We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of The Acers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Acers
Ranked #2 of 3 Henlow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Warm welcome with homemade cake. Spotless rooms, fruit salad at breakfast to die for. The only major drawback is that it makes most other B and Bs look very second rate. The village of Henlow has several pubs, the Engineers Arms a CAMRA pub with no car park but an excellent range of real ales and ciders. You can sample 6 for £5 and the place was heaving. The Five Bells served huge portion of good pub grub; we particularly enjoyed their salads.
On the last night our hosts invited us to join them for a glass of wine with the other guests. Just wonderful

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janetsybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as my husband just came back from a six month tour in Afghanistan and he had to stay on base over the bank holiday weekend. Chris and Susan made us feel most welcome and went above and beyond any expectations we had. They're kindness, generosity and superb hosting made our whole weekend stress free and enjoyable. We would definitely recommend staying here, our room was lovely and clean, the breakfast was delicious and having a our 19 month old who was able to potter around and feel like she was with family, made our stay a memorable one. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My friend and I stayed just the one night after a day spent at Henlow Grange. Lovely clean rooms with all requirements, tv, hairdryer, bottled water, tea and coffee making facilities, fresh milk, biscuits, clean comfy bed. Great shower, we were even provided with colour matching towels and washing 'scrunchies'! Chris very kindly phoned the local pub for us to book a table for later that evening and Sue showed us a short cut to walk to the pub through their garden. Took us all of 5 minutes to get there! After a very good night's sleep, we were given a fabulous breakfast of fresh fruit salad, full English with our choice of cooked eggs (poached, which were perfectly cooked), fresh coffee, juice and all manner of sauces, jams, marmalades etc. Unfortunately we were so full after our cooked breakfast that we had to refuse any toast. All in all a very pleasant experience and extremely reasonably priced. Sue and Chris are perfect hosts, I just wish we'd been there for more than one night and got to know them better. We shall definitely return if we are up that way again and I shall be recommending this delightful B&B to friends who live locally. Thank you Sue and Chris.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan w, Owner at The Acers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you Gill for your wonderful review and for taking the time to write it.
Both Chris and myself are glad that you both enjoyed your stay here and if you are ever passing please pop in for a coffee with us for we would love to see you again

Kindest regards

Susan and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I stayed here whilst visiting The Grange at Henlow for 2 days. Has read the reviews and it truly lived up to all expectations - v enjoyable stay. Only disappointed that I had to turn down the cake as I was about to go out for a meal! V clean, well cared for B and B with very attentive and welcoming hosts. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed at The Acers for a night as we were visiting Champneys Henlow for a day spa and didn't want to travel on the day.
We were warmly welcomed by Susan and Chris Acer on arrival with a lovely homemade fruit loaf and a pot of tea. Our rooms were clean, nicely decorated and furnished to a good standard with many thoughtful extra touches such as a bottle of mineral water, tea and coffee making facilities, fresh milk and chocolate biscuits. And a flat screen TV. In the evening we were given access to a large relaxing lounge with books, magazines and a TV. In the morning we were bowled over by the superb breakfast(which I haven't stopped talking about yet!) that Susan provided - a fresh fruit salad and yogurt, cereals, a full English breakfast with the full works included! Coffee, tea, toast and homemade marmalade also. Fantastic and one of the best breakfasts I have ever had and I stay in hotels regularly for business. The prices are also very reasonable and represents excellent value for money. I will return and stay here again.

Susan and Chris are a lovely couple who genuinely care about their guests and give them a positive experience.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ellie0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

We were attending a family wedding and thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay, especially the wonderful breakfast, and tea and homemade cake. Sue even gave us a lift to collect our car the next day! The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. Despite a hiccup with the shower! Fresh water, milk and biscuits were provided every day. We will definitely go back and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyT43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends who live in the village. I originally planned to book a family room to include our 10 year old daughter, but Susan gladly offered us an en-suite and the single room, both were immaculate.

Susan and Chris are such a lovely couple who run a superb B&B with a real family feel. All of the previous comments are accurate, so I am not going repeat them again. They truly make you feel welcome and part of the family.

Thank you so much for a perfect stay. Hope to see you both again next time we are visiting Henlow.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambourners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henlow hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 3 in Henlow
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Champneys Henlow
Champneys Henlow
#1 of 1 in Henlow
1,905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poplars Farm B&B
Poplars Farm B&B
#2 of 2 in Henlow
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Acers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Acers

Address: 32 Oak Drive, Henlow SG16 6BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Henlow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Henlow
Price Range: £54 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Bed and Breakfast house, based in a quiet location in Henlow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Acers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Acers Henlow, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing