We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“14oz Rump Meal”
Review of Highwayman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highwayman Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“14oz Rump Meal”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Not eaten here before but fancied a local steak and willing to see how the food/value etc was. Had a prawn cocktail starter - happy with the portion, nice bread (but as in many places the butter was hard & not spreadable, easy fix thought) bland sauce also (another easy fix)...onto mains of 14oz Rump steak cooked to my request of medium, the most tasty piece of steak I've had for quite sometime good quality/value & that dish is highly recommended by myself. Would revisit yum!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    40
    54
    42
    98
See reviews for
50
68
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Booked a single room for £20 . Room was clean , tidy and comfortable bed. Was nice and quiet with no noise from bar coming thought.
When booking in notice on reception asking you to ring ext and some one would be with you shortly ,rung, gruff voice answered Bar. explaining was checking in said would be over in a few minutes. Aprox 15 minutes rung again , this time some one politely answered and came over . Booked in. but whole time there never saw Reception manned.
Needs to be looked at

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel room was cheap single 20 pounds for a single breakfast 7 pounds sheets were fresh bath prity clean service brilliant breakfast fresh and well presented allround well worth the time recommend it to anybody

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackbeafd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I booked a single room at the Highwayman for one night for the price of £26.90 including a Full English Breakfast. It was excellent value, the bed was clean and comfortable, with a writing desk, TV, cupboard to hang clothes, kettle (tea and coffee) and with a decent en-suite (the shower was hot and had good water pressure!). The breakfast was great with cereal for starters and a proper breakfast for a main! All the staff that I met during my stay were very friendly and welcoming aswell.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlecCanwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

You never really know what you're going to get here. Good service, ok service, poor service..

So, this is my 3rd time here. The second time was free, due to a courtesy stay, due to a really bad experience the first time. I won't go into it, but it wasn't the hotels fault. Loud chavs and thugs taking over the place, fire engines and fire alarms all night.

One room had a dead fly on the wall and smelt musty. The TV remote was broken and the kettle was dirty. Another room was fine. Clean and tidy. The room I'm in now, is clean and tidy, the tv works, kettle is clean, but no soap and low on toilet roll. There are signs in the bathrooms asking that unused towels should be left on the rail, so they don't have to be washed. Good I suppose, for the electric cost, but not everyone is honest. All towels should be washed regardless. Ok, so that's the rooms.

The staff are ok. Not that professional really. I would not employ any of them. Today, the check in staff member didn't smile or say hello, or even welcome. He just said sign here, and gave me the key.

The average cost for a single room is £20. I think that £8 per room, would be a suitable price, to reflect the service and overall quality

Good Luck

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Gate
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Unbelievable value stay here overnight on a business trip to MK .Forget the fancy prices in Milton Keynes this place is amazing value and just 30 minutes drive up the A5.Without doubt the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in anywhere in the world !!!!....Honestly....Very clean room plenty of nice large towels with plenty of tea and coffee.We didnt eat in the restaurant but the breakfast menu looked very comprehensive and reasonable .Cant fault it at all

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suntan907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The highwayman was a lovely place for an overnight stay. We have stopped before with olde english inns and I think this is a part of it. We stayed in the bar for a meal and although I had to send my steak back as it was really tough, there was no problem at all and I was given another. Nothing was too much trouble for our waitress Kayleigh (I think her name was) and she was really professional as was all the staff. Thank you very much everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 60lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
0.9 mi away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable South A5 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable / Luton Hotel
7.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leighton Buzzard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chiltern Hotel
Chiltern Hotel
#19 of 25 in Luton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highwayman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highwayman Hotel

Property: Highwayman Hotel
Address: London Road, Dunstable LU6 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highwayman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highwayman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highwayman Hotel Dunstable
Highwayman Hotel Dunstable, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing