We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post Concert Stay in Dunstable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Reviewed 25 June 2013

A group of us wanted a comfortable night's stay near The Grove Theatre Dunstable. The Old Palace Lodge hit the spot with comfy rooms at a great price, friendly service and an all night bar! The breakfast the next morning was exactly what was needed to balance the alcohol consumption from the previous night. Well cooked, pleasantly served and nothing was too much trouble. I had read some mixed reviews in advance of my stay but would definitely return

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a couple of nights in June as it was handy for Luton and a short drive or train ride from central London. This Ivy-clad historic Lodge is an absolute gem with luxurious facilities, great dining and exceptionally warm and friendly staff, which made our stay a most enjoyable experience. The building itself is a converted farmhouse on a historic royal site and retains the feel of a medieval lodge featuring superb wood panelling throughout. We stayed in the Anne of Cleaves suite which featured a beautiful 4 poster bed, beautiful drapes, period-like furnishing, a period bath-tub at the foot of the bed as well as the modern touches such as a large, modern walk-in bathroom and shower, LED television, Wii Fi and all of the other extras that you would would not look out of place in a first class hotel. The breakfast and evening meals were of a high standard and the staff were exceptionally warm and friendly making our stay really enjoyable and memorable. The owner, Victoria, was extremely warm and welcoming and made us feel very special. Other staff also deserve a mention including Richard, a barman with a great sense of humour who provided an excellent service, James who made the check in welcoming and so simple, and not forgetting Ali and Perlita who were so friendly and helpful and who made our dining experience an absolute pleasure. It is so reassuring in this world of corporate chains of plastic hotels with plastic people to find this real gem of a hotel with genuinely warm and friendly staff.We will definitely be returning here in the near future and cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are of a very high standard too but, if you can, it is well worth treating yourse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoohooWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I spend the third of my life in this hotel. I couldn`t imagine better place to stay in Dunstable! The rooms are beautiful, old english styled, the food is incredible and the members of the stuff are so friendly, when I arrive to the hotel, I feel like I`m home!
You can enjoy a breakfast which you can`t anywhere else! I recommend the scrambled eggs with salmon ;)

Room Tip: Every room is fantastic, but if you are with your partner, then I recommend the "Honeymoon Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agnesdr_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times on business, over the last seven years, and I can't get enough of it. The quality of the decor, rooms, food and especially the staff is excellent.
The quaint bar, complete with open fire in the winter months, adds a feeling of charm, and personality. The decor is beautiful and the whole atmosphere, when you walk through the door, makes you feel you have arrived home. As with anyone who continually has to be away with work, the hotel chains do not offer this and the OPL is a true hidden gem in the area. There is absolutely nothing in the are that compares with this establishment.
The rooms are comfortable, clean with free wifi and nice personal touches ( like the complimentary water and Haribo sweets-love it)
The staff are professional, accommodating , and at last a hotel where the staff are allowed to have personalities ( a lot of the chains seem to suck the personality out of there staff , with scripted welcomes and cloned practices)
The food is excellent, wicked breakfasts, and excellent choice of bar and restaurant meals. Would like to see some simpler choices on the bar menu, but this is only a personal preference.
Special mention to a couple of staff, Richard , you are a real asset to the bar, where your skill and personality, probably makes you one of the best.
Kylie your professionalism and customer obsession shines through, and cascades to your team. You make the whole OPL experience seamless and a pleasure.
The OPL had connections with Henry VIII , I am sure if he revisited the OPL, he would not be disappointed in fact would probably be writing a review on tripadvisor
BOOK NOW.....you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If its a special romantic occasion try 124 or 125
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshcake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stay in the Luton area a few times a week due to my offices being located in the area. I normally stay in the Harpenden area and occasionally stay in the Old Palace due to convenience.

The hotel is well equipped for the occasional night with a small but functional gym (a few more pieces of equipment would be great), nice bar, free WiFi and ample parking on site.

However, a good nights sleep can depend on what part of the hotel you're placed in. The past few occasions I've been placed overlooking the kitchen which means big fans on till 10pm, chefs smoking outside the kitchen, porters generally being noisy and messing about till late in the night. Not normally a problem on a chilly night but on a hot evening it's impossible to settle with the window open.

The rooms are well equipped and comfortable though can be really hot and without any ac it's impossible to cool the room to a comfortable level.

The past few visits I've experienced really unreliable and patchy internet connection, which when one's staying on business can be problematic. Really been having trouble the last few times along with a few in my party too - which has put us off from returning as a business guest.

Food is ok, nothing special and a bit pricy but generally hits the spot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamB595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stated here for one night with two children. Room only, good price. Free wi-fi, room clean and tidy and just big enough for the four of us(for what we paid!) Nice touch of two cartons of orange juice for kids and two bottles of mineral water, as well as usual tea, coffee etc. Did not eat anything on site so cannot comment. (Sadly went to Adessos, a few minutes away, not advised). Value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichH680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were at a wedding in a village nearby. We love staying here as we had our wedding reception here last year in December and we have stayed here on numerous occasions in the past. Check in is painless and the rooms are always lovely. We were in room 119 which was on the ground floor towards the back of the hotel. Lovely spacious room with a nice sized bathroom and a decent shower. Very clean and very comfortable. We did an early bird booking so had booked it in advance of a month and the room tariff was very reasonable. Breakfast was in addition and was a mixture of continental and an assortment of hot breakfasts including a full English.
We always recommend this hotel to friends and relatives who visit and stay over for family functions.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms towards the back of the hotel because if there is a function going on you may be distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paws884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
7.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
4.2 mi away
The Leaside Hotel
The Leaside Hotel
#4 of 26 in Luton
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Luton
Travelodge Luton
#16 of 26 in Luton
436 reviews
5.6 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Palace Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Palace Lodge Hotel

Address: Church Street, Dunstable LU5 4RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price Range: £43 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Palace Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel is a newly awarded 4 star hotel located in the historic Market Town of Dunstable.With 68 en-suite spacious bedrooms, designed to a standard or executive level, and three meeting and events suites, offering the perfect for business seminars and private functions, the hotel has been described as a jewel in Dunstable and it really is....The popular Henry Restaurant has welcomed Andrew Hill as the new Executive Head Chef. Andrew and his brigade have comprised a set of exciting brand new menus, from the A La Carte, Wedding, Banqueting to the room and lounge. Children and non residents are welcome.The Old Palace Lodge offers complimentary on-site car parking, Fully equipped on-site gym and complimentary WI-FI internet access. Ideally located, The Old Palace Lodge is in walking distance to Dunstable Town and situated only 10 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Town of Luton and Luton Airport. The M1 junction 11 is located 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Palace Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Palace Hotel Dunstable
Old Palace Hotel
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel Dunstable, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing