We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for wedding and food,room fair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great for wedding and food,room fair”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a great wedding here, as a guest ,decent food and attentive staff. ( though no real ales in the bar )
Good breakfast next morning,too. Room decor was fine though don't think the bathroom floor had been washed,shame.
Be careful if disabled or visually impaired; quite darkly lit in places and some ill defined stair edges.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Happychap103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    154
    65
    21
    12
See reviews for
84
99
15
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A nice old fashioned hotel the staff are friendly and helpful, and you can get a good breakfast and the restuarant at night has some good food.the room was clean but you must remember its a old building so nothing to fancy

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights to use as a base for visiting central London. Right in the heart of Dunstable so easy striking distance of the M1.
Pleasant surroundings, friendly and helpful staff, good food and well kept rooms. Would definitely recommend and we would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carltongiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel is fine but I have been here twice and both times I have booked via the internet once via bookings.com and once through the hotels own website, both times I had confirmation emails and numbers yet both times the hotel didn't have my booking and both times I was greeted by unsympathetic and accusing receptionist, The stress of a days work and then wondering if I really have a booking at this hotel is too much I won't be staying here again

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank C_H_Rook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
546 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We occasionally stay in the Dunstable area for family events. On this occasion - a Sunday night - The Old Palace Lodge was offering an executive double room for £55, which was very good value. The room and bathroom were a reasonable size, and quite comfortable. There is no air conditioning and it was a very hot day/night so we kept the window open. Fortunately it wasn't too noisy.

We had been out all day and wanted to watch the World Cup Final in our room, so we picked up some drinks from the bar (my husband was impressed by the selection of bottled real ales) and went to our room to choose something from the room service menu. Nobody answered the phone, so we had to call reception to place our order. Not a huge inconvenience, but it would have been better if the phone had automatically switched through to reception if nobody was available to answer it. The food did, however, arrive promptly. We ordered a fish finger sandwich and a bowl of chips, both of which were excellent.

We didn't have breakfast in the morning, choosing instead to walk round the corner to a Costa Coffee.

Good value if you can get a room for £55.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesprout61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Judging by the pictures it looks boutique-y and charming. Trust me, it is not. We booked here as a friends wedding nearby. We are well travelled and stay in hotels a lot so we often book into hotels that offer a bit of old world charm, rustic beams and well maintained location. We didn't find this. The room was 'fine', spacious and nice bath/shower, but NO fan/AC and it was sweltering. If we opened the window you got the car park noise and we were apparently put in the 'quiet' area of the hotel?! We had a bit of a wait for the lift as the cleaners filled it up with their bin bags and cleaning equipment. When we said we needed to use it (as we had 2 massively heavy suitcases) they didn't say sorry or move quickly. In most good hotels you rarely see the cleaning staff, they work their magic around what is going on. Here the mess is all over the hallways. A bit sloppy. Front desk nice enough, nothing to complain about there. Watch out parking near the side as very drunk guests later in the even who moved the metal chairs right by the parked cars.
Was absolutely 'fine' for one night, but I just cannot consider a hotel that is actually uncomfortably hot. Install some A/C!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet. Many rooms very near the front. Be aware that it's not going to be silent with yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramareed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The standard of rooms are good at this hotel and very light and airy. The food in the restaurant was good but the ambience was spoilt by the dining room being so dark. My colleague read the dinner menu using the candle provided on these table! Tables and chairs for sitting outside are literally adjacent to the roadway in to the car park and we had a few interesting moments when wide vehicles came up past us. Good location near to town centre and M 1.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the the first or second floor as the main roadway to the hotel car park is next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable South A5 Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable / Luton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Palace Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Palace Lodge Hotel

Property: The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
Address: Church Street, Dunstable LU5 4RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Palace Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel is a newly awarded 4 star hotel located in the historic Market Town of Dunstable.With 68 en-suite spacious bedrooms, designed to a standard or executive level, and three meeting and events suites, offering the perfect for business seminars and private functions, the hotel has been described as a jewel in Dunstable and it really is....The popular Henry Restaurant has welcomed Andrew Hill as the new Executive Head Chef. Andrew and his brigade have comprised a set of exciting brand new menus, from the A La Carte, Wedding, Banqueting to the room and lounge. Children and non residents are welcome.The Old Palace Lodge offers complimentary on-site car parking, Fully equipped on-site gym and complimentary WI-FI internet access. Ideally located, The Old Palace Lodge is in walking distance to Dunstable Town and situated only 10 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Town of Luton and Luton Airport. The M1 junction 11 is located 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Palace Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Palace Hotel Dunstable
Old Palace Hotel
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel Dunstable, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing