We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice room and fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very nice room and fantastic staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The room was ideal with little noise and excellent blackout curtains. Food was excellent but very pricey. staff were really friendly and offered a very personal touch. Breakfast was very nice but would have to be a special treat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthew1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    150
    63
    21
    12
See reviews for
83
97
15
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our family attend a celebration of life at the Old palace lodge on Monday 1st July. The staff are a absolute credit to the management team. The way the day was handled was as good as it could be. Food great and there was plenty to go around. Staff helpfull and kind. Bar staff brilliant speedy service. Thank you once again for the great service and to all the staff that helped. 5 Star !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bray1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Clean, fresh, comfortable stay. The room service was quick and the food was delicious although not very big portions for the price! Some of the reviews talk about thin walls - not a lot you can do about that. We were woken at 7am by screaming children so my advice to the hotel would be put families on the ground floor and not above couples. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 136 was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night in September to break up a long drive home and to visit Whipsnade zoo. Having driven through Dunstable we were a bit worried about the location, the hotel seems totally out of place amongst the bookies, takeaway joints and pawnbrokers that litter the high street. It has a distinct medieval theme with rooms named after kings wives etc. The room was very nice and food was great, however the teenage staff were a bit clueless and the WiFi wasn't working Which is pretty poor for any hotel & my husband was quite annoyed. The response we got at reception was 'yeah I know it's bad isn't it?!'

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyboogaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here on business for two nights in a ground floor room which was very dark and quite depressing overall, clean but tired looking really.
The breakfast (£11,95 I think) was dreadful from start to finish. The waiter was miserable, and showed me to a used table for some reason then proceeded to clear and set it around me, there were many other ready tables so this was strange. A rack of cold toast was dumped on the table straight away and eventually a plastic thermal jug of coffee (allegedly!) arrived - managed to get a cup too on the second time of asking! The full English breakfast was awful including mushrooms swimming in grease, a little container of stone cold baked beans and a hash brown which was black inside with something that resembled mould.
This whole place is overpriced, and although Dunstable has little to offer in terms of hotel accommodation, the Premier Inn along the road is far superior.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were attending a local sporting event were we unfortunately came a croper as my wife broke her collar bone and ended up in hospital. We stayed to compete and my wife stayed at the hotel for the duration of the weekend. The hotel staff were tip top and could not have asked them to have helped more and so friendly 5*, the service was excellent as was the food and rooms. But the room we had seemed to have super fine walls and ceilings, we were very unlikey that we had a couple at it the first night for 2 hours in the room above and when you have a 7 year old child asking why she can hear a dog wining it gets tricky. The next day the reception had had some complaints but this happens so I was happy to let it go. Unfortunately for us the next night we had two guys staying in the room above who came back from a pub around the corner at 3am and we were awoken by this, they proceeded to talk very loudly and laugh and joke, I had to call reception 3 times to get this sorted, I even threatened to go and sort it myself as they couldnt find the room the noise was coming from ??? its above me lol. They eventually phoned the room (which I heard the full conversation). They proceeded to use the bathroom and get in to bed, together and we had about 45mins of noisy sex before they fell asleep and started snoring! We had to be up at 6.30am! It was a weekend of hell but to be fair we were very unlucky I did get a refund for the the second night which the hotel were very apologetic about, it wasnt there fault but if you are a light sleep perhaps ask for a quiet room, then there is no excuse.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room perhaps on second floor with no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago and to our delight,nothing has changed. Although the hotel was hosting a wedding reception and it was extremely busy, this did not interfere with our stay. Our bedroom was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We did ask for an extra towels, which were sent up to us straight away. We did not dine on this visit as we were taken out by our friends, but we did dine at breakfast, again very busy, but the food and service was spot on. We paid just under £100 for our stay, which i believe for a 4 star hotel is very good value for money. The service was excellent and we will be back again hopefully next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hertsman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable South A5 Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable / Luton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Palace Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Palace Lodge Hotel

Property: The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
Address: Church Street, Dunstable LU5 4RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Palace Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel is a newly awarded 4 star hotel located in the historic Market Town of Dunstable.With 68 en-suite spacious bedrooms, designed to a standard or executive level, and three meeting and events suites, offering the perfect for business seminars and private functions, the hotel has been described as a jewel in Dunstable and it really is....The popular Henry Restaurant has welcomed Andrew Hill as the new Executive Head Chef. Andrew and his brigade have comprised a set of exciting brand new menus, from the A La Carte, Wedding, Banqueting to the room and lounge. Children and non residents are welcome.The Old Palace Lodge offers complimentary on-site car parking, Fully equipped on-site gym and complimentary WI-FI internet access. Ideally located, The Old Palace Lodge is in walking distance to Dunstable Town and situated only 10 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Town of Luton and Luton Airport. The M1 junction 11 is located 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Palace Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Palace Hotel Dunstable
Old Palace Hotel
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel Dunstable, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing