had gotten snow the day before so we had a lot of fun in the Honeycomb canyon. It's a great mountain and I can't wait to ski it again!

Overall it was an amazing vacation. I'm so glad we found Solitude.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th floor of Eagle Springs West to avoid hearing the people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joycevt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at Eagle Springs East before Thanksgiving and really enjoyed it. The Village is very scenic and tranquil, without the crowds of other resorts. We actually snowboarded at Brighton, which is just a few minutes away. The heated pool and hot tub were very nice and kids had a good time in the game room. The St. Bernard restaurant was great and probably our favorite part of the trip. We actually returned for a second visit after New Years and also had a good time, but stayed in a different unit(2214) and were a little disappointed in quality of the beds and lack of a view. But overall, a great spot with friendly staff in a really nice environment.

Room Tip: 2202 is a very good room with good beds and nice views of village and slopes. 2214 is adjacent to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkrpctl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at unit 201 of Eagle Springs West over the MLK weekend. The unit was spacious, fully equipped and nicely appointed. Since we only stayed four nights, there wasn't any maid service, but additional towels/toiletries were available on request. Our unit was at the end of the hall, but we could easily hear other guests across the hallway. Fortunately, they weren't too noisy too late in the evening.

The unit has underground parking which affords loading/unloading out of the elements. There is an indoor storage locker for outdoor equipment which also is handy. A free shuttle bus runs regularly to take you to the other parts of Solitude.

Solitude has a variety of outdoor activities including, downhill and cross country skiing, snowshoe trails, and even ice skating. We mostly used the cross country and snow shoe trails and found them interesting and fun. The rental and front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

The village offers a few places to eat. We ate at the Honeycomb Grill and had a good meal for a decent value. St. Bernards was a bit more upscale and didn't disappoint. The Thirsty Squirrel was a convenient and uncrowded place for drinks. We also had dinner at the Yurt which was a fun and delicious experience (dress in layers as it gets very warm in the Yurt).

Overall, the stay was great and we enjoyed Solitude.

Room Tip: The noise from the hallway and other units seemed to carry. If you are looking for quiet, try an end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejbondar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Stayed in Creekside Condo 315 with our family of 5 and 2 friends (all over 20). Hard to really discribe how great Solitude is to visit and ski. The staff was always so helpful with any request we had. The roof top hot tub was great after skiing all day. Convenience to slopes could not be easier and private ski lockers with a door leading to the slopes took ski-in / ski-out to a new level. The Village is so inviting that it makes you not want to go off site for anything. We even let them arrange for shuttle from/to the airport (with a stop at a local grocery to boot) and they always got us great prices. Jason at the main desk was a great asset and always greeted me by first name, and the staff at the Yurt (our excellent Chef Paul and our guide and server Jaseth) made that experience truly special and that is where we celebrated our baby girl's 21st Birthday. Everyone working at Solitude seems so happy and they were always asking how things were going, making jokes as you got on the lifts, helping with firewood, helping you up when you fell, and just being really nice to all of us. The bartender (wish I could remember his name) at the Thirsty Squirell even kept the bar open late the night of our daughter's 21st Birthday so we could come in after the Yurt ( and he took a really great picture of the entire group). And Solitude lived up to its name, never waited at a single lift and that was on days with 12" of new powder snow. I cannot think of anything that could have made our trip any better. Thanks to all the Staff and Owners of Solitude.

Room Tip: Creekside or the Inn have true Ski-in / Ski-out and at Creekside you have a full kitchen for cooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winchester-Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I stayed at solitude, at the Creekside condominiums and I couldn't have been happier with the rooms and beautiful surroundings. Me and my family loved our stay and would highly recommend solitude lodgings. Stone Haus pizza was delicious as well!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alextripready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Typically stay at the Peruvian at Alta but have had a great spring break trip here at Solitude- will have to come back as the terrain looks great but the off year for snow ( half normal yearly totals and really thin in spots now ) has kept this trip to mostly groomers. Location here at the Eagle Springs East couldn't be much better- 200 feet or so to the snow through a quaint village setting. Very quiet except for the large number of spring break families - Trip to the village bar found my wife and I the only patrons ( weird but Utah mid week and late in the season). Great kitchen and access to a variably heated pool and 2 nice and large hot tubs. Friendly staff at Club Solitude with towels and lists of movies in the theater room. Fast internet (using it now) , excellent well equiped kitchen for 6 with ease, very comfortable beds and an in unit washer dryer here in unit 201 with great views of village, slopes and pool. Also 3 large flat screen tv's in each room, each with its own dvd player. Hopefully will be back next yr with more typical Wasatch Powder dumps !

Room Tip: Eagle Springs East bldg has the pools and hot tubs and game and movie room for all of Club Solitude
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solitude hotels
11.2 mi away
The Inn at Solitude
The Inn at Solitude
#1 of 1 in Solitude
65 reviews
11.2 mi away
Powderhorn Lodge
Powderhorn Lodge
#3 of 5 in Solitude
21 reviews
6.3 mi away
Creekside at Solitude
Creekside at Solitude
#4 of 5 in Solitude
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village at Solitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village at Solitude

Address: 11782 E Big Cottonwood Canyon Rd, Solitude, UT 84121
Region: United States > Utah > Solitude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Solitude
Price Range: £175 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village at Solitude is home to a wide range of accommodations, featuring luxurious 1-3 bedroom condos in unique, tasteful settings. Whether you prefer the slopeside condos at Creekside, the elegance of Powderhorn Lodge, the majestic views of Eagle Springs East or West, or the spacious townhomes at The Crossings, it's impossible to go wrong here. Each accommodation offers its own unique style & services, while still capturing the true spirit of Solitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Village at Solitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village At Solitude Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing