We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like going to heaven!”
Review of Champneys Henlow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Champneys Henlow
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henlow
1 review
“Like going to heaven!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I visited with my wife, we both enjoyed the experience from start to finish. The hotel is in an extremely peaceful setting and the hotel itself was quiet and very comfortable. The pool although only 1.3 metres deep was very large. The food was exquisite but if you are expecting a 'gut buster' meal, forget it! Champneys is a health spa with food to compliment it. We found the meals perfect. Having now stayed at Champneys Forest Mere and this one, we would go as far as to say that Champneys is the best that we have stayed in. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: I did hear one complaint that the noise of the weir on the river to the rear of the hotel was annoyi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosina E, Manager at Champneys Henlow, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you and your wife for reviewing your first stay with us at Champneys Henlow.

I am so pleased you both enjoyed your stay and that you were able to avail of the facilities internally and the tranquil setting that is Champneys Henlow.

I will share your feedback with the entire team here as this is a key driver for us in providing a great service ensuring all our guests leave relaxed and revitalised.

I look forward to welcoming you both back to Champneys Henlow in the future.

Kind regards

Rosina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    381
    225
    145
    123
See reviews for
317
366
242
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

CHAMPNEYS HENLOW is like a 'comfortable, well upholstered yet familiar old armchair' ie. somewhere to return to when you need to feel safe, comforted and well looked after. Ten of us had an incredibly relaxing experience this week. The staff, the treatments, the fitness programme, the beautiful pool area, the stunning rural surroundings are all superb. There is an ever-changing, broad menu at lunch [a buffet] and dinner [a choice of five dishes in each course]. The Cuisine is exceptional and beautifully presented - all compliments to the Chef - and delivered with a smile from wonderfully personable and attentive staff. The first floor standard bedrooms are good value for money and the Superior Rooms on the ground floor have patio and seating areas overlooking the stunning Weir. Don't accept Room 14 or 15 - they are away from the main bedrooms up a narrow staircase with no hall area and have vaulted ceilings. They have no Wi-Fi. One member of my party was allocated one of these rooms and it smelt of damp. Housekeeping came in and left a room spray to remove the smell. It didn't work and she was immediately allocated another room. So Staff are very attentive and really want to ensure a peaceful and relaxing stay. It is a shame that the decor lets Champneys Henlow down [not enough, however, to deter me from going at least twice a year with my friends - sometimes 20 of us]. The ongoing painting and refurbishment programme continues so everywhere is clean but it looks so dated and bland appearing twenty years behind the times even though the areas are recently refurbished. Henlow needs the benefit of an interior designer, not to change its essential charm but to update and brighten the green/beige theme and remove the insipid corridor and bedroom wall paper. The refurbed bathrooms with their appalling lighting and beige square tiles add to the lacklustre appearance. Nonetheless, I would highly recommend

Room Tip: I wouldnt recommend Room 14 or 15. They are tucked away up a small stairway in the Treatment Spa ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosina E, Manager at Champneys Henlow, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

May I thank you for taking the time to review you and your friends recent stay with us at Champneys Henlow.

I am pleased to hear that you all were able to relax and enjoy both the internal and external facilities set amongst the tranquil setting that is Champneys Henlow.

I have passed your feedback onto our Head Chef and kitchen brigade as the quality of our food offerings is something we take great pride in ensuring our guests have a wide range of healthy nutritional meal choices at all meal times.

We are currently refurbishing out rooms under the direction of a newly appointed Project Manager who has several years experience within developing 5 star Spa and Hotel Resorts which will ensure we have first class furnishings not only in the bedrooms but also in our public area's.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to Champneys Henlow in the near future.

Kind regards

Rosina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My mum, sister and I visit Champneys every year for a weekend to celebrate our birthdays and have some relaxing time together. It never fails to do the trick! This is a lovely place in lovely grounds, the buildings are quite old and characteristic. The spa is good, the pool is lovely, all facilities are good (the gym is quite basic but it does the job). There are lots of classes to try, the treatments are expensive but very enjoyable. Food is DELICIOUS and super healthy too! We will continue to return every year. Our favourite triple room is room 8, comfy and spacious!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauladoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosina E, Manager at Champneys Henlow, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your yearly visit with us as family to Champneys Henlow.

I am pleased that you continue you visit us every year and enjoy the facilities both internally and externally we have to offer. Please be assured your very kind feedback will be shared with the entire team here as this provides us with a great morale boost and drives us as a team to constantly exceed our guests expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Champneys Henlow next year.

Kind regards

Rosina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Champneys is another wonder of the area. Its location is wonderfully weird, set behind a cricket field (small public park) that is surrounded by rows of bungalows, and the bulls, sheep, goats and squirrels. In short it was once all to itself and someone built housing and roads near it. However it is tranquil. There appears to be dozens of ways to get things done to you, pampering, preening, make-up regimens and... I'm a bloke with no real idea what you can get done in Champneys but there are lotions and potions everywhere and chairs for feet work and... well I don't know what. You can pound the treadmills too, however if you do I kinda feel you're missing the point. Its about relaxation stupid (to mis-quote a president). The rooms are nice and clean, however my bedding had dried in make-up stains on it, which was disappointing. The staff were welcoming, warm and friendly and when I inquired about "the bar" I was bemusedly told, "there isn't one". Yep, its a health spa but my simple mind expected choice of how much health to partake of. At least there's wine on offer with lunch and dinner. Water is one of their freebies. Bottled water in the room, in fridges and laid around. My room had a view of a waterfall, which although lovely to see was a little annoying at night. Room was too warm and if I opened windows I heard fast flowing waterfall which despite the romantic idea of it sounded passably like an extractor fan or central heating system. I got three days at a special rate, for me it was great VFM and although I'd like to stay there again I might give it a while due to its out of the way location, which is good for relaxation but not so good for travel. When I do stay again, I'll take advantage of a tour from the staff, so I'll know more of what's on offer. A notice in the hotel recommends to give local taxi firms MINIMUM of two hours notice for pickups from the site.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeFromEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosina E, Manager at Champneys Henlow, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

May I thank you for taking the time in reviewing your recent stay with us at Champneys Henlow.

We offer a wide variety of facilities here at Champneys Henlow for guests who may want to indulge themselves into one of extensive treatments or partake in our FItness programmes. However what we offer for all our guests is a tranquil setting allowing our guests who wish just to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet.

I will follow up your disappointing feedback regarding your bed cover and ensure that this does not happen in the future as all our bed linen is changed daily.

We do clearly market ourselves as a Health Resort and not a standard hotel, on our website clear information is given about this and what exactly we do offer and as such we do not have a bar facility but do offer wine with lunch and dinner.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Champneys Henlow and please do avail yourself of a full tour of facilities which is provided by our staff daily so that you can maximise the usage of the full facilities we have on offer here.

Kind regards

Rosina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I went to Champneys Henlow yesterday and I had the best time ever, talk about being pampered. You are made to feel like royalty from the moment you walk in to the second you leave. The staff are excellent and very knowledgeable and I would definately go again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

No more lettuce leaf and glass of water! The food was superb and choice of wine excellent too This was my first visit of the year and nice to see some new faces in the fitness team who look to be excellent additions to the already great team. The staff within the resort are always friendly and nothing is too much for them. Can't wait to retun in July for another few days rest, relaxation in wonderful surroundings.

Room Tip: I love the rooms overlooking the weir. The sound of water in the silence of the night is very restf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soohoo-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A perfect relaxing day from the moment I arrived to the moment I left. Wish I had more time there as it was only a day , would love to stay too. The staff and therapists were friendly, I even did a class which was really good. Lovely to lounge in the gardens in the sunshine as there were plenty of sunloungers. Wiil be going again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henlow
11.7 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
2,604 reviews
13.3 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
9.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,147 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,246 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champneys Henlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champneys Henlow

Property: Champneys Henlow
Address: Coach Road, Henlow SG16 6DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Henlow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Champneys Henlow 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Champneys Henlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champneys Henlow Hotel Henlow
Champneys Hotel Henlow
Champneys Spa Henlow
Champneys Henlow Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing