We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checking it out .....”
Review of The angel

The angel
Ranked #5 of 9 Restaurants in Toddington
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Checking it out .....”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We thought we would visit for a meal and see what the food is like with the new Managers/Chef .... It was a last minute decision and 6 of us arrived last night for a 2 course meal. We were very impressed, Danny was rushed of his feet , but great service, very friendly, and the food pesented was delicious and freshly cooked, the crab starter and fish and chips we would highly recommend. as we are local and look forward to be visiting again - especially to try the 2 for £12 meals and the Friday Fish night special offer!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Will never return”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We went to this pub with friends for a get together meal .The welcome was great and the place was warm .we were served drinks. By the barman same person served food and he was brilliant. The food was terrible and there was not much choice , all our food was over cooked and was very bland ,

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zimrepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl A, Manager at The angel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi I would just like to respond to this review as we have recently taken over this establishment in October and am grateful that you have taken the time to write this.
Its a shame you felt your meal was bland and terrible, we take all feedback into consideration especially whilst building a new business.
I do recall this occasion you were in as it's the only complaint we have had so far and feel it's a little unfair, as I recall all other members of your party ate every scrap of food served including your replacement meal without complaint , I think bland is a personal preference and 'terrible' used in this instance was extremely exaggerated as only yourself complained .As for lack of choice I would also again have to disagree as we have a choice of 14 main courses (not including salads) and a choice of 3-5 specials.
We welcome you back again anytime and hope you have a better experience and hope to change your opinion.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food served with Essex charm”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Pulled off the M1 in need of a break and some food, found myself in Toddington, as luck would have it, stopped at the Angel, ordered a Sunday Roast and was very impressed. Great food, friendly staff and quick service. Try the bread and butter pudding, can recommend it. Cheers to the Cheryl the Landlady too, ask her to tell you the one about Billericay Bob, I was in tears!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Really lovely”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stopped of at the angle pub for Sunday lunch the pub had such a lovely friendly feel and the staff were so happy and helpful. We had the sunday roast it tasted lovely and u get lots of it. I highly recommend this lovely friendly pub. If u get a chance u must visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Friday evening experience with friends”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Having lived in toddington for the past 15 years we have always supported local businesses . But what used to be such a lovely pub with a friendly service and nice ambience we are very sad to say our experience last night was extremely unpleasant.
Considering the whole group of us were spending a good amount of money for the whole evening in this establishment to be very abruptly told to hand over the drinks and leave by the landlord , it ended our evening on a very sour note. He then returned a few minutes later and told us again to get out showing us the door. We understand it was time to leave but considering these people are in a customer facing role a polite thank you and hope u had a good evening would have been a lot more appropriate . It makes you wonder why people like this are in this type of job! Myself and the group of ladies who are all local to toddington will not be returning here and think this landlord may need to consider a change of career!!
We understand the pub has obviously gone down hill rapidly as the decor inside was very tired and unloved compared to how it used to be but is it wrong to still expect a certain level of service when you are spending money on an evening out?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Katie185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The angel also viewed

Toddington, Bedfordshire
Toddington, Bedfordshire
 
Wingfield, Leighton Buzzard
 

Been to The angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing