We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night while we were visiting dunstable for a weeding reception. Booke hotel online months ago and got a very nice double room for £51 all in. Very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Staff were very helpful and hotel has ample free parking. Wi fi and breakfast were also complementary. Room was very comfortable with a really good modern shower. Air con was easy to adjust and quiet. Blackout curtains also ensured avoid nights sleep. I would have given 5 out of 5 if it was not for the breakfast. Breakfast finished at10 but when we arrived at 9.30 there was hardly anything left. Even the bread ran out. So ended up with very little.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andrewgp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Andrewgp1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Dunstable Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to evauluate current hotel procedures and help improve overall guest satisfaction.

Delighted you found our reception team friendly and that you enjoyed the Air conditioning in the room. Thank you also for your feedback relating to our Breakfast offering; i will discuss the feedback with the team to ensure we can continue to grow and develop as a business.
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments; our team really appreciate your recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time your in Dunstable.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

I've stayed here lots of times and it's always been great but it's in a grotty area.

Car park clean and tidy. Hotel still looks like new even though it's been open well over a year now.

Friendly reception. Food about average - personally I wouldn't eat here. Dominoes deliver though so if you require a salt/fat overdose then that's the best option really.

Rooms are great with very nice bathrooms and shower plus comfy bed in good sized / air conditioned room.

Overall this us a well run, nice, convenient Holiday Inn Express.

Note: this location may look close to St Albans on a map but traffic in the morning around here is a complete nightmare especially the M1 South!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank brushsalesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Brushsalesman,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Dunstable Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to help us continually improve our hotel services and guest experience.

It was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and found our Modern rooms,Free parking and Air conditioning to meet your needs. Thank you for your feedback relating to our Dinner offering; we do indeed offer a limited but appealing menu to suit many different types of travellor. Also guests are able to go to local restaurants nearby;there is a Hungry Horse pub nearby to which we find many guests enjoy.

Apologies that you felt the location of the Hotel was not ideal for you on the day. Many guest find our location to suit their needs as it provides easy access to the M1 and close to rail links and the Airport is only a 15-20 minute drive away. Plus different types of Businesses and Leisure attractions nearby.

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very well lit car park with security cameras which was reassuring when we arrived late on Friday night. First impression when entering the reception area was very clean and this continued throughout the hotel. Very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Lifts, lobbies and bar/ dining area were all very clean. Vending machines in the reception area with chocolate snacks and cold drinks in one and toothpaste, headache tablets, toothbrushes etc in the other one. Our room was very clean with exceptionally high standards of cleaning in the bathroom. 2 types of pillow, firm and soft which was very nice to have that choice. The bed was not comfortable for me as it was too firm but again this is purely personal preference. Free wifi throughout the whole hotel. Our room had a nice view across a school field and beyond. Air conditioning that worked very well. Hair dryer, tea, coffee facilities, towels, hand wash and shower gel in vast quantity and not just travel size, plenty of toilet roll, nice size tv with basic channels and free view but no film channels. We were on the 3rd floor and it was nice and quiet even though the hotel was busy. 2 Lifts that worked and as mentioned were kept lovely and clean. Breakfast was very nice and plentiful to set you up for the day. Although a small area for the breakfast service it was kept well topped up and it was clean. The hot food of scrambled eggs, sausages and beans was kept nice and hot. Continental style of breakfast was also available. I would suggest either going to breakfast either very early or leaving it until as late as you can as it was exceptionally busy at 9.30am on the Sunday and you may need to share a table. Outside there was a nice seating area which has been landscaped and seemed quiet enough to enjoy a drink. Checking out was as stress free as checking in. Highly recommended and will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Jayne S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Dunstable Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to evauluate current hotel procedures and help improve overall guest satisfaction.

I enjoyed reading this review from start to finish. This is very encouraging and your comments serve as fantastic motivation to the team and I. Thank you also for your advise on Breakfast times; like many hotels, at weekends Breakfast can get busy during peak times. The reception team will always try and communicate this the night before on check in if they feel it will be busy and Advise on busy periods to save guests time and inconvienance. That said, guests are able to wait for a table or take back to there rooms and food will always be available during Breakfast Service.

Delighted you enjoyed all the Hotel amenities and thank you for thorough, kind review. The team and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Clean, plesant and welcoming.

I requested to check-in early and although I understood it to be a request only, the helpful chap on reception found me a room at 11:40 so I could change to attend a funeral

The rooms are spotless and the layout as you would expect in a budget establishment.

No negatives at all really, except I would buy better sausages!

I would stay again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hefeweizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have stayed at several hotels in the Dunstable areas over the past few years, and this is the best one I found in the local area so far. Stayed here after a friends large party.
Comfortable air conditioned rooms with all the necessities, nice beds, and bathroom the hotel must be pretty new by the condition of everything in the hotel.
I got a very good pre-paid priority club rate, less than what I would have paid for the local premier inn. The hotel is 5 minutes from Dunstable down the the A5, so easy access to the M1 at Junction 9 or 11. There is plenty of free on site parking.
Only had a few items for breakfast, it was the usual the holiday inn express free breakfast and free wifi also included. So again really good value to have these inclusive rather than add ons.
I will definitely stay here next year and would recommend the hotel compared to the local travelodge and premier inn's I have stayed at in the Dunstable area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukundercover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear ukundercover,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Dunstable Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to evaluate current hotel procedures and help improve overall guest satisfaction.

I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments; our team really appreciate your recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time your in Dunstable.

Kind Regards,

Robert Pearson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have not yet stayed at this Hotel however I had real complications with a booking and I have to just say the Manager Gosia was so so helpful went above and beyond and I am so grateful for her sorting everything out for me Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kaytee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Kaytee2014,

Thank you for writing a lovely review about Gosia.

We are so pleased as a management team to hear this even though you haven't yet stayed. I will personally ensure she receives this feedback and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Robert Pearson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Leaving a busy Dunstable behind we were very pleasantly surprised to arrive at the recently built Holiday Inn Express in a green field setting. From the impressive Reception area with welcoming, caring staff who found time for us during a fully-booked Grand Prix weekend, to the contemporary shower, well-equipped room and breakfast area overlooking a small landscaped garden, our stay was first-class throughout.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Coiacoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Coiacoia,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review of our hotel and your recent stay.

All our feedback both positive and negative is analysed to help ensure hotel procedures are continually being improved.

We are delighted to read of your experiences at our hotel; we aim to make every aspect of our guests experience as enjoyable and comfortable as possible and definately appreciate your comments. Your positive feedback regarding our team is appreciated on all levels and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team.

Again, thank you for your kind comments, I hope you continue to use IHG Hotels for your travels and we look forward to welcoming you the next time you're visiting Dunstable.

Kind Regards,

Robert Pearson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
1.2 mi away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Luton
Travelodge Luton
#16 of 26 in Luton
436 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ibis London Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Thistle Express Luton
Thistle Express Luton
#11 of 26 in Luton
46 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chiltern Hotel
Chiltern Hotel
#20 of 26 in Luton
425 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dunstable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dunstable

Address: London Road, Dunstable LU6 3DX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price Range: £36 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dunstable 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its attractions & rolling countryside with the nearby Whipsnade Zoo & Dunstable Downs the area surrounding the hotel is just waiting to be discovered. Perfectly located just 7 miles from London Luton Airport offering excellent access to the heart of the national motorway network. With the M1 close by and the M25 less than 20 miles away, over three quarters of the UK mainland population can be reached in a same day return journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dunstable reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing