We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Henlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated on the B659 in High Street at Henlow with easy access from Junction 10 off the A1. This pretty pub with its picturesque garden is full of traditional character and the perfect place to eat, drink and relax.
Essex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We had scampi and gammon. Neither had much flavour. Chips were triple-(over)cooked. Half of them had no potato inside. Scampi also very greasy. Gammon was very fatty. Very small chunk of pineapple with gammon, again with little flavour. Egg was OK. Very disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank quizathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi There

“Very disappointed”

Thanks for taking the trouble to review us at The Crown in Henlow, however I am extremely disappointed you have reason for complaint.

I will not attempt to make excuses for your meals that were obviously rushed and not up to our usual standards.

Scampi and Gammon, we only buy the finest produce so the kitchen have messed up on this occasion plus our famous chips are praised all the time, even on this very page, so something went wrong on this day.

I have sent separate email to your good self.

Apologies and Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    188
    85
    43
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
henley
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Drinks in the sun”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for a couple of drinks and a sandwich last Sunday evening , had a light bite and a couple of glasses of delicious wine . Once again , delightful friendly waitress and bar staff who recommended wine . We sat outside enjoying the warm evening , lovely atmosphere , clean, welcoming , great pub , food fantastic , so glad we live nearby as looking forward to many more visits !

Helpful?
1 Thank sophlovesgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Sophie

“Drinks in the sun”

Hallo again and many thanks for your 2nd lovely review of us at The Crown at Henlow.

All the team were delighted to read your kind comments.

Yes it is lovely sitting outside, watching the world go by!

Cheers!

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Went with two friends and had a lovely lunch, 2 of us had the Venison hot dog which is nothing like a hot dog, it's really nice and was in a very light bread (looked like french bread but was much lighter) just as well as it was very large, this was served with 3 times cooked chips which were delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyandDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Joy and Den

“Lovely lunch”

Oh thank you so much for your review of The Crown at Henlow.

Really pleased you and your friends enjoyed your Lunch and especially our Venison Hot Dog.
Plus of course our Famous Triple Cooked Chips.

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caen, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and some exceptional wines. Friendly efficient service.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here several times, the dishes are varied and are prepared with care. The atmosphere is friendly and informal as befitting a pub! As regulars, I suppose we are greedy and would like to see a more evolving menu so that at each visit we could try something new! The wines have been cleverly selected and never disappoint.

Helpful?
1 Thank Caenydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi There

“Good food and some exceptional wines. Friendly efficient service.”

Thanks for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review, very much appreciated.

Really pleased you enjoy the Pub atmosphere, food and "exceptional" wines.

Oh, by the way new menu implemented this weekend go to crownpub.co.uk

Thanks again as lovely to hear from our lovely, valued and regular customers.

Cheers Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous overnight stay in pretty country pub”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just spent a fantastic night at The Crown in Henlow, the room was gorgeous, modern, stylish decor and little luxuries like the Clarins beauty products and feather duvet made it a real treat. We used it as our base and went to Champneys for a spa day which worked really well.
The staff were friendly and welcoming and service was great.
Breakfast was delicious and really wide choice included in the overnight package, I've been raving about it and really hope to find an excuse to go back soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Susan

“Fabulous overnight stay in pretty country pub”

Oh thank you so much for writing our 1st Review, received on TripAdvisor, about our new rooms.
We have indeed put a lot of thought and effort into making five, 5 star, rooms.

Really glad you enjoyed your stay and you had a "delicious" breakfast.

Many thanks again as we all at The Crown were delighted to read your kind comments.

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown also viewed

 
Toddington, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing