We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Breakfasts ”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Henlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated on the B659 in High Street at Henlow with easy access from Junction 10 off the A1. This pretty pub with its picturesque garden is full of traditional character and the perfect place to eat, drink and relax.
Henlow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding Breakfasts ”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I've had breakfast at the Crown numerous times now, every time my visit has been outstanding. Food to a very high standard and good prices for what you get. Very impressed. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
4 Thank WesleyNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Wes

“Outstanding Breakfasts ”

Great to hear from you again! Hope all Ok?

Nice to hear you are a regular for breakfast at The Crown, great to hear and I am delighted you are very impressed.

Best regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    185
    85
    43
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast now served”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Gorgeous breakfast , the sausages are outstanding and great coffee. Will be going again soon right on my doorstep.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Esandi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi There

“Breakfast now served”

Yes it is, EVERY DAY and you can book on line from our web site www.crownpub.co.uk

Thanks for review!
"Gorgeous breakfast , the sausages are outstanding and great coffee. Will be going again soon right on my doorstep."

Nothing to add!

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The food was tasteless for both main meals. For the price, I was really disappointed. I last visited around a year ago and the food was amazing. This has kind of put me off.

Helpful?
Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Leigh

“Disappointing ”

Oh no what a“Disappointing ” review to receive.

However doesn't really help me investigate as all you have said is
"The food was tasteless for both main meals. For the price, I was really disappointed. I last visited around a year ago and the food was amazing. This has kind of put me off."

I don't know when or what you eat so difficult to comment, but I still would like to apologise as you have taken trouble to write.

I can't believe you didn't review last year when was "amazing"

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
450 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 736 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception with excellent food and faultless service”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We chose the Crown to host our small Wedding Reception of 19 guests. The decision was based on a previous delicious meal, the friendly atmosphere we always encountered, it's reputation for good food and several visits for a drink and a chat about our occasion.
Ellen, our very own 'wedding planner', is a credit to the Crown and made the whole process painless, even with our many changes!
Eventually we provided our desired table layout and a list of everyone's menu choices - nibbles & sharers, starters, main course and deserts - and left the rest to Ellen and Karl, the head chef.
The room had been decorated for us on the day, so when we arrived it looked lovely. The service given by Shannon & Ellen was superb and the chef & his team made sure all our courses were ready at the right time and with no delays.
The quality of the food was commented on by everyone. We had many different options from all the menus (both adult & children) so I cannot review all the food, just to say that everyone was happy with their choices and all enjoyed their meals.
All their staff (not just front of house) worked very hard to give us a special day so I definitely would recommend The Crown not only as a Pub but as a Restaurant for a special occasion for a couple (with the option of an overnight stay in their beautiful rooms) or a larger group.
Many thanks, Peter & Julie.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Somuchtosee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Peter & Julie

“Wedding Reception with excellent food and faultless service”

We are so pleased to read your 2nd review of us at The Crown in Henlow.
So lovely your 1st glowing review was last February 14th (Valentines Day)

We were delighted to host your (Wedding) party on the 7th August 2014 and all really pleased you enjoyed so much.

Ellen, Karl and Shannon especially pleased you gave them a special mention. thank you.

We wish you both all the best for the future!

Regards Paul


ps. We don't usually do (Christening) parties, as so busy on Sundays, but exceptions for you as I'm sure we will get a nice 3rd review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gastropub breakfast”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for breakfast whilst visiting family nearby. This certainly is no greasy spoon, with pork and apple sausages, maple cured thick cut bacon and very sweet fried cherry tomatoes. Huge plates made the breakfast look very small, but the portions were spot on. The pancakes were fantastic, although providing maple syrup in an accompanying jug might be better to allow individuals to choose their sugar rush!

Nice location, good beer gardens. Prices aren't cheap, but the quality is good. Didn't have a pint so can't comment on their beer quality but looking forward to an evening pint next time we visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank NomadicGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi There, NomadicGeek from Cardiff

“Gastropub breakfast”

Oh thank you for taking the trouble to review your breakfast with us, where we were all delighted to read you enjoyed your meals with us.

Yes we are certainly no "greasy spoon" and lovely to note you appreciated the quality of our breakfast products.

We have only been open for breakfast since July and already proving very popular, where we can take online bookings from our web site.

Thanks again

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown also viewed

 
Toddington, Bedfordshire
 
Stotfold, Hitchin
Northill, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing