We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zookeeper for a day at Whipsnade zoo

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was bought this as a gift and it was very straight forward to make a convenient date. The day started with a bacon buttie & tea whilst we were dressed appropriately and given a run down for the day. Our group consisted of 7 of us and we were driven around in our jeep where we spent the day mucking out, feeding and looking at the animals - up close & personal. Every person's day will be different but we got to hang out with Elephants, Rhinos, Meerkats, Lemurs, Lions, Giraffes & penguins - it was fun and educational. Our guide answered all of our questions. Everybody's experience will be different depending on the day and animal availability. There was a great lunch, tea/coffee at the end and a goodie bag which included a t-shirt. If you can bring a friend/partner - they can get some great pictures at some of the locations which you may not be as able to take. Get discount on their entry by booking online with the promotion. A terrific experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueGunnerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Day With The Animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Had a great day at whpsnade, being Zoo keeper for the day. All I can do is confirm what other people are saying including dont forget your camera ! and a big thanks to Rob our keeper who obviosuly loved his job and the animals.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank MRWOLF2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ultimate animal experiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

so worth the money. Get up close and personal with animals, you can dfeed them and get pictures with them. a must do

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 698juicylucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An Experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife as a 50th Birthday present from her friends and family became a Zoo Keeper for a day at whipsnade zoo.Her day started by being picked up from the main gate at 8.40. She then had a briefing on safety and had a bacon or sausage bap and a drink.It was then off on to what she described as something dreams are made of.She fed Rhino's,Otters,Tigers,Sloth Bears,Lemurs,Wolverine,Wild Bore,Giraffe.Cleaned out the Elephants enclosure and then the thing she had been looking forward to all day,hand feeding the Elephants that had walking round the park.They met up near the penguins at the other side of the park.It was amazing to come across and see these magnificent animals out walking and feeding on the grass as if they were just part of the normal wildlife.At the end of the experience the people participating were all give t-shirts with Zoo Keeper for the day on the back and Whipsnade zoo on the front,also a certificate.As someone who was just a spectator I have to say I also had an amazing day.I would suggest that the person going on the experience takes their own camera to record the day and also a mobile to keep in contact with their friend or partner. To start off with I was chasing all over the park to catch them and take pictures,but this was hard going at times and I was unable to take the pictures that would also go to enhance their experience,eg Up close with the Tigers in a secure area away from the public.It was amazing to see the joy on the faces of those also on the experience. I would recommend this experience every time,and we will certainly be going back as a family and who knows perhaps stay in one of their overnight look out lodges which look amazing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zookeeper for a day at Whipsnade zoo also viewed

 
Dunstable, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Zookeeper for a day at Whipsnade zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing