We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai around”
Review of Coconut Garden

Coconut Garden
Ranked #10 of 93 Restaurants in Dunstable
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$115
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: First Thai, Malaysian and Singaporean Restaurant in Bedfordshire. Established 1992.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Thai around”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Coconut garden is one of the best places to eat in Dunstable and definitely the best place for thai - the menu is fab and often changing and the staff are overly smiley and aim to please. The prices are reasonable too. The owner and her daughter make every effort to help and they know their food - even recommending dished based on how hot you like food or if you hate nuts!! They will not give away the secret to the sticky rice though!! If you let them know you are celebrating they will help make it extra special!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ashlea c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highflier168, Manager at Coconut Garden, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you very much for your amazingly kind review. It's always our pleasure to see customers enjoyed themselves when they visit us in the restaurant. We are extremely humbled by your comment and certainly looking forward to seeing you all again.

It's review like yours that keeps us going and strive to achieve better.

Thank you and looking forward to seeing you all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    12
    6
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Thai in town”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Went to the Ciconut Garden with some friends and came away happy.From the fantastic food to the really friendly family atmosphere.Cannot compliment them enough.Excellent all round.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NAS0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highflier168, Manager at Coconut Garden, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for your amazing kind review. It's always our pleasure to see customers enjoyed themselves when they visit us in the restaurant. We are extremely humbled by your comment and certainly looking forward to seeing you all again.

It's review like yours that keeps us going and strive to achieve better.

Thank you and see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely family restaurant, food ok”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We went to the Coconut Garden for a celebratory meal after reading the reviews on here. We were made very welcome by the owner's daughter who was our waitress for the evening. I had the pad thai which was pleasant and my partner had a spicy chicken stirfry which he enjoyed. This restaurant is averagely priced (it cost us £30 for a starter to share, 2 mains and 2 soft drinks) and if it was busy there probably would not be a lot of space in there but we will probably go back when next lusting after a thai.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AEGL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highflier168, Manager at Coconut Garden, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review and we are very pleased that you've both enjoyed your meal. We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you again when you are listing for a Thai meal.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Thai”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My girlfriend and I visited for the first time last night following the reviews on Tripadvisor. They were not wrong, we were greeted by the staff pleasantly and the food was out of the world. Must try the Malaysian Barbeque Spicy Ribs and the Green curry. We were blown by the experience and the price was very reasonable considering we were stuffed and couldn't move after the meal. We were offered coffee and desserts followed by more free top up.

We will be returning soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CoJames081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highflier168, Manager at Coconut Garden, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you very much for your brilliant review. We are extremely humbled by your comment and certainly looking forward to seeing you all again. It's positive review like yours that pushes us further and I am extremely happy that you and your girlfriend thoroughly enjoyed yourselves with us.

Thank you and see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The BEST if nothing”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I have frequented this restaurant regularly over the last 20 years and never ever have we had a bad meal. I don't usually write reviews as I don't think it clearly reflects the true reality of the night. Sometimes we have good experience and sometimes we have bad and our taste are never the same or this would be a boring world to live in.

Ken is an amazing chef and Lily is an amazing host, we've always enjoyed their company and food, which is why we go there all the time. Our families have always opted to go to The Coconut Garden for birthdays, anniversaries etc... My son is planning to have his wedding reception in this restaurant, he's been eating there since he was 9 years old. Alicia is a brilliant waitress although a bit shy to start with, she's a Mini Lily as we called her. She is after all her daughter!

I really felt the need to comment because of the previous review, how is paying more attentions to regulars a bad thing? Lily have always sat and chatted with us and when my dad passed away, she sent us the biggest bouquet of flowers to us? This restaurant is not only run by our good friends but they are our family too!!

Best Thai Green curry is found in this little humble restaurant run by an amazing couple with careful attentions and love. If this is not the best place on Earth, I don't know where!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikitaPlemboyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highflier168, Manager at Coconut Garden, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you very much for your amazing review Nikita. It's always our pleasure to see you and Bryan in the restaurant. You've been with us for so many years and I won't be able to say thank you with just a few words.

We are extremely humbled by your comment and certainly looking forward to seeing you all again. I was quite disappointed when I read the previous comment but hey, as you said we can't please everyone and only those that we care matters to us.

Thank you and see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coconut Garden also viewed

 
Dunstable, Bedfordshire
Dunstable, Bedfordshire
 
Dunstable, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Coconut Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing