We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a relatively new HI Express, with nicely decorated and comfortable rooms. The hotel itself will be fairly typical of the new hotels in the Express brand.
It had a small but comfortable bar area and a informal open style restaurant area. This was all good and met my expectations, perhaps exceeded them, as the hotel was spotlessly clean, everywhere!. However, what made it great was the friendly service and reception team. Everyone I met was so friendly and nice it was lovely. What a credit to the brand this team are. I have stayed in IHG hotels all over the world and can honestly say this was the best front of house team I have met. From the overall cleanliness of the hotel, credit is also due to the housekeeping team too. Great job people!
Other IHG hotels, irrespective of the brand, can learn a lot here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skilled_Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Dunstable Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to help review procedures and ensure that hotel services are effective.

Delighted to read of your experiences. I am pleased that that you thought all the team members you encountered were friendly. That is a big part of the service we provide and know that guests like friendly but professional service; thank you for your kind comments.

Again, thank you for your kind comments, I hope you continue to use IHG Hotels for your travels and we look forward to welcoming you the next time you're visiting Dunstable.

Kind Regards,
Robert Pearson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    218
    79
    42
    34
See reviews for
130
158
31
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on business. Did not eat at the restaurant as I did not need to, but did have breakfast. Rather minimalist in it's range and a suspicious style of sausage but as much as you need. Room was on first floor and was clean, modern and comfortable as you would expect. One fly in the ointment for me was the brace of huge German saloons that spent the night in the disabled parking bays, with no visible blue badges or apparent challenge. Shame really.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank ExecutiveContributer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Andrew B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response about your recent business stay at our hotel in Dunstable.

Thank you for your comments relating to breakfast; our Express Start Breakfast consists of 3 hot options (Sausage, Scrambled Egg and Beans) plus a selection of continental items; they’re also free hot & cold beverages available during breakfast time. All products are selected from an IHG recommended supplier and we find their food to be of a good standard.

With regards to the accessible parking bays, I can only apologise. The team here do strive to closely monitor the vehicles in the bays, however, it is not always possible to. If you do notice this on your next visit, please do not hesitate to bring this to the attention of the team who will take the appropriate action.

Again, thank you for your kind feedback and I am pleased that your stay met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Robert Pearson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Easy, welcoming check in and lift access to the upper floors was quick and smooth. great if you have a number of heavy cases. Spotlessly clean room and shower. The room was spacious but with limited hanging space for clothes. Comfortable bed and a nice outlook over open countryside. The weather was hot but air conditioning kept the room comfortable. Quiet, undisturbed night and free wi-fi.

The one drawback was a mediocre cooked breakfast. Very average sausages, rather bland scrambled egg, but the range of cereals and yoghurt was good.

Giving the hotel four stars is a bit mean, I feel four and a half would be fairer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan13za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Ivan13za,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and your recent stay.

Thank you for your comments relating to breakfast; our Express Start Breakfast consists of 3 hot options (Sausage, Scrambled Egg and Beans) plus a selection of continental items; they’re also free hot & cold beverages available during breakfast time. All products are selected from an IHG recommended supplier and we find their food to be of a good standard.

I am sorry that on this occasion, we didn't meet your expectations. All comments will be fed back to the team in order to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Dunstable.

Kind Regards,
Robert Pearson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We booked a two night stay at the hotel , we were greeted with a smile on arrival . All our questions answered with friendly and helpful answers. The room was immaculate with all the usual facilities and free WiFi .
We left smiling after a very pleasant stay , Thank you .

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MCRTaxiTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear MCRTaxiTours,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel.

Delighted to read of your experiences at our hotel; we aim to make the breakfast experience the way you have described. I am really pleased you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast before you time out.

Your positive feedback is appreciated on all levels and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team.

Again, thank you for your kind comments, I hope you continue to use IHG Hotels for your travels and we look forward to welcoming you the next time you’re visiting Dunstable.

Kind Regards,
Robert Pearson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for two nights visiting relatives, we had two interconnecting rooms. The hotel is clean, smart, comfortable and conveniently located. We went to Whipsnade zoo one day (10 minute drive). Check in is quick and efficient, free wifi throughout the hotel (a lot of far more expensive hotel chains should take note of this!), free breakfast (ok it is not breakfast at the Wolseley, but for £55 per night?!).

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMatski1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear MrMataski1976,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. All feedback received is analysed constructively to help ensure hotel procedures and services are continually improving.

I was really pleased Breakfast met your expectations and suited your needs.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your travels and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Robert Pearson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here while visiting relatives nearby. The room was clean and the staff were all helpful, especially the reception staff and Gosia. I would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Sue C,

Many thanks for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel.

We are so pleased to read that you had a great experience with our team, especially Gosia, our recently promoted Guest Services Manager. I will ensure that she receives the feedback you have left for her.

We love it when guests have great, personal experiences when staying with us and are proud of service we give to our guests. We do look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Robert Pearson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed for one night with our two dogs. Everything was easy from check in to dinner to breakfast with friendly, helpful staff who gave a but more than you would expect from a budget hotel and performed much better than the staff at the same chain's East Croydon hotel. The room was clean, well equipped but only came with twin beds not a double. Apparently this is standard and you need to check this when booking. We ate dinner in the restaurant rather than go to the Hungry Horse down the road. Breakfast was great and included as was wi-fi! This is a great short stay hotel that is everything you need for a one night business trip. I liked it and would stay again.

Room Tip: Check what beds are in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Jasonfromtheblock,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Dunstable Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to help us continually improve our hotel services and guest experience.

I am really delighted your stay was a positive one and that we met your expectations. Fantastic to hear you dined in at the hotel and enjoyed our Modern rooms. With regards to the room assignment. Guests are able to select a "Standard Room" option online. On our main website this clearly states that it could be any room type. On our affiliates this sometimes is not the case and although guests may book a "Standard" if it says standard it comes to us as a standard room. The advice we give to all guests is to select a room type, e.g. Double Room / Twin Room. Alternatively call us at the hotel and our reservations team will be more than happy to assist. If a guests selects a standard room and selects a preference we will endeavour to meet the guests request but it is not an obligation and is only a request.

Thank you for your kind comments. The team and I are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
1.2 mi away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable South A5 Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable / Luton Hotel
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
7.0 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dunstable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dunstable

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
Address: London Road, Dunstable LU6 3DX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dunstable 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its attractions & rolling countryside with the nearby Whipsnade Zoo & Dunstable Downs the area surrounding the hotel is just waiting to be discovered. Perfectly located just 7 miles from London Luton Airport offering excellent access to the heart of the national motorway network. With the M1 close by and the M25 less than 20 miles away, over three quarters of the UK mainland population can be reached in a same day return journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dunstable reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing