We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Bit of Class! Well Worth a Visit.”
Review of Priory House

Priory House
Ranked #5 of 95 Restaurants in Dunstable
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Thirteenth century grade 2* listed building incorporating TIC, tea rooms & gift shop situated in the beautiful Priory Gardens. Our award winning tea rooms are the only ones in Bedfordshire to be a member of the prestigious Tea Guild. After being a member for only twelve months we have achieved an Award of Excellence. The fully licensed Priory House Tea Rooms offer a range of hot meals, paninis, ciabattas, sandwiches, baguettes, wraps, cakes, cream teas, pastries and the Bedfordshire Clanger!! Speciality coffee and a range of herbal and flavoured teas are also available.
Boston, Lincolnshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Little Bit of Class! Well Worth a Visit.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Comfortable with lovely food and its an interesting old building. My best friend and I decided to meet here again for lunch. Plenty on the menu to choose from. Lovely coffee (proper coffee). We both had a Panini with small side salad and a choice of crisps or home-made coleslaw. Coffee was served quickly so we had drunk it before the food arrived as the food was a bit slow being served. Saying that...it was worth the wait and I will definitely be going to The Priory on my next visit to Dunstable. The gardens outside which lead over to the church were a spectacle of colour.(see my photos). There is also a small gift shop.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnaSharples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryHouseManager, Manager at Priory House, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Priory House Tea Rooms following your recent visit for lunch. Our customers are important to us, so we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed time with us. It's fantastic to hear that not only do you recommend us to others, but that you will be visiting us again next time you are in Dunstable.

Priory House Tea Rooms is very popular and especially so at lunchtime. We do our best in the kitchen to get the food out as quickly as possible, but we also take pride in our freshly prepared homemade food. This means during these peak times there might be a short wait, but we think you'll agree that it's worth it.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    39
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea at its best”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Priory House and its afternoon tea is a hidden gem. It was a friend of mine who suggested visiting Priory House and after an interesting hour or two wandering round the house, church and gardens we treated ourselves to afternoon tea which has to be booked in advance. At £15 per head it was an absolute bargain and I found Priory House far more relaxing and peaceful than going all the way into London for tea at The Ritz which is noisy and over three times more expensive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank solotravelwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryHouseManager, Manager at Priory House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Priory House Tea Rooms. It's good to hear that you took full advantage of our location by combining a visit to Priory House with a visit to the historic Priory Church of St Peter and the ancient scheduled monument - Priory Garden. We're very pleased to hear that you found your time here at Priory House Tea Rooms peaceful and relaxing. Our unique setting very much lends itself to enjoying afternoon tea at your leisure, switching off from the busy day to day pressures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cream Tea”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Very welcoming, nice surroundings. Good portion of cream tea. Very clean and comfortable.
Took my parents for birthday treat and would definitely go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank bygate207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryHouseManager, Manager at Priory House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review of Priory House. We're very pleased to hear that you and your parents enjoyed your visit and that you would visit us again. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Afternoon Tea at the Priory”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A warm welcome in lovely surroundings. Generous helpings of delightful sandwiches, warm scones and cakes. Lots of fragrant and delicious teas to choose from. Over all a very pleasant afternoon spent. Definitly worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryHouseManager, Manager at Priory House, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Angela

We are delighted to hear that your enjoyed your afternoon tea at Priory House Tea Rooms, and that you would recommend us to others. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
1 review
“exceptional”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Had afternoon tea to celebrate a birthday with 2 friends. A great experience, nothing was too much trouble for our waitress, Emma. Plenty of extra tea and coffee supplied, more food if required - seriously not necessary - all for no extra cost. Free box for uneaten cakes as well. What more could you want?????
So much better than other more expensive efforts that we have tried!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryHouseManager, Manager at Priory House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Linda,

Thank you for reviewing Priory House Tea Rooms after your recent visit to us. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea, and will pass on your kind comments to Emma and the rest of the team.

We think it would be such a shame if our customers haven't left enough room for our delicious homemade cakes, which is why the offer to box them up to treat yourself at home is always available.

Hope to see you at Priory House Tea Rooms again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Priory House also viewed

 
Dunstable, Bedfordshire
Dunstable, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Priory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing