We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent budget business hotel”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Spent the weekend on a hobby conference at this new Holiday Inn and was well impressed. Everything is spick and span. Someone has (at last) twigged that WiFi is expected as a basic facility these days; guests do not want obstacles like membership logins and supplementary charges. Here there are no barriers at all! Just fire up the laptop, connect and you're away at a respectable 6Mb/s (nurdishly I measured it).

My room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Only complaint was a rather noisy aircon/heating unit in the ceiling, but aren't they all? The controls were unusually clear and responsive.

Couple in the next room had a blazing row that went on for hours, yelling, banging and screeching. I put Reception to the test by mentioning it to the two young ladies on the front desk. Straight away they asked if I would like to change rooms. Well done them. I said no, don't worry (I'd already unpacked) but would they please ask the couple to shout a bit louder so I could at least hear what they were arguing about :-).

Conference facilities were adequate and the coffee machines served a decent brew in china mugs. Why do other places find this so difficult? Main disappointment was exactly the same buffet lunch on Saturday and Sunday - the dreaded breaded chicken finger/nuggets and chips. That said, the sandwiches they also put out were excellent. I gather we were paying a highly competitive rate for the catering so can't grumble.

Breakfast was HI's standard offering, a decent continental fare alongside a token attempt at cooked English in the shape of sausage, scrambled egg (almost certainly egg powder) and baked beans. Better than nothing...

The reception, bar and eating areas are pretty soul-less but, all in all, this is a good example of a modern, convenient, budget-priced business hotel. Only those nuggets keep the 5th star away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulHowardCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear PaulHowardChambs,

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us after you recent stay. Our guest feedback on breakfast and food offering is invaluable in ensuring that we constantly improve.

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was disturbed by the guests in the next room and have passed your praise for handling of the situation on to my team.I too have to confess to using a savvy app to check the Wi-Fi speeds and I am glad you were able to avail of our Free Wi-Fi service.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Regards,

Will
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    225
    85
    42
    35
See reviews for
134
161
31
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on Friday 17 jan as a stopover on the way to London we arrived at 8pm staff were friendly room was fine (room 101) sofa bed mattress was a bit lumpy but a quick adjustment with the quilt helped my son settle in (age 7)
Breakfast was self service and more than ample although not sure why there was sausage but no bacon ?!?!
Room was 39 for the three of us including breakfast so was really affordable
We would definitely go back it took us 40 mins to get to central London from there which was perfect
Free wifi is always a bonus although FaceTime was a bit hit and miss for some reason

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wrenchythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I had booked for one night, arrived about 3 hours early, tired from driving through the night. Checking in early meant a surcharge of £ 10 on top of a very agreeable price of £ 39 for the night. It was fully worth it. I had the opportunity to freshen up and take a nap of a couple of hours before my appointment that day. A comfortable and spacious room awaited me and the bathroom had a rectangular, and therefor extra spacious shower. Everything spic & span. Good bed with a choice of soft or firm pillows. A window that can be opened in spite of the room having air conditioning (which I see as a bonus compared with the hotels where windows can not be opened). I had a very good night. Breakfast is possible at early hours (07.00) and is self service. Alas, no fried eggs, just scrambled eggs of the "instant (powder) variety", no bacon but exceptionally good sausages, no tomatoes, no mushrooms so basically not a full English breakfast. Orange juice machine ran out of the concentrated juice so gave a glass of bitter fluid. Staff came out of the kitchen just to get themselves a mug of tea and had to be pointed at the problem. Soon rectified however! The girl at the reception desk on check in has to learn to express herself in proper understandable English as I at first couldn't understand a word she said. (not every guest is English, remember) can't tell her name, but I checked in on January 17th at , say, about 11.30 AM or thereabouts. I had room 307, a room on the third floor, elevator provided. Fine hotel, but express yourselves in clear and crisp tongue to foreigners. Friendly staff, that must be said! I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaboskabouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night whilst visiting family in Dunstable. The rate was great at £35 and was booked only a few days beforehand. As a new build, the hotel is very clean and modern. It has plenty of car parking and is only a short distance from the town and easy to find from the M1 motorway straight along the A5. The room was clean and comfortable. The TV remote wasn't working when we arrived but one call to reception and someone came and changed it straight away. The rate included a good breakfast with plenty of choice - my favourite being the sausages which were really tasty. The staff were helpful and polite. We will definitely book here again when we visit Dunstable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannemarie361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear ajcory361

I was pleased to read that your stay with us was a great experience. I was so pleased that you found our staff to be polite and service to be helpful. As you have mentioned we are in the perfect location for a trip to Dunstable and have some great rates on offer. Your feedback is very much valued and I am delighted you have decided to stay with us again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards,

Will
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Easy booking process and a good price considering free wifi and breakfast is included. A good sized room. Everything new and clean since the hotel is brand new. Modern design. Large shower, flat screen TV and two types of pillows. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was varied and well presented. Overall, could not fault it and will be using them again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevinyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Good Afternoon Kevinyork,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Dunstable. I am delighted you have mentioned our Free Wi-Fi and Breakfast - our guests really do love these. Thank you very much for your kind words about the staff - I will pass your comments on to my team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We booked this (1 night stay) through late rooms, we paid just £34 and we have certainly got a bargain. The staff have been absolutely superb ( so far) on booking in, we were shown the way to the lift or if we preferred stairs the direction to the stairs, I noticed and found it good evidence in the use of E & D, usually the stairs are indicated first with the statement " and if you need a lift there's one just there" the receptionist also noticed I had a tissue on my thumb and asked with a casual caring tone, "what have you done, can I get you a plaster and wipe?" Very nice welcome, I thought. Looking forward to the rest of our stay, have you any comments from your experience with the Holiday in group?

Room Tip: Special requests are considered and if possible allocated as required, don't be afraid to ask! W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDPEaK02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear WDPEaK02,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially that you found such good customer service. We pride ourselves on being a friendly hotel and my team were delighted when I shared your comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards,

Will
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 8 nights for work related matter as this was the best price we could find in the area. Typical HI express breakfast and free Wifi, newspaper was included. Wifi reception is excellent even though it blocks access to skype probably through a firewall. Skype calls gets connected but quality is poor even through a VPN. When a mobile broadband is used it connects to skype as usual. View through the first floor room window is nice. Room is spacious but no place to keep the clothes except for 5-6 hangers. Room is warm and temperature control works fine. Always had ample free parking irrespective of the day or the time. There is a KFC, ASDA and Dunstable shopping centre about 2 miles down on A5 London road to the right.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kumudujay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
1.2 mi away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9
3.5 mi away
Stockwood Hotel
Stockwood Hotel
#17 of 25 in Luton
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Leaside
The Leaside
#3 of 25 in Luton
513 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dunstable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dunstable

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
Address: London Road, Dunstable LU6 3DX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dunstable 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its attractions & rolling countryside with the nearby Whipsnade Zoo & Dunstable Downs the area surrounding the hotel is just waiting to be discovered. Perfectly located just 7 miles from London Luton Airport offering excellent access to the heart of the national motorway network. With the M1 close by and the M25 less than 20 miles away, over three quarters of the UK mainland population can be reached in a same day return journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dunstable reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing