We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food served with Essex charm”
Review of The angel

The angel
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Toddington
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food served with Essex charm”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Pulled off the M1 in need of a break and some food, found myself in Toddington, as luck would have it, stopped at the Angel, ordered a Sunday Roast and was very impressed. Great food, friendly staff and quick service. Try the bread and butter pudding, can recommend it. Cheers to the Cheryl the Landlady too, ask her to tell you the one about Billericay Bob, I was in tears!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Really lovely”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stopped of at the angle pub for Sunday lunch the pub had such a lovely friendly feel and the staff were so happy and helpful. We had the sunday roast it tasted lovely and u get lots of it. I highly recommend this lovely friendly pub. If u get a chance u must visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Friday evening experience with friends”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Having lived in toddington for the past 15 years we have always supported local businesses . But what used to be such a lovely pub with a friendly service and nice ambience we are very sad to say our experience last night was extremely unpleasant.
Considering the whole group of us were spending a good amount of money for the whole evening in this establishment to be very abruptly told to hand over the drinks and leave by the landlord , it ended our evening on a very sour note. He then returned a few minutes later and told us again to get out showing us the door. We understand it was time to leave but considering these people are in a customer facing role a polite thank you and hope u had a good evening would have been a lot more appropriate . It makes you wonder why people like this are in this type of job! Myself and the group of ladies who are all local to toddington will not be returning here and think this landlord may need to consider a change of career!!
We understand the pub has obviously gone down hill rapidly as the decor inside was very tired and unloved compared to how it used to be but is it wrong to still expect a certain level of service when you are spending money on an evening out?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Katie185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilton Rugby
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic steak”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Wanted a pub halfway between Rugby and London to meet our son, went on the net and chose this pub because it had a garden for the dog we were picking up. The minute we walked in we were greeted by the landlady and made most welcome got a bowl of water for Polly (the dog). We had a steak and it was one of the best I have had for a long time if ever we are passing by we will call in again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tezjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, Beds
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I dined at The Angel with my mother and we were very pleased with our choice - very much homely cooking. I enjoyed a traditional roast beef lunch with all the usual trimmings. The meat was really tender and tasty and the vegetables cooked to perfection - very rare I find for broccoli to be cooked properly, so 10/10 to the Chef. My mother enjoyed the smothered chicken and was accommodated on her request for a jacket potato in place of chips. Suffice to say clean plates at the end from both of us! The gentleman who served us was very pleasant and couldn't do enough. It is so heart warming to find a pub which not only does really tasty food but offers great friendly service and at fantastic value too. This is definitely a place worth travelling a few miles out to. We shall definitely be back and will recommend to our friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The angel also viewed

Toddington, Bedfordshire
 
Toddington, Bedfordshire
Toddington, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing