We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a complete refurbishment and clean up.”
Review of Highwayman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Highwayman Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs a complete refurbishment and clean up.”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed there last night and the first thing that hits you is the smell. Checked in and were directed to room a very long way from reception. the walls of the corridors are dirty and damaged with holes and areas that apparently ready for painting! the smell along the lower corridor was particularly awful. The linen was at least clean and fresh. Went off to the wedding reception we were attending and returned around 11 o'clock to find the fire door open so that anyone could get in. On entering our room we found that the lights did not work. I returned to the reception desk and rang for assistance and in fairness two staff arrived very quickly and attempted to fix them. The main light could not be fixed but they did put a new bulb in the bed light but this continued to go on and off at will. Woken at 5:45 by other guests shouting each other to get up along the corridor. Waited for 8 o'clock and went for breakfast only to be told that we had booked on the internet and that we were not entitled to breakfast!!!! WE left never to return!!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    40
    56
    43
    101
See reviews for
52
70
26
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kings lynn
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Thought I would choose a place close to my course in Houghton Regis location very good easy to find on main road however the hotel part needs a lot of attention my room was falling apart shower plug hole blocked wall paper falling off no socket beside bed for phone bed upstairs floor boards need attention as I could not sleep due to excessive squeaking all night from person moving around above, Pub food staff and overall price very good after all I only paid £20 for the night but fixing these little problems would make a lot of difference.

Room Tip: avoid ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunstable hotels

Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Dunstable doesn't have a big choice of hotels and I normally stay at Luton Parkway if I need to be in this area but a relative recommended this hotel and I'm glad they did. £45 for a triple room is a bargain, breakfast was extra but cooked to order and my six year old gave the pancakes a big thumbs up. I understand from other reviewers that it can be noisy if there is an event on but we were lucky and it was very peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allonetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Whilst away this week I have stayed in both an AA4 star and this, an AA 3 star hotel and let me tell you there is a massive difference in the 1 star.
This hotel has peeling wall paper in the corridor and no remote controls, for the TV’s, in the rooms! The duty manager Adams answer, over the phone from the bar, to the remote control problem was “sorry we’ve ordered more this weekend and you’ll just have to use the front of the TV” The hotel is attached to a Hungry Horse, which seemed to have run out of every beer I asked for on that night! Talk about organise in a brewery! All that said the people, besides Adam, where really friendly and helpful.
If you stay there don’t book breakfast just get a “Big Breakfast”,£499, in the morning and a re-fillable cup of coffee for a £1. All this said £50 for the room wasn’t bad if you don’t mind the cobwebs and poor finishing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

really good position easy to find,good clean room,very good nights sleep.The pub which is attached is very reasonable for food and drinks.Staff were friendly and helpfull,not far from luton and just a short walk into dunstable , vfm

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kohn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

After reading on Trip adviser about booking via phone rather than internet thats what I did as you get breakfast included for free. The room isn't the Ritz by any means but had good clean rooms and comfy beds. There's TV and free Wi Fi too. Cost £55 for 2 of us for 2 nights including breakfast. Spot on.

Room Tip: Ring direct for a free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-on-the-Naze, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed over easter, the noise started after midnight from room next door, they were obviously drunk or high and they had to be shown to their room by a member of staff. After she had left the row started between the couple, foul language, shouting carried on for about half an hour until one of them passed out. Thats what you get for paying about £20. Never again.

Room Tip: book early and stay at a travelodge for similar cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
0.9 mi away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
Chiltern Hotel
Chiltern Hotel
#19 of 25 in Luton
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Luton
Travelodge Luton
#12 of 25 in Luton
401 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Leaside
The Leaside
#3 of 25 in Luton
513 reviews
7.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leighton Buzzard
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highwayman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highwayman Hotel

Property: Highwayman Hotel
Address: London Road, Dunstable LU6 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highwayman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highwayman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highwayman Hotel Dunstable
Highwayman Hotel Dunstable, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing