We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception with excellent food and faultless service”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Henlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated on the B659 in High Street at Henlow with easy access from Junction 10 off the A1. This pretty pub with its picturesque garden is full of traditional character and the perfect place to eat, drink and relax.
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We chose the Crown to host our small Wedding Reception of 19 guests. The decision was based on a previous delicious meal, the friendly atmosphere we always encountered, it's reputation for good food and several visits for a drink and a chat about our occasion.
Ellen, our very own 'wedding planner', is a credit to the Crown and made the whole process painless, even with our many changes!
Eventually we provided our desired table layout and a list of everyone's menu choices - nibbles & sharers, starters, main course and deserts - and left the rest to Ellen and Karl, the head chef.
The room had been decorated for us on the day, so when we arrived it looked lovely. The service given by Shannon & Ellen was superb and the chef & his team made sure all our courses were ready at the right time and with no delays.
The quality of the food was commented on by everyone. We had many different options from all the menus (both adult & children) so I cannot review all the food, just to say that everyone was happy with their choices and all enjoyed their meals.
All their staff (not just front of house) worked very hard to give us a special day so I definitely would recommend The Crown not only as a Pub but as a Restaurant for a special occasion for a couple (with the option of an overnight stay in their beautiful rooms) or a larger group.
Many thanks, Peter & Julie.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Somuchtosee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Peter & Julie

“Wedding Reception with excellent food and faultless service”

We are so pleased to read your 2nd review of us at The Crown in Henlow.
So lovely your 1st glowing review was last February 14th (Valentines Day)

We were delighted to host your (Wedding) party on the 7th August 2014 and all really pleased you enjoyed so much.

Ellen, Karl and Shannon especially pleased you gave them a special mention. thank you.

We wish you both all the best for the future!

Regards Paul


ps. We don't usually do (Christening) parties, as so busy on Sundays, but exceptions for you as I'm sure we will get a nice 3rd review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 454 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for breakfast whilst visiting family nearby. This certainly is no greasy spoon, with pork and apple sausages, maple cured thick cut bacon and very sweet fried cherry tomatoes. Huge plates made the breakfast look very small, but the portions were spot on. The pancakes were fantastic, although providing maple syrup in an accompanying jug might be better to allow individuals to choose their sugar rush!

Nice location, good beer gardens. Prices aren't cheap, but the quality is good. Didn't have a pint so can't comment on their beer quality but looking forward to an evening pint next time we visit.

2  Thank NomadicGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hi There, NomadicGeek from Cardiff

“Gastropub breakfast”

Oh thank you for taking the trouble to review your breakfast with us, where we were all delighted to read you enjoyed your meals with us.

Yes we are certainly no "greasy spoon" and lovely to note you appreciated the quality of our breakfast products.

We have only been open for breakfast since July and already proving very popular, where we can take online bookings from our web site.

Thanks again

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We had scampi and gammon. Neither had much flavour. Chips were triple-(over)cooked. Half of them had no potato inside. Scampi also very greasy. Gammon was very fatty. Very small chunk of pineapple with gammon, again with little flavour. Egg was OK. Very disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank quizathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi There

“Very disappointed”

Thanks for taking the trouble to review us at The Crown in Henlow, however I am extremely disappointed you have reason for complaint.

I will not attempt to make excuses for your meals that were obviously rushed and not up to our usual standards.

Scampi and Gammon, we only buy the finest produce so the kitchen have messed up on this occasion plus our famous chips are praised all the time, even on this very page, so something went wrong on this day.

I have sent separate email to your good self.

Apologies and Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for a couple of drinks and a sandwich last Sunday evening , had a light bite and a couple of glasses of delicious wine . Once again , delightful friendly waitress and bar staff who recommended wine . We sat outside enjoying the warm evening , lovely atmosphere , clean, welcoming , great pub , food fantastic , so glad we live nearby as looking forward to many more visits !

1  Thank sophlovesgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi Sophie

“Drinks in the sun”

Hallo again and many thanks for your 2nd lovely review of us at The Crown at Henlow.

All the team were delighted to read your kind comments.

Yes it is lovely sitting outside, watching the world go by!

Cheers!

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Went with two friends and had a lovely lunch, 2 of us had the Venison hot dog which is nothing like a hot dog, it's really nice and was in a very light bread (looked like french bread but was much lighter) just as well as it was very large, this was served with 3 times cooked chips which were delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JoyandDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi Joy and Den

“Lovely lunch”

Oh thank you so much for your review of The Crown at Henlow.

Really pleased you and your friends enjoyed your Lunch and especially our Venison Hot Dog.
Plus of course our Famous Triple Cooked Chips.

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown also viewed

 
Toddington, Bedfordshire
 
Stotfold, Hitchin
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing