We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Dunstable

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Easy, welcoming check in and lift access to the upper floors was quick and smooth. great if you have a number of heavy cases. Spotlessly clean room and shower. The room was spacious but with limited hanging space for clothes. Comfortable bed and a nice outlook over open countryside. The weather was hot but air conditioning kept the room comfortable. Quiet, undisturbed night and free wi-fi.

The one drawback was a mediocre cooked breakfast. Very average sausages, rather bland scrambled egg, but the range of cereals and yoghurt was good.

Giving the hotel four stars is a bit mean, I feel four and a half would be fairer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan13za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Ivan13za,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and your recent stay.

Thank you for your comments relating to breakfast; our Express Start Breakfast consists of 3 hot options (Sausage, Scrambled Egg and Beans) plus a selection of continental items; they’re also free hot & cold beverages available during breakfast time. All products are selected from an IHG recommended supplier and we find their food to be of a good standard.

I am sorry that on this occasion, we didn't meet your expectations. All comments will be fed back to the team in order to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Dunstable.

Kind Regards,
Robert Pearson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    215
    79
    42
    34
See reviews for
128
153
31
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We booked a two night stay at the hotel , we were greeted with a smile on arrival . All our questions answered with friendly and helpful answers. The room was immaculate with all the usual facilities and free WiFi .
We left smiling after a very pleasant stay , Thank you .

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MCRTaxiTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear MCRTaxiTours,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel.

Delighted to read of your experiences at our hotel; we aim to make the breakfast experience the way you have described. I am really pleased you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast before you time out.

Your positive feedback is appreciated on all levels and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team.

Again, thank you for your kind comments, I hope you continue to use IHG Hotels for your travels and we look forward to welcoming you the next time you’re visiting Dunstable.

Kind Regards,
Robert Pearson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for two nights visiting relatives, we had two interconnecting rooms. The hotel is clean, smart, comfortable and conveniently located. We went to Whipsnade zoo one day (10 minute drive). Check in is quick and efficient, free wifi throughout the hotel (a lot of far more expensive hotel chains should take note of this!), free breakfast (ok it is not breakfast at the Wolseley, but for £55 per night?!).

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMatski1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear MrMataski1976,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. All feedback received is analysed constructively to help ensure hotel procedures and services are continually improving.

I was really pleased Breakfast met your expectations and suited your needs.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your travels and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Robert Pearson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here while visiting relatives nearby. The room was clean and the staff were all helpful, especially the reception staff and Gosia. I would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Sue C,

Many thanks for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel.

We are so pleased to read that you had a great experience with our team, especially Gosia, our recently promoted Guest Services Manager. I will ensure that she receives the feedback you have left for her.

We love it when guests have great, personal experiences when staying with us and are proud of service we give to our guests. We do look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Robert Pearson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed for one night with our two dogs. Everything was easy from check in to dinner to breakfast with friendly, helpful staff who gave a but more than you would expect from a budget hotel and performed much better than the staff at the same chain's East Croydon hotel. The room was clean, well equipped but only came with twin beds not a double. Apparently this is standard and you need to check this when booking. We ate dinner in the restaurant rather than go to the Hungry Horse down the road. Breakfast was great and included as was wi-fi! This is a great short stay hotel that is everything you need for a one night business trip. I liked it and would stay again.

Room Tip: Check what beds are in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Jasonfromtheblock,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Dunstable Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to help us continually improve our hotel services and guest experience.

I am really delighted your stay was a positive one and that we met your expectations. Fantastic to hear you dined in at the hotel and enjoyed our Modern rooms. With regards to the room assignment. Guests are able to select a "Standard Room" option online. On our main website this clearly states that it could be any room type. On our affiliates this sometimes is not the case and although guests may book a "Standard" if it says standard it comes to us as a standard room. The advice we give to all guests is to select a room type, e.g. Double Room / Twin Room. Alternatively call us at the hotel and our reservations team will be more than happy to assist. If a guests selects a standard room and selects a preference we will endeavour to meet the guests request but it is not an obligation and is only a request.

Thank you for your kind comments. The team and I are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night while we were visiting dunstable for a weeding reception. Booke hotel online months ago and got a very nice double room for £51 all in. Very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Staff were very helpful and hotel has ample free parking. Wi fi and breakfast were also complementary. Room was very comfortable with a really good modern shower. Air con was easy to adjust and quiet. Blackout curtains also ensured avoid nights sleep. I would have given 5 out of 5 if it was not for the breakfast. Breakfast finished at10 but when we arrived at 9.30 there was hardly anything left. Even the bread ran out. So ended up with very little.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrewgp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Andrewgp1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Dunstable Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to evauluate current hotel procedures and help improve overall guest satisfaction.

Delighted you found our reception team friendly and that you enjoyed the Air conditioning in the room. Thank you also for your feedback relating to our Breakfast offering; i will discuss the feedback with the team to ensure we can continue to grow and develop as a business.
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments; our team really appreciate your recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time your in Dunstable.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here lots of times and it's always been great but it's in a grotty area.

Car park clean and tidy. Hotel still looks like new even though it's been open well over a year now.

Friendly reception. Food about average - personally I wouldn't eat here. Dominoes deliver though so if you require a salt/fat overdose then that's the best option really.

Rooms are great with very nice bathrooms and shower plus comfy bed in good sized / air conditioned room.

Overall this us a well run, nice, convenient Holiday Inn Express.

Note: this location may look close to St Albans on a map but traffic in the morning around here is a complete nightmare especially the M1 South!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank brushsalesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Brushsalesman,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Dunstable Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to help us continually improve our hotel services and guest experience.

It was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and found our Modern rooms,Free parking and Air conditioning to meet your needs. Thank you for your feedback relating to our Dinner offering; we do indeed offer a limited but appealing menu to suit many different types of travellor. Also guests are able to go to local restaurants nearby;there is a Hungry Horse pub nearby to which we find many guests enjoy.

Apologies that you felt the location of the Hotel was not ideal for you on the day. Many guest find our location to suit their needs as it provides easy access to the M1 and close to rail links and the Airport is only a 15-20 minute drive away. Plus different types of Businesses and Leisure attractions nearby.

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
1.1 mi away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable South A5 Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable / Luton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Luton-South
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
5.0 mi away
Ibis London Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dunstable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dunstable

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
Address: London Road, Dunstable LU6 3DX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dunstable 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its attractions & rolling countryside with the nearby Whipsnade Zoo & Dunstable Downs the area surrounding the hotel is just waiting to be discovered. Perfectly located just 7 miles from London Luton Airport offering excellent access to the heart of the national motorway network. With the M1 close by and the M25 less than 20 miles away, over three quarters of the UK mainland population can be reached in a same day return journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dunstable reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing