We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A good hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stopped here for one night as I was flying out of Luton early next morning. An excellent hotel, nice feel to the public area's with wood panelling and a nice relaxed atmosphere in the bar area. Nice spacious room and comfortable bed, a good nights sleep, would definitely stop here again and probably try the restaurant out as it looked good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelledGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    154
    65
    21
    12
See reviews for
84
99
15
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the Old Palace Lodge on 21st June and were surprised to find it in the center of the town. The name suggested. We were pleasantly surprised to find it was still characterful in the old part of the building with beautiful carved wooden fireplace in reception.
The rooms had all the facilities of a modern hotel and were well maintained and comfortable with nice furnishings.
Breakfast was a cold buffet with a good variety of foods on offer whilst a full English breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty according to my husband.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful in all the parts of the hotel we used. When we arrived the dining room was set for a wedding and looked beautiful from the table settings to the decorations and flowers.
I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 129. It has an air conditioner unit outside which is quite noisy.However, when my husband...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiblein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Dark, dingy entrance and dining room, although bedrooms bright and airy. Accommodation was average - old fashioned bath with shower over (why not a nice modern enclosure?). Very noisy if windows opened - so with no aircon, a quiet but a very warm room. For a 4* quoting 'award winning chef' breakfast was v disappointing. Omelet (which was not even cooked correctly - please look it up in your cook book!) took 20 mins to arrive...and before the toast! Coffee was v poor quality and limited fresh fruit unless you like green bananas and small green apples.Nothing to write home about, and definitely not a 4*

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnysailorboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My sister and I had a lovely relaxing stay here at the weekend. Very clean room and attentive service. Restaurant and bar food excellent, although chips a little strange. Would definitely come again though. A great find and highly recommended.

Room Tip: No air conditioning in room but not a problem as could sleep with window open but be careful on a Sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Went there for a week end very nice very friendly food excellent we up graded our room when booking and l must say superb lovely size room and bathroom everything you need right down to a iron and ironing board and was not expensive defiantly will be going again and defiantly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

First time I've stayed at this hotel as I normally stay at the Holiday Inn Express... But have to say the service has been excellent and the food was probably one of the best meals I've had for a long time ! Will definitively be making this hotel my first choice in the future when I have to stay in Dubstable ...

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 889LorraineK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Have visited this Hotels restaurant and bar quite a few times, very good value and excellent food. They also have lots of promotional nights which are excellent value. Would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable South A5 Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable / Luton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Palace Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Palace Lodge Hotel

Property: The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
Address: Church Street, Dunstable LU5 4RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Palace Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel is a newly awarded 4 star hotel located in the historic Market Town of Dunstable.With 68 en-suite spacious bedrooms, designed to a standard or executive level, and three meeting and events suites, offering the perfect for business seminars and private functions, the hotel has been described as a jewel in Dunstable and it really is....The popular Henry Restaurant has welcomed Andrew Hill as the new Executive Head Chef. Andrew and his brigade have comprised a set of exciting brand new menus, from the A La Carte, Wedding, Banqueting to the room and lounge. Children and non residents are welcome.The Old Palace Lodge offers complimentary on-site car parking, Fully equipped on-site gym and complimentary WI-FI internet access. Ideally located, The Old Palace Lodge is in walking distance to Dunstable Town and situated only 10 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Town of Luton and Luton Airport. The M1 junction 11 is located 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Palace Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Palace Hotel Dunstable
Old Palace Hotel
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel Dunstable, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing