We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Acers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Acers
Ranked #2 of 3 Henlow B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

we were put up on short notice, and what a surprise we got.
met at the door by Susan and made so welcome. Its hard to describe how warm and friendly they made us feel.
our room was the best we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in a lot due to business.
introduced to Chris latter in the evening and what a lovely chap, advised us where we could walk to for a pint or two and an evening meal, which was excellent at the pub just a few mins walk away.

great night sleep so quiet.

up early for breakfast, and how do you start describing this. only two of us staying that night, but Susan and Chris must have cooked for 10. trying to think of a reason to go back. please read the other reviews it will save me repeating everything.

just take your bag with clothes in, everything else is in you room, honest even down to hair products. its fantastic.

thanks for a great stay Susan and Chris. we will be back soon I hope

Room Tip: I ticked swimming pool, didn't go in one, but they had everything else it must have been there s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inspire12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
17
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

What a wonderful place to stay.

We were met at the door by Susan as we pulled onto the drive. Delicious homemade cake (Bara brith-Mum was so impressed she said that she should have asked for the recipe), biscuits and tea were served in the spacious lounge as we refreshed ourselves from the long journey. Susan is an marvellous hostess.

Our rooms were excellent, and because 'The Acers' is in a cul-de-sac, perfectly quiet. Both rooms were really large, airy and light. The beds are very comfortable and a mixture of pillows provided. There is plenty of storage should you require it. The rear bedroom overlooks the garden (clearly a passion of Susan's and Chris's). It was delightful to watch the birds on a Sunday morning. The rooms, like everywhere else, are spotless and attention to detail to ensure guests' comfort is the priority. Guests are treated like family.

Bathrooms are ensuite. The rear bedroom having a double walk in shower. The front bedroom a shower overbath. As I have recently had a hip replacement, I mentioned this to Susan and immediately she offered a bath step. Everything is thought of for guests. This includes toiletries. At first I wondered if these belonged to the hosts but no, top brand, full size toiletries are there for guests use. Towels are soft and there is even a choice of flannel or bath puff to use!

Each room has a hospitality tray with coffee, assorted teas and again top brand, quality biscuits stored in a Kilner jar. Milk is fresh and we were each given a Thermos at night to take with us, much nicer than UHT containers. A bottle of water is also waiting for guests. Again, every thought taken.


Susan and Chris have clearly considered "If I were a guest, what would I like?"

Breakfast was our decision as to time of service. What a fantastic spread. Tropicana orange juice, a fantastic fresh, homemade fruit salad, choice of top brand cereals leading onto the main event....choice of egg followed by a platter (not plated up) of sausages, bacon, mushrooms, beans and tomatoes. This was then accompanied by toast and homemade preserves-gorgeous cherry jam and succulent marmalade. I did say to Susan that she could sell these! Tea or coffee to round it off. Susan's former occupation and current passion shine through.

Quality and generosity all the way in every aspect.

I would recommend staying here and would say to those looking within the area for accommodation - "You've found it, do not look anywhere else."

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suitcasetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night while away on work, was greeted with a cup of Earl Grey tea and a slice of cake.
Cleanest and most comfortable Bed and Breakfast I have stayed in, with a cooked breakfast that even a big eater like me couldn't finish!
Sue and Chris made me very welcome and I look forward to my next visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazaribagh, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Sue and Chris were extremely welcoming from before I'd even knocked on the door. Every detail has been considered. The rooms were a good size, the bed and pillows very comfortable, no noise, good internet access etc. The breakfasts were lovely, and often carried me through to dinner. I couldn't recommend this B&B any more highly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed here after a very very late night party - Sue and Chris are the perfect hosts - nothing too much trouble - lovely welcome even so late at night - they put themselves out to accommodate unexpected guests. Rooms and facilities excellent and the breakfast simply the best. Lovely friendly house and hosts - didn't want to leave. Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv311943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Sue and Chris are excellent hosts. They offer a warm welcome with the offer of something to drink and fresh warm scones. The rooms are spacious and the ensuite shower room is well supplied with good quality shower gels etc. The garden is a pleasant place to relax on a sunny day. The breakfast is huge and the food is excellant.

Room Tip: The B&B is in a quiet close and we did not have any problems with our room which looked over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had a wedding in the area and we chose it because it was the cheapest we could find. However I am so glad we did as they were fantastic hosts, lovely clean rooms and an outrageous breakfast. Next time I am in the area I will pop in just to say hi! Sue is great

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomBigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henlow
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
4.8 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 3 in Henlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Acers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Acers

Property: The Acers
Address: 32 Oak Drive, Henlow SG16 6BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Henlow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Henlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Bed and Breakfast house, based in a quiet location in Henlow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Acers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Acers Henlow, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing